Black blocks on screen?!

toumine

I got my copy of gta4 at the midnight release. I'm playing on a 60g ps3 on a 32" HD TV, using a HDMI cable. Don't know why but since the moment i started playing it, black squares appear wherever the sun hits the landscape, and sometimes wherever there are flashing lights. This mainly happens when I am still, then goes when the character runs/drives. This is really annoying as the squares take up quite a lot of the in game scenery. Anyone any idea what is wrong, or does anyone even have the same problem? I tried 1080p, 720p etc and still the same. Also swapped my copy of the game at the shop, thinking it was faulty, but the problem remains. cryani.gif

Do you have any idea what I would have to do to stop this? Doesn't happen on any other games.

BeerMonstah187
Do you have any idea what I would have to do to stop this? Doesn't happen on any other games.

I'm not sure there's much that can be done, other than a patch released by R* in the future.

i have almost the same problem! although its not always black block, mine are often yellow! 32" HD tv and 60g ps3

this sucks!!!

Dude, I have the same problem. They pop up all the time, also during the movies. I noticed on mine that whenever there's water, there's black boxes. I returned the game and exchanged it for another one and still have the same problem. Does that mean that my PS3's the problem?

What solution is there? If I bring back the game and wait a month or so, will those issues be fixed?

Exopolitics

Im having the exact same problem except on the 360! but it only happened after a certain mission so i tried to start a new game but low and behold the black blocks were there!

they are god damn annoying!!

Youtube link:

Edited by Exopolitics

0ptimusprime