4. Debates & Discussion
    3. Gangs

1. Announcements

2. Support

3. Suggestions

Choppy play...

DiazIsMyBitch

DiazIsMyBitch

I spent a lot of time searching the forum, and couldn't really come up with what's ailing me. Here's my specs:

Running GTAVC v. 1.0

Intel PIII 802 mHz

256 MB RAM

Xtasy 6964 NVIDIA GeForce3 Ti500 Driver 53.03

WinXP Pro

DirectX 9.0a

Creative SBLive Value Sound Card

GTA3 played great on my system after getting the GF3. Vice City, even at 800X600X16 is a little choppy, most notable when I crash a car--it appears to skip when this happens. I'm not a big techie at all, so things like overclocking, etc. don't really apply. I don't even know how to check fps on a game, to be honest. I've messed with the in-game controls according to what I've read here, but nothing's helped. Did a de-frag and reinstall of VC as well. Any help is appreciated--

Cartoon Corpse

it seems you're on the edge of anemic hardwarewise to me. do you kill all other running procs (except kernal, systray, explorer)...may help some. how much ram in you video card? (im an ATI man)

interesting though cause i have lag trouble in gta3, but im full blast in vice. so i'd expect you may be able to get there if your gta3 is running fine. apparently vice city is more efficient engine.

do you have any siblings you can sacrifice to a god or anything? or you could sell them into slavery to buy some fancypants hardware maybe.

DiazIsMyBitch

Thanks for the info.

This might be another dumb question, but should the fan on my video card always be running, or does it only come on if it gets hot? I opened up my box, and found A LOT of dust in the fan, and when I rebooted, it doesn't come on...

Cartoon Corpse