Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Fold for GTAForums!

1,101 replies to this topic
ccrogers15
  • ccrogers15

    REQUESTED BAN

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2010

#1081

Posted 10 December 2011 - 12:30 PM

Folding at home on PS3 is basicly Life with PS right?

Waste
  • Waste

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2004

#1082

Posted 10 December 2011 - 12:32 PM

QUOTE (ccrogers15 @ Saturday, Dec 10 2011, 07:30)
Folding at home on PS3 is basicly Life with PS right?

Yea, that's all it is.

F4L?
  • F4L?

    Well I'm sorry, Princess.

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2010
  • None

#1083

Posted 10 December 2011 - 01:03 PM

QUOTE (Spuds725 @ Saturday, Dec 10 2011, 01:40)
QUOTE (finn4life @ Monday, Nov 28 2011, 07:02)
I am interested in this.

Does it use internet usage? If so is it much?

Very little internet usage...

In a nutshell--- you download and install the client software.

Depending on your PC and Specs you can download a windows client or the GPU client...

The GPU client uses the processing power of your video card to crank out larger units faster-- you have to have a higher end and compatible graphics card to use this client.

Anyway-- you download and install the client.... you can set a user name and join a folding team-- GTAforums team id is 32093

The program will run in the back ground and is supposed to use resources when the PC is idle (when you aren't using them)--

The client software will download a work unit file to your PC--- the program will then run its simulations on it-- depending on the unit size, your PCs specs, etc it can take anywhere from a few hours to a few days to knock it out... you don't have to leave the PC on all the time... it will resume where it left off if you turn it off... you can check its progress if you want but is pretty much designed to run in the background.

When it is done-- it will upload the compete work unit back to the server and then download a new work unit for your PC to work on.... so it uses very little bandwidth.

Very simple...

The PS3 has a folding program installed to utilize it's dual GPUs (graphics processing units)-- it takes my PS3 about 7 hours to crank one out-- unfortunately you can't do anything other then listen to music when the PS3 is folding.

More info can be found here... http://folding.stanf...du/English/Main

Our team stats are here-- http://fah-web.stanf...e&teamnum=32093

Thanks...

My new laptop is relatively good spec, not a beast, but its pretty powerful for a laptop on the cheap.

HP
-i7 2630qm 2.2GHZ with the 700mhz turbo boost
-Radeon 6770m 1GB graphics.

Great CPU, mid end Graphics, i guess when i start folding i'll use the windows one.
Thanks for all the info, its great to see someone willing to help someone out to help a cause, but really i was just a little concerned for the usage (i already read up on folding) because when i am on the move i use my 3G pocket wifi, and i don't wanna spend the usage on folding which uses 100's of MB's.
But again thanks for the help, be sure to quote that to anyone else who may be less...well informed as I.


Waste
  • Waste

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2004

#1084

Posted 19 December 2011 - 11:29 PM

Just moved into third recently. >.>

Xcommunicated
  • Xcommunicated

    Bunch of slack-jawed faggots around here.

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2002
  • United-States

#1085

Posted 19 December 2011 - 11:43 PM

I haven't run this in a long time and I'm still in 1st? WTF? tounge.gif I managed to get there with a Q6600 and an 8800GTS running 24/7. I still have that pc which is now my htpc. I may give this another go around on my main pc.

Ronnyboy
  • Ronnyboy

    Blind leading the deaf, leading the socially inept.

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Nov 2007

#1086

Posted 20 December 2011 - 02:44 AM

I could never figure out how to get it set up on my Quad Core monstrosity. Might have a go again.

Spuds725
  • Spuds725

    Party Animal

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2003
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [GTAF]

#1087

Posted 25 February 2013 - 03:13 AM Edited by Spuds725, 25 February 2013 - 03:23 AM.

I'm up to number 7 in rankings now--- anyone else folding still???

I upgraded to the new client software a while ago-- very nice-- and it seems to optimize for my system very well (I'm cranking out alot more units).

Also-- for those that haven't noticed-- they (Fold @ Home project) updated their home page and actually made it so you can click the link for the new client with any web browser now (not just IE)-- for those on Facebook/Twitter-- please-- lets get the word out.

http://folding.stanford.edu/

Their new youtube vid-- excellent job....

friendly luggage
  • friendly luggage

    Catch a ride!

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 May 2011
  • United-Kingdom

#1088

Posted 25 February 2013 - 02:07 PM Edited by illegal_luggage, 26 February 2013 - 09:12 PM.

