Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Resolution higher than my screen's

11 replies to this topic
ClaudeIzABadAzz
  • ClaudeIzABadAzz

    GTA Enthusiast

  • Victim of The Pit™
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2016
  • None

#1

Posted 21 October 2017 - 01:31 PM

Hey, I'm new to PCs and I recently got a gaming PC. My screen resolution is 1920x1200, and when I was playing Mafia 3, I noticed that I could change the resolution from 1920x1200 to 3640 or something like that even tho my max resolution is 1920x1200. The image on 3640 is a lot clearer, but my gameplay drops to about 10fps, whereas I used to get a smooth 55-60 on high graphics. Also on 3640 the map and everything is smaller. The first image is on 1920x1200.

Gh6znBY.pngthe next image is on 3640

5LkKBJl.png


Dealux
  • Dealux

    Goddess Of Light

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2011
  • European-Union

#2

Posted 21 October 2017 - 02:40 PM

It's called supersampling. As you noticed, it's supposed to improve the image quality (by replacing anti aliasing) but apparently it doesn't work properly in Mafia 3 which means you must have enabled something in your GPU's control panel to allow higher resolutions.

ClaudeIzABadAzz
  • ClaudeIzABadAzz

    GTA Enthusiast

  • Victim of The Pit™
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2016
  • None

#3

Posted 22 October 2017 - 02:23 AM

So if I enabled it in the control panel, would it run again at 55-60fps? Same thing happens in Forza Horizon 3, my cousin was playing the demo I downloaded and he used the preset graphic settings, which used the same 3640 resolution as Mafia 3, but again, it dropped in frames from a smooth 60 to about 15. I thought all this had something to do with my monitor.

yojc
  • yojc

    2A03

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#4

Posted 22 October 2017 - 06:20 AM

Rendering the game in higher resolution puts much more strain on the GPU. Noticeable performance loss is to be expected.

Audi
  • Audi

    AИТRАХ

  • The Yakuza
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2014
  • Switzerland
  • Most Improved Member 2017
    Best Turbo Quattro 2017

#5

Posted 22 October 2017 - 05:14 PM

I do it sometimes for pictures but to actually play the game I stick to the proper resolution. The Crew is one game that lets me turn up the resolution for pics specifically.


Jason
  • Jason

    Sporadic

  • Daily Globe
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2011
  • United-Kingdom

#6

Posted 22 October 2017 - 08:53 PM

Rendering the game in higher resolution puts much more strain on the GPU. Noticeable performance loss is to be expected.

 

Yea, this is to be expected and fiddling with your graphic cards control panel is unlikely to improve the framerate. 4K resolutions need top end graphics cards to run at a smooth 60fps.

 

As for the mini-UI if the games options are any good there will be an option for UI scale that will let you bump it back up to a normal size. Small UI's when you switch to a high resolution is generally a sign of poor high-resolution support tho.


ClaudeIzABadAzz
  • ClaudeIzABadAzz

    GTA Enthusiast

  • Victim of The Pit™
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2016
  • None

#7

Posted 23 October 2017 - 11:39 AM Edited by ClaudeIzABadAzz, 23 October 2017 - 11:58 AM.

 

Rendering the game in higher resolution puts much more strain on the GPU. Noticeable performance loss is to be expected.

 
Yea, this is to be expected and fiddling with your graphic cards control panel is unlikely to improve the framerate. 4K resolutions need top end graphics cards to run at a smooth 60fps.
 
As for the mini-UI if the games options are any good there will be an option for UI scale that will let you bump it back up to a normal size. Small UI's when you switch to a high resolution is generally a sign of poor high-resolution support tho.
The exact same thing has happened in Counter-Strike 1.6 and GTA IV. In 1.6, the UI goes really small (like Mafia), but in IV I don't notice a difference in quality and the map and HUD stayed the same. The only difference was the frames, which dropped by about 10.BTW I have a top end GPU, I have a GeForce GTX 1070.

HaRdSTyLe_83
  • HaRdSTyLe_83

    ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Mar 2014
  • None

#8

Posted 23 October 2017 - 01:32 PM

 

 

Rendering the game in higher resolution puts much more strain on the GPU. Noticeable performance loss is to be expected.

 
Yea, this is to be expected and fiddling with your graphic cards control panel is unlikely to improve the framerate. 4K resolutions need top end graphics cards to run at a smooth 60fps.
 
