GTA V Trademark Publication for Opposition

GroomLake51

GroomLake51

**Title should read "published" not "publication" ... oops.

I'm no lawyer, but I'm wondering if anyone [with a mind] or well-versed with copyright/TM law can explain the noted date below. From the research I've done, it basically means it's being published in the USTPO official gazette.

This falls on a Tuesday. Possibility for more information? Just thought I'd bring it up.

user posted image

Its just the next stage of the trademark registration, they are getting close to the end though maybe just over a month away and I wonder if this is what they are waiting for before they can start the marketing campaign.

PUBLICATION FOR OPPOSITION

If the examining attorney raises no objections to registration, or if the applicant overcomes all objections, the examining attorney will approve the mark for publication in the Official Gazette , a weekly publication of the USPTO.

The USPTO will send a NOTICE OF PUBLICATION to the applicant stating the date of publication. Any party who believes it may be damaged by registration of the mark has thirty (30) days from the publication date to file either an opposition to registration or a request to extend the time to oppose. An opposition is similar to a proceeding in a federal court, but is held before the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board, a USPTO administrative tribunal. If no opposition is filed or if the opposition is unsuccessful, the application enters the next stage of the registration process. A Certificate of Registration will issue for applications based on use, or a Notice of Allowance will issue for intent-to-use applications.

Death2Drugs

Although this does seem interesting, I'll doubt this before I get my hopes up.

this is in regard to the V and the ribbon and words in it.... so does that now mean gtav.net (and others using it ...)are using someone elses trademark?