Interested in programming

Knowledge Novice

Knowledge Novice

I'm not sure, but this seems to be the appropriate place to post this.

To put it bluntly I'm interested in learning how to program, but have no idea where to start. I'd like to be a world class game programmer of course, but it doesn't matter what I'm learning, my main interest is just understanding how things work, how to manipulate code, etc. Sorry for being so vague but I'm just a beginner looking for the first step to take. Any and all suggestions/ideas will be greatly appreciated.

1) What program language(s) would be the best/most beneficial for a beginner to study?

2) Do you know of a tutorial or a forum where I might learn more and get more specific help?

3) Will I need software in order to write code in a specific program language? (If so hopefully it will be freeware)

Hopefully some of you guys can help me get started. Thanks in advance.

P.S.

It doesn't necessarily have to be game related programming of course. I just want to learn.

1) I think some sort of scripting language (where you can make changes quickly, no need to compile, etc.). I started with PHP, though you could try out Perl, Python or anything else that looks interesting. tounge.gif

2) I'm not really sure with this one, i've never really stuck to tutorials - they're boring. I've just picked something interesting that I wanted to do (for example, I started with C++ by making a vehicle spawner for GTA), and then just researched the methods I needed to use. PHP, for example, has very nice (in my opinion) documentation on the functions and syntax at php.net, which is helpful.

3) This really depends on the language you pick. You will, however, always need a good text editor. I like Notepad++, nano and Visual C++.

TheJkWhoSaysNi