Website help

GentlemanSquid

GentlemanSquid

i have two questions.

1. how do i write on pictures

2. how do i make a strip of picture repeat it self when i press enter and so i can write on it

ie user posted image

if you dont get want im saying just ask me questions and i will try answer in more detail

im using nvu and komposer

Easiest way to put text over a picture is to create a <div> with a background image. You can then put text or whatever into the division itself. If you make <div> bigger than the picture, there is an option to tile the image, which is what you want, if I understood you correctly. I think it's also possible to give <input type=text> a background image. You might have to do that through styles. Try and see if it works.

Prior to filing a bug against any of my code, please consider this response to common concerns.

GentlemanSquid

can you give me an example because im not very good at HTML

<style type="text/css">#cheese {   background-image:  url(http://img204.imageshack.us/img204/977/gradienttcatmd6.gif);   background-repeat: repeat-x;height:42px;}</style><div id="cheese">my car has 4 wheels</div>

You'll then want to play about with positioning of the text, but that will depend on the images you're using.

Edit: the background-repeat: repeat-x bit means you'll tile the image horizontally only, repeat-y would mean the image would tile vertically, repeat means it would tile both horizontally and vertically, while no-repeat means it won't tile at all.

Second one, do you mean like http://how.todesignyour.com/textfield-design ? If so have a look at the source to the style you want to emulate and you'll be able to work it out from there.

Edited by Toadyd

<div style="width:400;background-image:url(image.jpg)">Some Text</div>

Width can also be set as a percentage of the screen width, e.g. width:25%