2. GFX Requests & Tutorials
      3. Writers' Discussion
      4. Debates & Discussion
    1. Announcements

1. GTANet 20th Anniversary
    2. Support

3. Suggestions

What Order Should I Play the Grand Theft Auto Games?|

So I recently got Grand Theft Auto III, thus completing my collection of the mainline games (III, Vice City, San Andreas, IV and V) I am relatively new to the Grand Theft Auto franchise, only having played V. I was wondering what order should I play the games. I wanted to wait to until I got III before I started playing the games, and since I finally got III in the mail today, now I can start playing the games. Should I play them III-Vice City-San Andreas-IV-V? Or, since based on my understanding that some games take place in the 80s and 90s, should I play them in chronological order based on the in-game timeline. I am aware that some of the games have not aged particularly well, but I am willing to overlook that and try and enjoy the games as best as possible. Also, I do not have any DLCs for the games, and do not plan on playing online.

In order to see how the franchise progressed you should start with Grand Theft Auto III, then Grand Theft Auto: Vice City and so on.

This way you'll be able to appreciate the progress and regress.

Discounting the original top down games that came out before 2000, there are two separate universes that GTA games fit into, the HD universe (IV & V) and 3D universe (III to San Andreas).

Seeing as you’ve played V, I’d say play IV next. I’d recommend getting the Episodes from Liberty City DLC for IV, too, as the three games have an entwined story and form a trilogy. The other GTA titles aren’t really connected like that, they’re more separate games with references to each other.

From there, I’d play them in the order of III -> Vice City -> San Andreas.