3. Writers' Discussion
      4. Debates & Discussion
    1. Forum Support

2. Site Suggestions

pustiul500

First step into the modded world of GTA:SA

pustiul500

Hello community,

As the title states it's my first attempt to mod GTA:SA. I played (and I'm still playing) the Steam version and I'm currently somewhere around 60% through the game (and I say this because I would love not to lose my progress through the game). I used to play SA in my childhood and after an ~7years of break, I really want to finnish the game as nice as possible (no cheats involved etc). After playing somewhere around 20hours, I kinda got sick of the usual crashes and bugs and I tried to install Modloader and some bug fixing mods but I can't really figure out the steps.

As I have read throughout some topics, Modloader isn't recommended to be installed anymore and I honestly have no clue what should I do to "upgrade" my GTA:SA into a better game.

I can't wait to see your replies and guidance,

Thanks

LaDiDa

Modloader not the way to go? Who told you that!?

First step would be to downgrade steam version to v1.0. Then install Silent patch, P2DFX, skygfx, open limit adjuster (comes with P2DFX); Widescreenfix, Ginput (if playing with a controller, I recommend it), modloader, vehicle light fix, PS2 vehicles, map texture fix as a minimum.

Of course you can deviate from these as much as you want.

Do avoid too much cleo scripts if you don't feel like doing some testing inbetween to see if scripts collide with each other and crash your game.

Veigar

You don't have to install skygfx or P2DFX. Heck, you don't have to install any of that. It just makes it a lot smoother. I prefer to not have things like this installed because I can mod my game personally a lot easier without having to find random files in different locations.