My GPU is detected but doesn't want to start running most of the time.

ccrogers15
  • ccrogers15

    REQUESTED BAN

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2010

#1089

Posted 27 February 2013 - 06:06 AM

I dont really trust it. It runs in background and scans your PC?
Aint that like spyware?

sivispacem
  • sivispacem

    Absolute Dunkel:Heit

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2011
  • United-Kingdom
  • Contribution Award [D&D, General Chat]
    Most Knowledgeable [Vehicles] 2013
    Best Debater 2013, 2012, 2011

#1090

Posted 27 February 2013 - 07:53 AM

QUOTE (ccrogers15 @ Wednesday, Feb 27 2013, 07:06)
It runs in background and scans your PC?

No it doesn't. It uses your processing and graphical power to simulate protein folding, as part of a distributed network conducting autonomous research into Alzheimer's disease. What on earth made you think it was spyware?

F4L?
  • F4L?

    Well I'm sorry, Princess.

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2010
  • None

#1091

Posted 27 February 2013 - 12:25 PM

QUOTE (sivispacem @ Wednesday, Feb 27 2013, 18:53)
QUOTE (ccrogers15 @ Wednesday, Feb 27 2013, 07:06)
It runs in background and scans your PC?

No it doesn't. It uses your processing and graphical power to simulate protein folding, as part of a distributed network conducting autonomous research into Alzheimer's disease. What on earth made you think it was spyware?

Stupidity can make you think a great many things.

ccrogers, you really think that PSN would allow an app that does that? You really think this is a 73 page topic because it's all a load of spyware? And lastly, you think Stanford University would have spyware on it's official site?

Dude, use your brain...

Rebel
  • Rebel

    Woop Woop!

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2007
  • Olympics

#1092

Posted 27 February 2013 - 02:42 PM

I'm just installing it as we speak. Does it slow down internet speed? I only ask since if it does I'd probably close it down while I play internet games so it doesn't mess with my game. Also, while I'm at it - would it be possible to get schools/hospitals/work places interested in doing this? I mean would it be possible to get an IT team to install it onto an entire army of school PC's?

Spuds725
  • Spuds725

    Party Animal

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2003
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [GTAF]

#1093

Posted 08 March 2013 - 05:06 AM

QUOTE (Rebel @ Wednesday, Feb 27 2013, 10:42)
I'm just installing it as we speak. Does it slow down internet speed? I only ask since if it does I'd probably close it down while I play internet games so it doesn't mess with my game. Also, while I'm at it - would it be possible to get schools/hospitals/work places interested in doing this? I mean would it be possible to get an IT team to install it onto an entire army of school PC's?

It does not slow down your internet speed that I have noticed.... it will download a unit-- chew on it til it is done or it expires-- upload the completed unit, and download a new one.... repeat.

I have not noticed it slowing down any other applications-- it is supposed to not use PC resources when the PC needs them-- ie does most of its work when a PC is idle. If you suspect it is causing a problem you can always close it and open it back later.

Yes lots of businesses have done this--- most are in tech related fields or tech related groups....

Top 100 Teams list-- I'm sure you will see some familiar names... http://fah-web.stanf...qtype=teamstats

Client stats by OS... http://fah-web.stanf...?qtype=osstats2










ccrogers15
  • ccrogers15

    REQUESTED BAN

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2010

#1094

Posted 08 March 2013 - 06:42 AM

QUOTE (finn4life @ Wednesday, Feb 27 2013, 12:25)
QUOTE (sivispacem @ Wednesday, Feb 27 2013, 18:53)
QUOTE (ccrogers15 @ Wednesday, Feb 27 2013, 07:06)
It runs in background and scans your PC?

No it doesn't. It uses your processing and graphical power to simulate protein folding, as part of a distributed network conducting autonomous research into Alzheimer's disease. What on earth made you think it was spyware?

Stupidity can make you think a great many things.

ccrogers, you really think that PSN would allow an app that does that? You really think this is a 73 page topic because it's all a load of spyware? And lastly, you think Stanford University would have spyware on it's official site?

Dude, use your brain...

Telling me to use my brain when you can even say my Username correctly.

Spuds725
  • Spuds725

    Party Animal

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2003
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [GTAF]

#1095

Posted 31 March 2013 - 01:42 AM Edited by Spuds725, 22 July 2013 - 07:21 PM.

I'm number 4! I'm number 4! tounge.gif http://fah-web.stanf...e&teamnum=32093

Long way to #3.

