Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

windows 10 can't change to 1366x768

6 replies to this topic
burncape
  • burncape

    why

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2016
  • Brazil

#1

Posted 01 November 2017 - 10:56 PM

so i bought a dvi monitor which has a native resolution of 1366x768 so i can use my gtx 1050ti but i can't like change it to the monitor's native resolution, trying to force it also didn't work it ended up changing it back to 1024x768, i don't have anything else to say so, help me?


also games like gta v can switch the resolution to 1366x768


Star-Lord
  • Star-Lord

    Freelance Outlaw And A Great Dancer

  • Facade Corporation
  • Joined: 26 Dec 2005
  • United-States

#2

Posted 08 November 2017 - 02:37 PM

You didn't provide any info on your monitor's brand/model. Either way, this issue occurs because of the drivers not either updated or not compatible with Windows 10. I'd suggest you research your monitor online at manufacture's website and try to obtain their latest drivers for your specific monitor. They may have the solution to your problem. And if that fails I would grab drivers from a previous version of Windows (recommend Windows 8) and run those drivers through Compatibility mode. As so....

1. Download the driver from the manufacturer’s website.


2. Right-click on the driver setup file and click on

‘properties’.


3. Click on the ‘compatibility’ tab and check the box

‘Run this program in compatibility mode for’ and select Windows 8 operating system from the drop down menu and proceed with the installation.


4. Once this is done, restart the computer and check if the issue persists.

Good luck!

 


burncape
  • burncape

    why

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2016
  • Brazil

#3

Posted 10 November 2017 - 02:12 AM

 

You didn't provide any info on your monitor's brand/model. Either way, this issue occurs because of the drivers not either updated or not compatible with Windows 10. I'd suggest you research your monitor online at manufacture's website and try to obtain their latest drivers for your specific monitor. They may have the solution to your problem. And if that fails I would grab drivers from a previous version of Windows (recommend Windows 8) and run those drivers through Compatibility mode. As so....

1. Download the driver from the manufacturer’s website.


2. Right-click on the driver setup file and click on

‘properties’.


3. Click on the ‘compatibility’ tab and check the box

‘Run this program in compatibility mode for’ and select Windows 8 operating system from the drop down menu and proceed with the installation.


4. Once this is done, restart the computer and check if the issue persists.

Good luck!

 

 

i have a samsung syncmaster s19b300


burncape
  • burncape

    why

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2016
  • Brazil

#4

Posted 10 November 2017 - 02:18 AM

 

 

You didn't provide any info on your monitor's brand/model. Either way, this issue occurs because of the drivers not either updated or not compatible with Windows 10. I'd suggest you research your monitor online at manufacture's website and try to obtain their latest drivers for your specific monitor. They may have the solution to your problem. And if that fails I would grab drivers from a previous version of Windows (recommend Windows 8) and run those drivers through Compatibility mode. As so....

1. Download the driver from the manufacturer’s website.


2. Right-click on the driver setup file and click on

‘properties’.


3. Click on the ‘compatibility’ tab and check the box

‘Run this program in compatibility mode for’ and select Windows 8 operating system from the drop down menu and proceed with the installation.


4. Once this is done, restart the computer and check if the issue persists.

Good luck!

 

 

i have a samsung syncmaster s19b300

i tried to look it up on google and on the samsung website and i didn't get nothing about it, just another model similar to the monitor and the installer got me kinda suspicious


Star-Lord
  • Star-Lord

    Freelance Outlaw And A Great Dancer

  • Facade Corporation
  • Joined: 26 Dec 2005
  • United-States

#5

Posted 12 November 2017 - 06:00 PM

Here ya go! click on Your Monitor

 

Find
Firmware / Software and scroll down towards the bottom of the page and select "Device(Install) ver 1.0, Win 2000/XP/Vista/Win7/Win8 (32,64bit)"

 

Run exe as Administrator and do as I instructed above. It should work.


burncape
  • burncape

    why

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2016
  • Brazil

#6

Posted 13 November 2017 - 12:20 AM

Here ya go! click on Your Monitor

 

Find
Firmware / Software and scroll down towards the bottom of the page and select "Device(Install) ver 1.0, Win 2000/XP/Vista/Win7/Win8 (32,64bit)"

 

Run exe as Administrator and do as I instructed above. It should work.

hm, it's installing another exe in my computer with the installshield stuff


it worked! but the aspect ratio is broken and i don't know how to fix it


Star-Lord
  • Star-Lord

    Freelance Outlaw And A Great Dancer

  • Facade Corporation
  • Joined: 26 Dec 2005
  • United-States

#7

Posted 13 November 2017 - 05:44 PM

OK Let's try this go here...

qs6xjt.jpg

Display settings

Now select...

2010zfq.jpg

Advanced Display Settings

Follow  by...

34eqjwi.jpg

If for some reason the last step is greyed out then I'm afraid your monitor is just not compatible with Windows 10. Make sure your graphics drivers are updated - they also play a major role in the display scheme of things, as they both control your display settings. Good luck!





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users