4. Debates & Discussion
    1. News

2. Forum Support

3. Site Suggestions

Sign in to follow this  
UnexpectedParole

John's/Arthur's Bounty in Black water

UnexpectedParole

So in going through a reply to a different thread, I had the realization that R* doesn't make any sense. <I know that should not be a shocker.> But I'm new to them. lol

But has it occurred to anyone that when the Epilogue starts John no longer has a bounty in Blackwater? Or one in West Elizabeth south of The River for that matter? Yet Arthur did?

Why is that? Arthur was not even with the gang when they robbed the Ferry. John was there and even traded bullets with lawmen.

In fact, I'm pretty sure that Milton didn't even know who John was at the Shady Bell confrontation.

How do we reconcile that it is Arthur who can't go to Blackwater due to a $5000 bounty for something he didn't even do, but presumably John can?

mde2
Posted (edited)

Well firstly I think you misunderstand the difference between the bounty and the whole "being blocked off from West Elizabeth/Blackwater" thing (whatever you want to call it). The area is on lockdown and there are cops and bounty hunters patrolling the area which is why Arthur cannot go through the area. They're actively hunting down the gang members of the group that just committed a massacre.

It's generally assumed that John still has his bounty (hence why Ross can grab John by the balls in RDR1). With this in mind, the answer is pretty clear. John still has his bounty which is why he uses an alias, however the lockdown of the area is no longer in effect which is why John can hang out in the area and is more or less not actively hunted down.