Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

ddraw.dll not working

7 replies to this topic
Fishers Fritz
  • Fishers Fritz

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2015
  • Germany

#1

Posted 12 January 2018 - 01:02 AM Edited by Fishers Fritz, 12 January 2018 - 01:51 AM.

I installed GTA Vice City and because I get the error "Cannot find 640x480 video mode" I installed the ddraw.dll to the game's directory. Allegedly the ddraw.dll should fix this error but the error still occurs. So I think the game doesn't recognize the ddraw.dll file. Even with installation of the SilentPatch additionally the error still exists.
 
If I copy a settings file from a savegame to the user files directory the game starts, but then the SilentPatch (and also the ddraw.dll) doesn't work (the mouse doesn't work, which should be fixed with SilentPatch). 
 
What should I do? I just want to make the ddraw.dll (and the SilentPatch too, of course) work without using a cr*ck.
 
Thanks in advance. :)
 
PS: I have the german version and the game is already patched to 1.1.
 
EDIT: Just saw there's already a thread for those problems. :O


George Costanza
  • George Costanza

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2009
  • None
  • Best Conversion 2017 [Liberty City Stories: PC]
    [Rockstar Editor Awards 2017] Best Rockstar Editor Short
    Best Total Overhaul 2017 Contribution [GTA: Underground]
    l33t p05T3r 5t34l3r 2017
    Worst Sheep 2017
    Spam Commando 2017
    Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]

#2

Posted 12 January 2018 - 10:57 AM

Why dont you like using nocd? Not only mods mostly support nocd exes, the nocd exes has also the old drm removed, so it actually increases compatiblity with newer systems. (since MS broke the compatiblity with these old DRMs, because of security flaws [and also some of those DRMs actually acting as a malware])


Fishers Fritz
  • Fishers Fritz

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2015
  • Germany

#3

Posted 12 January 2018 - 02:56 PM

Thanks for your reply! 

 

If I use a no CD the game will crash at some points, for example buying weapons at ammu nation or starting fire truck missions. :( Of course I used various nocd's.


George Costanza
  • George Costanza

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2009
  • None
  • Best Conversion 2017 [Liberty City Stories: PC]
    [Rockstar Editor Awards 2017] Best Rockstar Editor Short
    Best Total Overhaul 2017 Contribution [GTA: Underground]
    l33t p05T3r 5t34l3r 2017
    Worst Sheep 2017
    Spam Commando 2017
    Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]

#4

Posted 12 January 2018 - 05:32 PM

Oh, turns out you need to *downgrade* the SCM too. But changing the scm would make the game not load your saves :/


Fishers Fritz
  • Fishers Fritz

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2015
  • Germany

#5

Posted 12 January 2018 - 05:47 PM

What does "SCM" mean? 


George Costanza
  • George Costanza

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2009
  • None
  • Best Conversion 2017 [Liberty City Stories: PC]
    [Rockstar Editor Awards 2017] Best Rockstar Editor Short
    Best Total Overhaul 2017 Contribution [GTA: Underground]
    l33t p05T3r 5t34l3r 2017
    Worst Sheep 2017
    Spam Commando 2017
    Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]

#6

Posted 12 January 2018 - 05:53 PM

main.scm - it contains all the coding of missions in game.

  • Fishers Fritz likes this

Gunnalingus
  • Gunnalingus

    Mack Pimp

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2009
  • None

#7

Posted 09 February 2018 - 03:19 PM

Because you're running game version 1.1 - this is the source of your problems. Silentpatch and other mods work best with 1.0 exe (US and EU, not any German exes). I recommend buying original disc game, buy standard European/UK edition. not the German version Then Silentpatch should work fine. 

 

This is of course if you want to be an upstanding citizen. Torrents would be easier.

 

Besides. In my own experience, ddraw is totally unnecessary. It is nothing more than ASI loader. When you also use ThirteenAG's widescreen fix it comes with ultimate asi loader which seems to work better than Silent's ddraw-


gts.
  • gts.

    Gangsta

  • Victim of The Pit™
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2015
  • United-States

#8

Posted 09 February 2018 - 07:49 PM

Besides. In my own experience, ddraw is totally unnecessary. It is nothing more than ASI loader. When you also use ThirteenAG's widescreen fix it comes with ultimate asi loader which seems to work better than Silent's ddraw-

I facepalmed so hard. Do you know that the ddraw component is a component, right? Nothing to do with an ASI Loader. The component is made to fix stuff in the fly that can't be addressed from the ASI plugin if you load it from mss32 loader, that loads ASI plugins a little bit late... But if you are using an third party ASI Loader as UAL you can ditch the ddraw component since all ASI will load at the beggining when you run the game's executable.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users