Are Side Missions Canon?

EllieTincan

Do you think that the side missions are canon? I could see things like delivering pizza not being canon but Vigilante could make sense with Niko or CJ. And what about the Strangers and Freaks missions? So far I'm leaning towards only the story line missions being canon.

na89340qv0n34b09q340

I know in a few games they recommend the side-missions as ways to make cash when you start out. I started playing III and LCS side-by-side this week, and the Taxi and car salesmen missions are recommended. Those are probably canon, since you really do need the cash.

I like the idea that if nothing's wrong with a side mission being canon, then it probably is. It makes things a lot simpler to think about. :)

When given a variety of scenarios and/or choices, there's no such thing as canon. Otherwise they wouldn't be there.

When given a variety of scenarios and/or choices, there's no such thing as canon. Otherwise they wouldn't be there.

So basically, whichever the player chose to do are canon? I know in the Saints Row series every side mission is treated as canon and some are mentioned in the main story line in later games, while initially where optional to the player.

Depends on what it is: if you do it, it is canon. There is no such thing as a ''confirmed'' canon or not, its entirely up to the player and her/his action. If you do a side mission, it is automatically considered canon. If you don't do it, it is not considered canon. Simple as that.

universetwisters

I can imagine whatever counts to 100% to be cannon. But then again, you never had that problem with older games, it only came about when Rockstar started getting cannon with everything.

• Like 1

sTgL5iS.png

Harwood Butch3r