4. Debates & Discussion
    1. Announcements

1. GTANet 20th Anniversary
    2. Support

3. Suggestions

Working on my first mod, I need some help

yakhem

Hey everyone,

I'm working on a mod for San Andreas for a project in my history class, but as it's my first mod, I need some help starting up.

I want to learn how to do these things:

• Custom cutscenes
  • Map making
  • Custom textures and possibly models for player/NPCs
  • Friendly and hostile NPCs
  • Custom menu screens
  • Custom animations, such as executions from behind
  • Custom weapons, such as sickles, axes, muskets, etc.
  • Finally, installing the mod

I already know a little bit about map making, I installed a map editor that can be found somewhere on this forum. I also read that custom models, such as houses, can be made in Sketchup, which I am familiar with.

I'm new to GTA modding, and I'm excited to learn about it. All help is appreciated, thanks in advance!

Greetings. I'm a huge history buff and long time modder of the Renderware era of GTA so I can provide some direction for you. I will say that it isn't really realistic to undertake such a project as your first mod (especially if it has a time limit) as even long time modders struggle to put together total conversions but since you were so polite I will humor you.

Map making : This requires the ability of 3D modeling in a program like 3ds Max (Yes, Sketchup can be used to model and then export into another program but most would not recommend this method).

Custom textures: This goes hand and hand with 3D modeling and requires knowledge in a program like Photoshop (Or Gimp).

Player models: Refer to what I said in map making but raise the required skill level.

Friendly and hostile NPCs: This seems to deal with the main.scm but I have little knowledge in mission building and that sort of thing.

Custom menu screens: This is a matter of creating textures in an external program and replacing them with a TXD editor. (More on that later.)