Personal Review

JLF05

Firsty let me say, I have been a GTA gamer since the very start and it has been by FAR my most favourite gaming series of all time, from the early 2d days through to the "big leap" into 3d with GTA-3 and subsequent follow-ups VC & SA.

It goes without saying that like most here on this forum I had been awaiting GTA-4 eagerly for the past 2 years, I don't post much here, I'm more of a reader, but I have sifted through this forum and countless other websites for any crumb of information I could find about the game since its initial announcement...

Its been a long journey full of ups and downs, I remember being CRUSHED when news broke that the game was going to be located in Liberty City again, but I got over it and continued hope that Rockstar wouldnt let us down and for the most part they havent.

I got home from work last night to find my copy waiting and couldnt wait to get stuck into it! I sat and played for a solid 3 hours before moving my eyes away from the screen.

I will admit, my first impressions were pretty much "its just OK.." and I was quietly a little dissappointed inside.

But as i kept playing and got my head around the fiddly things like the new driving controls my satisfaction greatly improved, the graphics are just splendid, the fact that the environment is so much smaller than SA soon becomes the least of your worries and you become immersed in the details. Absolutely gorgeous looking textures.

The interactions with surrounding "peds" provided a countless amount of funny moments, such as bumping into a lady as I was walking along the sidewalk, she said something to me so naturally I waited until she walked away and then shot her in the back.. Then some random ped seen it and starts firing at me from the other side of the street and I had to bail as my health was already pretty low.