Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Can i get a bit of help? GTA SA won't open on Win 10. ( i have no gtasa.set file)

9 replies to this topic
ITz_cLaude_bAB
  • ITz_cLaude_bAB

    Wears the same clothes for over 9 f*cking years.

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Aug 2016
  • Romania

#1

Posted 05 April 2018 - 08:54 AM

I tried running the game in every compatibility mode possible and it won't work. The game also has no gtasa.set file to delete, so that's not the problem. If i set the game to 640x480 resolution it will open for a split second but close right away. I didn't find any working solution on the internet :(


CoolMods
  • CoolMods

    If you set your last active to private you're f*cking edgy

  • Victim of The Pit™
  • Joined: 26 Jun 2017
  • Romania

#2

Posted 05 April 2018 - 09:12 AM Edited by CoolMods, 05 April 2018 - 09:12 AM.

Reinstall the game?


iguaan
  • iguaan

    100% Completion Tryhard

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Jul 2016
  • Estonia

#3

Posted 05 April 2018 - 12:29 PM

What version are you using? Fresh download works fine for me on Win 10 Pro 1709, downloaded from Steam.

 

Might be an issue with rights, could try running as admin or reinstalling DirectX.


lil weasel
  • lil weasel

    Shoot Looters, Hang Pirates!

  • GTA Series Staff
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [San Andreas]

#4

Posted 05 April 2018 - 03:48 PM

The GTA_sa.set file is created when you complete the first Saved game. It contains the settings and machines driver information.
By deleting it the game is forced to create a new one, with updated information.

So.
The First question is Which Version did you buy?
1. DVD v1 (original)
2. DVD v2. The Non-modifiable issue.
3. STEAM Registered Down Load.
4. Stolen Game (Warez/Torrent/Pirated.) If this is the type game you have it cannot be fixed here, go to the game download source to ask for help.

Now, IF Mods have been applied, GET RID of them. Play the game as intended.
IF you MUST have the mods, try asking for help in the specialized part of the Forums: Modding.
  • Camera 12345 likes this

gts.
  • gts.

    Gangsta

  • Victim of The Pit™
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2015
  • United-States

#5

Posted 06 April 2018 - 07:46 AM

Install SilentPatch: http://gtaforums.com...45-silentpatch/

zoombotrom
  • zoombotrom

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Apr 2018
  • United-States

#6

Posted 06 April 2018 - 03:19 PM

simplest possible solution:double click gta_sa.exe

 

open task manager (ctrl+shift+esc)

 

open background processes

if gta_sa.exe is running there end it and reopen the exe

 

this worked for me


yo boi ryobo
  • yo boi ryobo

    A self-proclaimed San Andreas genius

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Feb 2017
  • United-States

#7

Posted 3 weeks ago Edited by yo boi ryobo, 3 weeks ago.

Check all the folders.  If there is nothing there (excluding folders) copy and paste a backup of the folder or download a backup folder.  This happened to me when both the data and models folder weren't there.

 

Are you running as administrator and in compatibility mode (Windows XP service pack 3 for best results I found)


ViceBoy69
  • ViceBoy69

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2014
  • United-Kingdom

#8

Posted 3 weeks ago

i second that run it as administrator and compatability mode win xp


lil weasel
  • lil weasel

    Shoot Looters, Hang Pirates!

  • GTA Series Staff
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [San Andreas]

#9

Posted 3 weeks ago

OP has not been back for Three (3) Weeks, If OP does not post soon, we can presume the problem has gone away.

yo boi ryobo
  • yo boi ryobo

    A self-proclaimed San Andreas genius

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Feb 2017
  • United-States

#10

Posted 3 weeks ago

I think he would have posted back by now, I think we can say the problem went away.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users