3. Writers' Discussion
      4. Debates & Discussion
    1. Announcements

1. GTANet 20th Anniversary
    2. Support

3. Suggestions

Replaying GTA 3

Anywhere USA

Hello, I'm that guy who hated the game and couldn't figure out how to shoot until it was far too late in the game to properly learn.

I decided, partially because I felt like I had screwed myself by not learning early on, and partially because people kept telling me to give it another chance, to play it again.

No cheats, Xbox version.

I EVEN decided to try to 100% it, something I've never done before. I did the phone missions, the RC stuff, the police, fire truck, and I'm just finishing the damn rampages before the mission where the mob betrays me.

I've gotten decent at shooting. I beat Bomb Da Base Act II on my first try, without trapping him or even using the adrenaline power up, and in Triads and Tribulations I showed my decent shooting skill.

"The Pick Up" was still a huge problem, and I could only beat it with 125 health max armor(not easy to get without cheats, I usually grab the powerups near the dockyard then go to the red light district for booty) and the rmapages have been hell, but I AM learning how to shoot.

Honestly, at long range I'm fairly decent, it's when the enemies charge me on mass I start to screw up because the game has TERRIBLE camera controls, and the shooting controls are still kinda sh*tty overall.

This is NOT a favorite of mine. I no longer hate it (GTA 1 and London are the only 'bad' games) but GTA 3 is probably my third least favorite of the series.

Advance was better(ATM, those two are both currently in the 'decent' category, GTA 3 might edge it out)

I've also heard Vice City still has the shooting and camera issues, but the plot and driving are better, so when I play that it'll probably outrank both of them, same with LSC.

VCS and San Andreas apparently have better shooting, not GTA 4 level, but better, so I'll probably like those alot