//edit//

Not as long as i thought.... #3 now... biggrin.gif

Spuds725
  • Spuds725

    Party Animal

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2003
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [GTAF]

#1096

Posted 10 January 2014 - 04:27 PM

Alright-- want to forgive the bumpdate but there have been alot of new members join the forums since this has been at the top of the page and our team is very inactive at the moment (Only 3 members have folded in the last 50 days) according to our STATS PAGE

 

You might ask what is the Fold @ Home project-- It is a research project run out of Stanford University and simulates protein folding of cells in the human body-- folding incorrectly causes many diseases and cancers... by installing and running this software you can help save lives. It runs in the back ground and will download a work unit-- your PC will chew on this for a few hours to a few days (the length of time depends on your PC processor speed and the size of the work unit) and when finished it will upload the results and download a new unit to work on... repeat. You can leave your PC on (your user should stay logged on to continue folding) but it is designed to run in the background and will only use idle processing power so will not slow other users down-- but if you shut down your PC, it will pick up where it left off-- each work unit generally will expire (be assigned to another user) if not completed in something like 5 or 6 weeks.

 

More info can be found on This Page

 

Here is their FAQ Page 

 

Anyway-- hoping others will jump in.... if so-- be sure to "Join" our team by entering in our team number--  32093

 

Thanks......

 

Spuds

  • Xcommunicated likes this

Xcommunicated
  • Xcommunicated

    Bunch of slack-jawed faggots around here.

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2002
  • United-States

#1097

Posted 11 January 2014 - 03:35 PM

And... I'm still in first place. I would have started back up two years ago, but they didn't support AMD GPUs back then.  Glad to see the installer is a simple, unified package for all CPUs and GPUs now.  

 

Estimated PPD: 23,472  Not bad.

  • Spuds725 likes this

Spuds725
  • Spuds725

    Party Animal

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2003
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [GTAF]

#1098

Posted 11 January 2014 - 06:19 PM

Cool-- are you folding again? I have a high end I3 processor (is that an oxymoron ;) ) on my desktop PC but no GPU-- my estimated PPD is about 5,000-- I run mine almost continuously

 

I just downloaded the new client software yesterday--

 

They need a thumb drive client-- I'd run it at work everyday on my work PC if I could (my IT department won't allow it).


Xcommunicated
  • Xcommunicated

    Bunch of slack-jawed faggots around here.

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2002
  • United-States

#1099

Posted 13 January 2014 - 12:19 AM

My first WUs in almost exactly five years have shown up!  I have to set the app to full before the GPU will kick in.  So when set to full, my PPD is around 40k which works out to 1.2m a month - roughly my total score thus far, lol.

 

I'll try to keep this going this time, but I may have to curb it back some if it spikes the hell out of the electrical bill.  Not sure how much juice an i7 2600k @4.6ghz and a Radeon HD 6970 running full boar will swallow up, but my pc is already doubling up as a small space heater with this running. :p

 

Looking at the stats for the top teams, it seems like the folding effort has lost a lot of steam along the way (there's just under 200k computers running it worldwide, what a shame).


Spuds725
  • Spuds725

    Party Animal

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2003
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [GTAF]

#1100

Posted 15 January 2014 - 11:09 PM

If you can get your hands on one of these-- you can check your power consumption pretty easily....
 
http://www.amazon.co...rds=kill a watt
 
Maybe you can be a winter only folder (helps heat your home :) )
 
Thanks to those that have started folding or that are resuming folding-- we are up to 8 active CPUs now (up from 3).
 
1.2 Million/month-  :O    Guess I'm the Tortoise to your Hare... I keep mine on Medium.

//EDIT//

Spuds is #2 now :D

Thanks to our other new "folders".. 11 active CPUs now.
  • Xcommunicated likes this

Xcommunicated
  • Xcommunicated

    Bunch of slack-jawed faggots around here.

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2002
  • United-States

#1101

Posted 07 February 2014 - 05:50 AM

I did some upgrading and reconfiguring of my pc last weekend, so the active list on the stats page is going to look artificially inflated since I had to reinstall the client on a fresh install of Windows.  I also tried running this on my old pc, but it's really slow with today's WUs, so no point in keeping it going on there really.

 

I may have to get one of those monitors to see how much juice my system is using.  For now I'm not too worried about it since it's ridiculously cold here this winter.  The extra heat output from the pc is more than welcome right now.


Spuds725
  • Spuds725

    Party Animal

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2003
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [GTAF]

#1102

Posted 01 August 2014 - 12:02 PM

Sorry for the bumpdate-- but apparently the GTAF F@H image that you can put in your signature and is in the header of this section has been "de-hosted" (invented word)--

 

I was able to recover a copy of it from a web archive and have rehosted it here (on GTAF)....

 

The URL is: http://media.gtanet....images/7744.png

 

7744.png

 

 

 

Once again I would like to urge users to fold-- our team has pretty much been reduced to me and Xcomm (who by himself has pretty much matched everyone elses folding and then some).

 

More info can be found in the opening post of this thread--essentially we are using our excess computing power to help cure diseases...

 

I will be updating the opening post of this thread to add the above image

 

Spuds





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users