Help with some math calculations

Shmoopy

Hi there, I'm making a slider from scratch , I did everything except getting the right formula for the value that should be calculated depending on the min and max values, let me explain:

Lets say that the value is set to be between 100(min value) and 250(max value)

min value => 100 255 <= max value

[ =======||======= ]

min pos => [ ] <= max pos

What we know : • The current slider position ( || xpos ) which is an integer .

• The min and max values .

• The min ( [ ) and max ( ] ) positions that the slider should not exceed .

What we need : • The current value that should be between 100 and 255 which depends on the current slider position

Its been a while since i studied something related to maths , but i believe that this has to do with either matrices or three equations with one unknown value x that should somehow be merged ?

I only remember this formula , but i used to do it with 2 lines and not 3 ( I don't know what its called in maths) like b*100/a = X

a ===> 100

b ===> X

c ===> 255

How I'm i supposed to find X ?

Edited by Manfred Von Karma

universetwisters

If I understand what you're trying to ask, you're trying to figure out what "x' is in the equation 100 + x = 255

You find X by taking 255 and subtracting 100 from it to get: 155

Thus, 100 + 155 = 255

sTgL5iS.png

If I understand what you're trying to ask, you're trying to figure out what "x' is in the equation 100 + x = 255

You find X by taking 255 and subtracting 100 from it to get: 155

Thus, 100 + 155 = 255

No actually i was asking how to find the value of X in an interval of [100,255] , if I do b*100/a = X , I get only the value of X when it is dragged to the right half side of the bar

100 X 255

[a ==========||===b]

c

And when i do b*255/c = X i get the value when the slider is dragged to the half left side

100 X 255

[a ====||=========b]

c

na89340qv0n34b09q340