1. Graphics / Visual Arts
      2. GFX Requests & Tutorials
      3. Writers' Discussion
      4. Debates & Discussion
    1. News

2. Forum Support

3. Site Suggestions

joewinko

I want to make a 'Total Conversion' Game Mod out of Grandtheft Auto San Andreas? Questions I have and what tutorials should I look into?

joewinko
Posted (edited)

This is one idea I just recently got.  I wanted to make a total conversion mod of GTA San Andreas to make a custom story with missions.

pSYRAZ6.png

I wanted it to be a mod that turns GTA San Andreas into a game about a guy trapped on a beach where a zombie outbreak happened and he has to rescue survivors and defeat the main villain who started the zombie out break (it's a fan story based off of Dead Rising). 

I have no experience with doing any modding like that with GTA BUT I do know how to rig and import custom pedestrian models and i have tried using 'Design your own Mission' but i only have minimal experience with that but i plan on looking into it even more. (I was actually planning on using that to create this mod)

Here's basically all the questions I have about this:

1. I wanted custom music to play during some of the missions and the opening, is there a way to do that in Grandtheft Auto? and if so, how can i do that or what tutorial could i follow for that? 
  2. I wanted to change the whole map of GTA, as in, I don't want it to be the same map as San Andreas, I wanted it to be a custom beach map that i create. I have no experience with mapping but does anyone know what tutorials I could use to figure that out and how to get it in the game? 
  3. How do I change the desktop icon and loading screen?
  4. At the end of the game I wanted to have a survivor chart showing how many survivors were rescued (if anyone here is familiar with the Dead Rising games you'll know what I'm talking about), how would I do that?