Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Help with textures and Skin Selector

Best Answer Ash_735, 6 days ago

If the model is appearing as white then that means you have the correct TXD name but the game isn't finding the texture inside that TXD, have you made sure the name of the texture the model is using in 3DS is the same as the name of the texture inside the TXD? Go to the full post


12 replies to this topic
Assasinge
  • Assasinge

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2017
  • United-States

#1

Posted 6 days ago

Hey all, first time posting here. So I rigged a character in 3DS Max and it works like a charm in San Andreas when I replace another dff in the Skin Selector's img file.

 

However, whenever I import a texture for the txd of the characters I replaced Skin Selector just stops working ingame.

 

I saved the texture file as 32 bit with no compression.

 

Here's the weird thing. When I tick the "alpha is used" box then my character works without textures but if I untick it then Skin Selector doesn't work.

 

Can anyone help me?


guru_guru
  • guru_guru

    pajaro culiao

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2017
  • Chile

#2

Posted 6 days ago

Are you using TXDWorkshop?
  • guard3 likes this

Assasinge
  • Assasinge

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2017
  • United-States

#3

Posted 6 days ago

Are you using TXDWorkshop?

Yes


guard3
  • guard3

    Liberty City's Finest

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2013
  • Greece

#4

Posted 6 days ago Edited by guard3, 6 days ago.

Here's your problem. Use Magic.TXD and never look back


Assasinge
  • Assasinge

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2017
  • United-States

#5

Posted 6 days ago Edited by Assasinge, 6 days ago.

Gee thanks.

 

That's not the point here, I managed to get 2 skins working already but all of a sudden Skin Selector just isn't working anymore with my textures.

 

Edit: Tried replacing renko.txd with the texture I want to use, then replaced the new txd file with imgtools and my character still shows up as white.


guru_guru
  • guru_guru

    pajaro culiao

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2017
  • Chile

#6

Posted 6 days ago

>IMGTool
>TXDWorkshop

This is the point,you are using old ass tools.

Use Modloader, Magic.TXD and this updated version of Skin Selector https://www.mixmods....lector.html?m=1
  • guard3 likes this

Assasinge
  • Assasinge

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2017
  • United-States

#7

Posted 6 days ago

>IMGTool
>TXDWorkshop

This is the point,you are using old ass tools.

Use Modloader, Magic.TXD and this updated version of Skin Selector https://www.mixmods....lector.html?m=1

 

Well then what explains my first two skins I worked on working? All of a sudden these tools shouldn't just stop working like that. And my character works just fine, it's just not showing up the textures and remaining white, while my other skins work for some reason. 


guard3
  • guard3

    Liberty City's Finest

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2013
  • Greece

#8

Posted 6 days ago

All of a sudden these tools shouldn't just stop working like that

Or so you think. Have you tried modloader as guru_guru suggested?


Assasinge
  • Assasinge

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2017
  • United-States

#9

Posted 6 days ago Edited by Assasinge, 6 days ago.

Not yet, I'm not at home atm. But I dont understand how this is suppose to fix my texture problem if my other textures work fine and this doesn't. Leads me to believe it's the texture itself or something wrong I did in Max, no?
 


Assasinge
  • Assasinge

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2017
  • United-States

#10

Posted 6 days ago Edited by Assasinge, 6 days ago.

Ok I tried my best to install it and my game keeps crashing.

 

I downgraded my San Andreas to 1.0, then installed the ASI Loader thing. Then installed Cleo 3, then installed modloader and the asi for it, then installed skin selector (n) by pasting it inside the modloader folder and now my game crashes.

 

Edit: Ok I got it working. However my model still appears white ingame even after converting my texture to a txd and putting it alongside my model's dff inside of the skin img folder. And my texture is named the same as my model too.

 

So now what? Is it because of something I didn't to in 3DS Max or something?


Ash_735
  • Ash_735

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2005
  • None
  • Best Newsletter 2017 [GTAF Weekly]
    Contribution Award [GTAF Weekly]
    Contribution Award [Mods]
    Most Knowledgeable [GTA] 2013
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#11

Posted 6 days ago   Best Answer

If the model is appearing as white then that means you have the correct TXD name but the game isn't finding the texture inside that TXD, have you made sure the name of the texture the model is using in 3DS is the same as the name of the texture inside the TXD?

Assasinge
  • Assasinge

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2017
  • United-States

#12

Posted 6 days ago

Yes, both my .dff and .txd are the same name yet the model doesn't load my texture as it should ingame and remains white.

Assasinge
  • Assasinge

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2017
  • United-States

#13

Posted 6 days ago Edited by Assasinge, 6 days ago.

Wait the name of the texture...inside my TXD? Shoot. I renamed my texture inside of MagicTXD the same as my dff...

 

 

Edit: Thank you so much dude! That was the problem I was having! I incorrectly renamed it inside of TXD Workshop!





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users