need a program

matt11504

im learning c++ programming and i need a program that can compile c++ programming and build it into a .exe file. i have downloaded codeblocks but it cant build .exe so I downloaded make-3.81 and i dont know how to install in, it gave some folders and a bunch of files and not one install file.

anybody know of any programs that can compile c++ coding into .exe?

Edited by matt11504

make needs gcc/gpp to work. Try Dev-C++. I've been using it for a few years, and it is by far the best free C/C++ compiler for Windows that I know of.

Prior to filing a bug against any of my code, please consider this response to common concerns.

That's generally what a compiler does. Well, the compiler portion of it actually just generates object files, but the gcc/gpp based compilers have a built in linker which joins the object files into the .exe or some other binary format. You don't really have to worry about these details for now. Dev-C++ has a nice GUI. You just open a .c/.cpp file with it, and find the Execute->Compile option. (Ctrl+F9 shortcut, I think) It will make a .exe in the same directory that you had your .c/.ccp in. You can also build projects with it, which will auto-generate makefiles to allow you to put together a single .exe file from multiple .cpp files. But you probably don't need to worry about that right now, either.

If you do want to learn how to use make utility, Dev-C++ does have its own make.exe in the bin directory which works almost the same as Linux make. The gcc and gpp in that directory also work similar to their Linux counterparts.

Prior to filing a bug against any of my code, please consider this response to common concerns.

• 4 weeks later...
thanks.

with some help, i created my first C++ application.

are you old?