3. Writers' Discussion
      4. Debates & Discussion
    1. Announcements

1. GTANet 20th Anniversary
    2. Support

3. Suggestions

Gaming laptop opinion help

Metal Slime

I was browsing by to check out which laptop are compatible for the upcoming GTAV for the PC. Do you folks think this laptop is good enough:

ASUS ROG GL551JW-DS71 15.6-Inch FHD Gaming Laptop, NVIDIA GTX960M

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00T7XRH2A/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

I mostly move around, which is why I am looking into laptops over desktops. Also my old laptop is almost 6 years old so I guess it's a perfect time to find a replacement. I'm in no rush. Just merely looking and needed opinions on it.

Please no flame.

Edited by Zonnex

I'm no expert but it should be able to run V on settings somewhere between low and medium by my eye. 1280x768 or something.

It says it has windows 8.1, and doesn't mention 64bit anywhere which you need for V of course. I assume that you will install win7 64bit over it anyways so no biggie.

• Like 1

Dollar for dollar if you want a laptop to perform the same way a desktop will you have to spend double, meaning a $2000 laptop will do about the same as a $1000 desktop. Are you sure you couldn't just get a mini-ITX case?

front-3q.jpg

I have this case, its very small but is no different to a big desktop in terms of power given the right components.

• Like 3

GTX900 series perform about 70-80% of their desktop . counter parts. So i assume Medium to high settings 720p 30fps.

• Like 1

If I were you, I'd probably buy a low-med laptop which would be able to play most games (including GTAV), and get a high-end desktop.

Just my opinion. :)

• Like 1

Step One of buying a gaming laptop: Don't buy a gaming laptop.

+1

But if you really MUST buy a laptop, one with an external PCIe graphics port would probably work best.

Alienware graphics amplifier for example. I think MSI do something similar.