Clarification on "Stepping Through" the SHV.NET Structure

6 replies to this topic
OfficerJohnson
  • OfficerJohnson

Crackhead

• Members
  • United-States

Posted 4 weeks ago

Hello again. Sorry to bother you all again. As usual, I'll get right to the point.

So I'm starting to get the hang of how to read the structure of how you call the functions in SHV.NET. I do have a few that still need some clarifying:

1) What is the GTA namespace? Looking through SHV.NET's documentation, I don't see it anywhere.

2) GTA.Native is technically the natives from Native DB, correct?

Okay. Now for this next part, please be aware I have basic knowledge of computer programming basics (mostly C++). What confuses me and requires some further clarification is the use of the . (Dot) operator when accessing a function under the namespace (Ex: UI.ShowSubtitle). My understanding is that we are accessing the ShowSubtitle() function under the UI namespace, correct?

Here's where there is further confusion. I have noticed some scripts w/ source code show something like "Game.Player.Character" but if I follow that structure, where is the Character part? Shouldn't it be "World.Player.Character" instead?

So to end this, if someone could help clarify how to read through the structure in a very simple (even remedial manner), it would help.

Ex: I'd like to play an anim on my PED. What would be the . (Dot) hierarchy to step through to get the function necessary for this to work?

Jitnaught
  • Jitnaught

Grass tastes bad

• Members
  • United-States

Posted 4 weeks ago

The GTA namespace is the SHVDN API. If it's not in the documentation that's because they have a using GTA; at the top of the file so that you don't have to type it each time you want to use a class/function within it.

The GTA.Native namespace is for calling native functions directly. The Hash enum within the GTA.Native namespace contains all of the native functions which can be found on the NativeDB.