4. Debates & Discussion
    1. News

2. Forum Support

3. Site Suggestions

TenEightyOne

Handwriting

TenEightyOne

Let me give you a little background;

I was formerly a teacher in the UK at both Primary and Secondary level and, as such, had to enmesh the National Curriculum Literacy Strategy into all my lesson plans and deliveries. There's no doubt in my mind that high standards of literacy are crucial in the educational development of children.

Now I work in IT for a very large engineering company and I spend most of my time maintaining and devising systems that eliminate paper copy and which allow collaborative electronic work in project workshare locations around the globe. Literacy is no less important for users, it's just that they're encouraged to use IT interfaces to create, edit and transmit their work.

This weekend I spent several hours helping my 5-year-old daughter with her cursive handwriting homework. Cursive handwriting is what we used to call "Joined-Up Writing" and it's something that her school places a lot of store in. She pointed out to me that she can already type much more quickly than she can write (true), that neither her mother nor I write in such a formal style (true) and that she never ever sees cursive handwriting anywhere other than in her school (probably true). She's a smart cookie, I'm pleased to say, and I found it hard to answer her argument.

This got me to thinking... I already believe that we should teach children to operate in a modern age rather than the 3-Rs age of my own youth and I believe that we should teach children to use the IT facilities that are part of our everyday lives, but there's one question that I can't quite answer though;

Should we expend our limited educational resources on teaching formal handwriting to children or should we accept that customs have moved on?

Edited by TenEightyOne

MikeWh
Let me give you a little background;