3. Gangs

1. Announcements

2. Support

3. Suggestions

A bit of a rant about online.

FearTheMoose

FearTheMoose

Hello. 
I'm a veteran of Red Dead and GTA Online, and I've got quite a few things to say regarding the state of the beta. 

First off, my main squeeze is hunting/fishing. In the single player, I found it surprisingly in depth and enjoyable, although it felt like a waste of time in between intense story beats. In online I feel more like a survivalist doing what he can to make an honest living. I'm thankful that there is even hunting in the game to begin with, seeing as it was completely absent in GTA online. 

HOWEVER-
Hunting and fishing aren't really viable as an earning strategy. Not because you don't make money- the contrary, actually, they're surprisingly lucrative at low levels. But you don't start off with a bow like you do in SP. You have to be rank 10 and earn something like 124 dollars for a bow. A BOW. It's a piece of wood with a string. So your only recourse is to shoot the animals, which damages the pelts, or use your lasso and knife which, while fun, is irritatingly glitchy and finicky. The real awful culprit is fishing, though. You need to be level 14 for a fishing rod, and the lures require increasingly ridiculous levels in order to obtain. And even then, the lures are regional, forcing you to continuously spend money on bait until you're something like level 45.