3. Writers' Discussion
      4. Debates & Discussion
    1. Announcements

2. Support

3. Suggestions

Chinatown Wars: A Return To Form?

Omnia sunt Communia

Omnia sunt Communia

I've been playing Grand Theft Auto games since 1997 when the original was released. Since then I've played pretty much every single title (except Advance & The Lost & Damned). Out of all those games, one stands out above the rest; that game is... Chinatown Wars.

Why do I think so highly of this game? Because unlike other recent games released within the franchise, Chinatown Wars focuses more on gameplay, as opposed to graphics. Rockstar Leeds made full use of the Nintendo DS, and not by creating the best graphics possible, but by creating the best gameplay possible.

I may just be seeing this game through nostalgia goggles, as it calls to mind the 'old school' Grand Theft Auto titles, but I do think this is the direction Rockstar should be heading. They're not trying to shove messages down our throat about the dangers of drugs, or the struggle to find the one, they're letting us be criminals. In the end, isn't that what Grand Theft Auto is all about?

I welcome the return of side missions like Taxi Driver, Paramedic and whatnot. I also applaud the new ones; like Drug Dealing, Noodle Delivery and Warehouse Raids. These are the things that keep us playing, not state of the art graphics and a morally north compass.

Who else agrees?

You are definitely on the right track there! GTA has never been about graphics, well maybe up until GTA IV. But I'm glad R* Leeds finally got how to make an almost perfect GTA game. Not that the Stories game weren't bad, they were off the charts, but R* Leeds managed to pull off a true GTA game on the weakest current-generation platform. They focused more on the pacing and the gameplay, which is what made GTA 3 so damn good.