3. Writers' Discussion
      4. Debates & Discussion
    1. Announcements

1. GTANet 20th Anniversary
    2. Support

3. Suggestions

WMP Visualization

Haro

Hi, this is my first viz (visualization) for WMP so it's not very good but i will improve on it. I first tried to make a custom viz months ago, but i only had Visual Studio Express Edition which didn't include the Platform SDK and ATL. Also, i am fairly new to C++, especially to Microsofts libraries (ATL and that). Eventually i got the required libraries and compiled the project.

Feel free to change the code and give my tips on how to improve it. I've included the

VS Project so you can compile it. If you just want to run it, you will have to register

the DLL using regsvr32.exe (command is "regsvr32.exe [DLL Name]").

Download Here

Enjoy smile.gif

• 3 weeks later...

Version 1.1 is now up. I've improved the code a bit, changed a few of the presets and most importantly added double buffering to stop the flickering. It's slightly faster but i read that using a cached Bitmap is even faster but i see no improvement. I want to know how to make those complex patterns that are in other viz's (Pixel Trip is a great one), if anyone knows of a good site please tell me.

Download

• 3 weeks later...

I am making another visualization, Viz3D, which will use OpenGL to draw 3D shapes and stuff. I have got the code done and it compiles (using VS) but nothing appears on the screen when i run it. Can someone please look at my code and tell me what's wrong with it. I know K^2 has done OpenGL so if he or anyone else could help me that would be great smile.gif

Download Viz3D here

I haven't looked at the code yet, but did you try running rendering code as a stand-alone executable? It's a good way to see if you messed up the rendering code itself or something in Application-Library interface.