GTA IV Playable on System

mcrispl

After my laptop died I decided to build my own desktop. I didn't build it as a super gaming rig but I have recently been wanting to play gta IV and I am wondering if my computer will be able to handle it and what the best upgrades would be to make in order to make the game playable. Here are my system specs:

Windows 7 64-bit

Solid State Drive (for boot and programs)

4 GB Dual Channel DDR3 Ram (1333 I believe)

AMD Phenom II X2 3.2 GHz Processor

although the cores have been unlocked in this processor so CPU ID identifies it as AMD Phenom II X4 B55 3.2 GHz

ATI Radeon HD 4290 (integrated into motherboard)

So do you guys think my system can play the game. I am not super picking about the graphics quality as long as it isn't laggy and I can get through the game I don't mind playing on lower settings. I am a bit of a noob to this kind of stuff but If I do need an upgrade I assume the most important upgrade to make would be to get an actual video card. If so do you guys have any recommendations for good video cards at a decent price (I would like to stay under $200, <$150 ideally).

That's not a good system for games, especially not for IV.

Get rid of that CPU and replace it by an Intel Core i5-2500k.

The RAM is enough, but if you want to keep this system for the next 5 years, I should pick 8 GB of RAM.

But, that's up to you.

As for the graphics, NO.

EVGA GeForce GTX 470

Although this is a very good card for the price, the feedback at it is negative.

Many say they have a DOA (dead on arival), others say it's just a bad card or it's dead after a week.

And again another few people say it's an awesome card dozingoff.gif

XFX Radeon HD 6870

One I also saw, don't really know if it's an amazing card, but sure is a good one.

A video about the XFX card, playing Crysis maxed out and running at 40 FPS average wink.gif

Edited by Exxon

oh my gosh, such bad advice (imo). tis why i have to post here still