As for the mini-UI if the games options are any good there will be an option for UI scale that will let you bump it back up to a normal size. Small UI's when you switch to a high resolution is generally a sign of poor high-resolution support tho.
The exact same thing has happened in Counter-Strike 1.6 and GTA IV. In 1.6, the UI goes really small (like Mafia), but in IV I don't notice a difference in quality and the map and HUD stayed the same. The only difference was the frames, which dropped by about 10.BTW I have a top end GPU, I have a GeForce GTX 1070.

 

 

 

this will only improve image quality the same way any anti aliasing would, around the edges, if the 3D model is already squared it wont make it look any better at 4K, 8k etc...

 

the performance hit is to be expected, you are rendering a bigger amount of pixels that then are resized to the size of your screen.

 

10 frames per second with a gtx1070, seems wrong, are you also using SMAA x8 or any other AA in 4K or something ?


ClaudeIzABadAzz
  • ClaudeIzABadAzz

    GTA Enthusiast

  • Victim of The Pit™
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2016
  • None

#9

Posted 24 October 2017 - 12:19 PM Edited by ClaudeIzABadAzz, 24 October 2017 - 12:23 PM.

Rendering the game in higher resolution puts much more strain on the GPU. Noticeable performance loss is to be expected.

 
Yea, this is to be expected and fiddling with your graphic cards control panel is unlikely to improve the framerate. 4K resolutions need top end graphics cards to run at a smooth 60fps.
 
As for the mini-UI if the games options are any good there will be an option for UI scale that will let you bump it back up to a normal size. Small UI's when you switch to a high resolution is generally a sign of poor high-resolution support tho.
The exact same thing has happened in Counter-Strike 1.6 and GTA IV. In 1.6, the UI goes really small (like Mafia), but in IV I don't notice a difference in quality and the map and HUD stayed the same. The only difference was the frames, which dropped by about 10.BTW I have a top end GPU, I have a GeForce GTX 1070.
 
 
this will only improve image quality the same way any anti aliasing would, around the edges, if the 3D model is already squared it wont make it look any better at 4K, 8k etc...
 
the performance hit is to be expected, you are rendering a bigger amount of pixels that then are resized to the size of your screen.
 
10 frames per second with a gtx1070, seems wrong, are you also using SMAA x8 or any other AA in 4K or something ?
You mean MSAA? I dunno. I think so. That's anti aliasing right? Well yeah I have MSAA on x16 in my nVidia control panel specifically for GTA IV, coz there is no AA setting in the graphics menu, and the AA was horrible. For future, could you please dumb down your language? I'm new to PCs,but II'm learning names, uses etc etc

luisniko
  • luisniko

    *cue high-pitched sfx "Hooaaaaah! Yahhh!"

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Aug 2013
  • None

#10

Posted 24 October 2017 - 01:50 PM

Long story short:

- In your case, this has nothing to do with your monitor

- If you set for a higher resolution, your computer will process harder to produce larger picture; fps drop as the side effect

- Smaller HUD is because the image file provided does not have enough resolution to go larger than it should on higher resolution setting, causing it to stay at its top and eventually look smaller.
  • ClaudeIzABadAzz likes this

ClaudeIzABadAzz
  • ClaudeIzABadAzz

    GTA Enthusiast

  • Victim of The Pit™
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2016
  • None

#11

Posted 25 October 2017 - 06:49 AM

Long story short:

- In your case, this has nothing to do with your monitor

- If you set for a higher resolution, your computer will process harder to produce larger picture; fps drop as the side effect

- Smaller HUD is because the image file provided does not have enough resolution to go larger than it should on higher resolution setting, causing it to stay at its top and eventually look smaller.

OK so is there really any point in me playing games at this higher resolution? I've been sticking to my native resolution in games since, well....it's my native res.


HaRdSTyLe_83
  • HaRdSTyLe_83

    ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Mar 2014
  • None

#12

Posted 25 October 2017 - 02:27 PM Edited by HaRdSTyLe_83, 25 October 2017 - 02:32 PM.

OK so is there really any point in me playing games at this higher resolution? I've been sticking to my native resolution in games since, well....it's my native res.

 

 

 

not many, since your monitor can only display 1920 pixels (width) x 1200 pixels (height) , rendering more won't make the monitor display more, you are limited by the hardware (monitor)  you will see some better visual images, like any anti aliasing would, around the edges of objects etc, but not more.

 

if your GPU can handle the resolution them go for it, i played alot of time in 1440p on a 1080p monitor, but only after getting a 1440p monitor i saw the real difference





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users