Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

My game crashes on first loading screen, any help?

51 replies to this topic
sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: A week ago
  • United-States

#31

Posted A week ago

and use that always for mods that need to replace something in package file then no game file gets ruined by modding and all the backups are in main game directory.
But first you have to delete the previous stuff and redownload the game.


I don't really understand the first part but either way for my game to work I have to delete everything?

ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#32

Posted A week ago Edited by ACM-Jan, A week ago.

if the mod installing instructions say you need to use openIV then copy the destination to mods folder using the right click option. It's modern counterpart for "modloader" which was safer way to mod GTA San Andreas back in the day.

Total reinstall is required, your installing methods have broken it.


sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: A week ago
  • United-States

#33

Posted A week ago Edited by sheepdog6024, A week ago.

if the mod installing instructions say you need to use openIV then copy the destination to mods folder using the right click option.
Total reinstall is required, your installing methods have broken it.

Ok well like Cars and skins are the only thing I use open iv for, everything else is in the directory like plugins

Also I can't delete some plugins, I tried that guide you sent me and it still wouldn't allow me to.

ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#34

Posted A week ago Edited by ACM-Jan, A week ago.

it requires some creative thinking as well to manage file permissions and make them accessible again, i suggest to call someone who knows stuff and takes a look at the settings.

So many different reasons to make permissions go wrong and professional should come to pc and test different ways or google more ways and try them all until you can delete them.

This may take very long time and my time and nerves have limits so you have to figure this one out with someone else or by learning.


sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: A week ago
  • United-States

#35

Posted A week ago

it requires some creative thinking as well to manage file permissions and make them accessible again, i suggest to call someone who knows stuff and takes a look at the settings.
So many different reasons to make permissions go wrong and professional should come to pc and test different ways or google more ways and try them all until you can delete them.


While I'm trying to figure that out I should delete my gta 5 game and directory? And re download gta?

ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#36

Posted A week ago Edited by ACM-Jan, A week ago.

well thats the only way, you don't have any copy of clean game left (as i get from your previous statements) and this is why i got DVD version to have easy way to reinstall


sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: A week ago
  • United-States

#37

Posted A week ago

well thats the only way, you don't have any copy of clean game left (as i get from your previous statements)


Ok I'll do that and get back to you when gta is redownloaded

ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#38

Posted A week ago Edited by ACM-Jan, A week ago.

and try every solution that google suggests to delete files that give errors when trying to delete.

BTW i have had many issues with windows suddenly removing permissions from files and self-learning via google helped always.


sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: A week ago
  • United-States

#39

Posted A week ago Edited by sheepdog6024, A week ago.

and try every solution that google suggests to delete files that give errors when trying to delete.
BTW i have had many issues with windows suddenly removing permissions from files and self-learning via google helped always.

Trying everything and nothing is working, I deleted most of the directory just not all of it

And I can't even download gta again some error came up prob cause my gta 5 directory still has stuff in it. I'm going to do a factory reset

ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#40

Posted A week ago Edited by ACM-Jan, A week ago.

try everything that you can find to get rid of those files, windows can really mind-fudge with such things sometimes


sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: A week ago
  • United-States

#41

Posted A week ago

try everything that you can find to get rid of those files, windows can really mind-fudge with such things sometimes


factory reset is going to have to be it, I'm done screwing around with this computer, once and if it works I'm just going to download all the stuff on my own not use my back up

sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: A week ago
  • United-States

#42

Posted A week ago

try everything that you can find to get rid of those files, windows can really mind-fudge with such things sometimes


Alright I factory reset the computer and gta is downloading, how would I back it up? Just make a copy of the directory? I never backed it up before

sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: A week ago
  • United-States

#43

Posted A week ago

try everything that you can find to get rid of those files, windows can really mind-fudge with such things sometimes


Gta is downloaded but I changed my graphics up and the game is very choppy. Don't know how to fix it

ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#44

Posted A week ago Edited by ACM-Jan, A week ago.

there is alot of small reasons why stuttering/choppiness happens, i had that too and tried literally tons of solotions from google to solve it, it's releated to messing with settings in game and video card manager program, i dont have patience to list them all especially when it's easier to google and test them because no harm can come changing settings since you dont have to change any files.


sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: A week ago
  • United-States

#45

Posted A week ago Edited by sheepdog6024, A week ago.

there is alot of small reasons why stuttering/choppiness happens, i had that too and tried literally tons of solotions from google to solve it, it's releated to messing with settings in game and video card manager program, i dont have patience to list them all especially when it's easier to google and test them because no harm can come changing settings since you dont have to change any files.

Well I'm downloading drivers for nvidia now, that's what I found, instead of moving all my modded stuff over I'm going to do a fresh install of lspdfr and all my other plugins. I backed up my game already by copying the gta directory over into my other hard drive

Update ok so drivers was installed and the game is fine. So now that the game works good I downloaded Scripthook / openIV / rage / and winrar. What's the next step?

ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#46

Posted A week ago Edited by ACM-Jan, A week ago.

learning more about modding the game safely and enjoying it, im tired of explaining because self-learning has proven in past to be more effective.


sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: A week ago
  • United-States

#47

Posted A week ago

learning more about modding the game safely and enjoying it, im tired of explaining because self-learning has proven in past to be more effective.


Very true on that but you were telling me about defragmenting mods, can you go into more detail? Like if I download lspdfr it's going to put it in openIV isn't it?

ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#48

Posted A week ago Edited by ACM-Jan, A week ago.

ofc not, you have to open the "file" menu up left and click on defragment and click the button called defragment in next opened window then it will confirm soon that it has  been finished then click edit mode button once more and close openIV

 

also dont forget to copy required destination files to mods folder this time.

EDIT: seems like LSPD FR is autoinstaller, that don't need anything else than launching the exe


sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: A week ago
  • United-States

#49

Posted A week ago

ofc not, you have to open the "file" menu up left and click on defragment and click the button called defragment in next opened window then it will confirm soon that it has  been finished then click edit mode button once more and close openIV
 
also dont forget to copy required destination files to mods folder this time.
EDIT: seems like LSPD FR is autoinstaller, that don't need anything else than launching the exe


When I open up archive defragmenter in open iv what folder or files do I have to add? Because defragment is blacked out and I can't press it

ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#50

Posted A week ago Edited by ACM-Jan, A week ago.

*another facepalm*

you copy the game files you about to mod into mods folder then in edit mode add mods in the respective files inside mods folder and after that when view is still inside mods folder you can use defragment option (thats what its made for)

 

EDIT: I'm done now, if anyone else has willpower to continue explaining things then be my guest, im tired of this


sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: A week ago
  • United-States

#51

Posted A week ago

*another facepalm*
you copy the game files you about to mod into mods folder then in edit mode add mods in the respective files inside mods folder and after that when view is still inside mods folder you can use defragment option (thats what its made for)
 
EDIT: I'm done now, if anyone else has willpower to continue explaining things then be my guest, im tired of this



I guess the way you word it is confusing thanks for the help.

ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#52

Posted A week ago Edited by ACM-Jan, A week ago.

i can understand perfectly what im saying myself but since english ain't my first language nor i remeber anything form high school then i kinda mess up the grammar so to some i might talk chinese-english





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users