Map creation

Roggah

Hi I am new at this modding thing and I am using GTA: SA and want to create a new map from scratch.. I wonder what software I should use to build the terrain and stuff .. I have looked into the Map Editor but it seems that that software is only for moving objects and not create land.. sorry if I have created a new topic and there is a topic about this but I cant find it anyway.. I have searched at google about "create map for GTA: SA" and looked at youtube with the same search without any luck..

You create them with 3D modeling programs, such as 3ds Max, ZModeler, Gmax and Blender. Gmax and 3ds Max are good for map modeling. Gmax is free, but almost the same as 3ds max but with less features, search google for "3ds max tutorials", even though you would be using gmax, they are nearly the same thing. Or download the 3ds max 30 day trial and have fun for a month.

Mmm.. I found some tutorials but.. hmm is the map in sa more than 1 "map"?? I wonder because when I am using map editor it shows 1 part of the map and I need to check all the areas to see the whole map :S .. Now I am starting to wonder if I need to create sections on the map .. and about Gmax.. I think I know how to create the map.. but when I am putting a texture on the " map" the texture looks like **** the quality is not good at all what should I do? because I want the photo of the town as land texture in the beginning so I know where to raise the ground and when to lower it.. sorry can someone move this to the TF then? I didnt saw where I posted it...

Edited by Roggah

You need to learn the tools at hand. Textures look sh*t because you're dropping them on and not UVW mapping them and/or unwrapping them.