Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

My game crashes on first loading screen, any help?

51 replies to this topic
sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2017
  • United-States

#1

Posted 11 September 2017 - 06:14 PM

I was playing 2 days ago and the game worked fine, went back to play about 2 hours later and the game crashes on the first loading screen, all i did before that was put new skins on my police 1 2 and 3 cars. With hours of trial and error I realized taking out scripthook v my game works fine, but i need script hook because lspdfr is the reason i play the game. Any help with this issue? much appreciated.

 


ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#2

Posted 12 September 2017 - 04:43 PM

LSPDFR is so old mod, new update may have made game files incompatible with the mod, try contacting the creator


sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2017
  • United-States

#3

Posted 12 September 2017 - 04:50 PM Edited by sheepdog6024, 12 September 2017 - 05:03 PM.

LSPDFR is so old mod, new update may have made game files incompatible with the mod, try contacting the creator

last update was june 10th, started playing around 7/30.

 

UPDATE- Did some trial and error and found out that dinput8.dll is crashing my game, scripthook V works fine dinput8 does not. I have the most updated one installed.


ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#4

Posted 12 September 2017 - 07:03 PM Edited by ACM-Jan, 12 September 2017 - 07:03 PM.

where do people get those wild errors, i download the newest scripthook pack and have all mods back in order once i install it


sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2017
  • United-States

#5

Posted 12 September 2017 - 07:23 PM

where do people get those wild errors, i download the newest scripthook pack and have all mods back in order once i install it


I have no clue I was playing this past Saturday and everything was fine, I go back to play like 2 hours later and it crashes on the first loading screen. Any idea how to fix dinput8.dll?

ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#6

Posted 12 September 2017 - 11:04 PM Edited by ACM-Jan, 12 September 2017 - 11:07 PM.

mods may crash even mid game for smaller things ( for instance zombie mod crashes if you switch to other protagonist while having loaded saved vehicles for other one)

Anyway list your asi and script mods, dinput only allows them to work and you porbably have broken mod or few of them not getting along (codes contradict eachother) and before knowing what you have installed can't say anything more.


sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2017
  • United-States

#7

Posted 12 September 2017 - 11:22 PM

mods may crash even mid game for smaller things ( for instance zombie mod crashes if you switch to other protagonist while having loaded saved vehicles for other one)
Anyway list your asi and script mods, dinput only allows them to work and you porbably have broken mod or few of them not getting along (codes contradict eachother) and before knowing what you have installed can't say anything more.


I'll have to add all that in later but how could that happen when all I did was change a few skins before it started crashing? Plus I changed the skins back and it still crashes .

ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#8

Posted 12 September 2017 - 11:49 PM

maybe you did not press in open IV file>defragment and then bottom right defragment button (new way to call rebuild archive) then press edit mode again and dont edit files in original location use the "copy to mods folder" option and edit the files there and repeat the "defragment" then press edit mode once and close it


sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2017
  • United-States

#9

Posted 12 September 2017 - 11:54 PM

maybe you did not press in open IV file>defragment and then bottom right defragment button (new way to call rebuild archive) then press edit mode again and dont edit files in original location use the "copy to mods folder" option and edit the files there and repeat the "defragment" then press edit mode once and close it


I have no clue what that is so that may be the solution, I will have to try that later on, thanks and will update

ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#10

Posted 13 September 2017 - 12:08 AM Edited by ACM-Jan, 13 September 2017 - 12:09 AM.

i always use defragment menu option to rebuild files and mods never have unexpected bugs like not loading or crashing and i always copy the file im modding into "mods" folder (thats right click option in open IV) then if you mess up game starts and instead of crashing broken mod simply is ignored


sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2017
  • United-States

#11

Posted 13 September 2017 - 12:36 AM

i always use defragment menu option to rebuild files and mods never have unexpected bugs like not loading or crashing and i always copy the file im modding into "mods" folder (thats right click option in open IV) then if you mess up game starts and instead of crashing broken mod simply is ignored

.

I never heard of this, if this doesn't work then I'm going to have to delete all my mods and start over because I removed each plug in one by one and tried playing , crashed every time

ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#12

Posted 13 September 2017 - 01:25 AM Edited by ACM-Jan, 13 September 2017 - 01:30 AM.

simply moving files dont help, upper left corner of open IV click "file" and choose defragment and every mod should be properly put into place for game to load properly BUT do not modify game files in main directory, right click on the file in list and "copy to mods folder" is required as well before ANY changes to files (which will be done in the mods folder), game must not crash without even loading out any menus to click and loading in to game, after you in control of character should be any normal mod related crashes.

BTW openIV contains settings to prevent editing game files in main directory and open editor mode up and running right in the mods folder by default and also you must click to install all 3 asi things shown you when opening edit mode.


sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2017
  • United-States

#13

Posted 13 September 2017 - 01:54 AM

simply moving files dont help, upper left corner of open IV click "file" and choose defragment and every mod should be properly put into place for game to load properly BUT do not modify game files in main directory, right click on the file in list and "copy to mods folder" is required as well before ANY changes to files (which will be done in the mods folder), game must not crash without even loading out any menus to click and loading in to game, after you in control of character should be any normal mod related crashes.
BTW openIV contains settings to prevent editing game files in main directory and open editor mode up and running right in the mods folder by default and also you must click to install all 3 asi things shown you when opening edit mode.


Even the camera?

sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2017
  • United-States

#14

Posted 13 September 2017 - 03:49 AM Edited by sheepdog6024, 13 September 2017 - 03:52 AM.

So I went into open iv and did the defragment on the mods folder, now what?

simply moving files dont help, upper left corner of open IV click "file" and choose defragment and every mod should be properly put into place for game to load properly BUT do not modify game files in main directory, right click on the file in list and "copy to mods folder" is required as well before ANY changes to files (which will be done in the mods folder), game must not crash without even loading out any menus to click and loading in to game, after you in control of character should be any normal mod related crashes.
BTW openIV contains settings to prevent editing game files in main directory and open editor mode up and running right in the mods folder by default and also you must click to install all 3 asi things shown you when opening edit mode.

So I went into open iv and did the defragment on the mods folder, tried and game still crashed. Now defragmenting the whole GTA 5 main directory, couldn't really understand what you were telling me

sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2017
  • United-States

#15

Posted 13 September 2017 - 08:46 AM

simply moving files dont help, upper left corner of open IV click "file" and choose defragment and every mod should be properly put into place for game to load properly BUT do not modify game files in main directory, right click on the file in list and "copy to mods folder" is required as well before ANY changes to files (which will be done in the mods folder), game must not crash without even loading out any menus to click and loading in to game, after you in control of character should be any normal mod related crashes.
BTW openIV contains settings to prevent editing game files in main directory and open editor mode up and running right in the mods folder by default and also you must click to install all 3 asi things shown you when opening edit mode.


Ok so I'm going to need you to kinda give me step by step instructions on what to do because I defragmented both my mods folder and the whole gta 5 directory and it crashed still after both times, couldn't really understand what you were talking about after defragmenting the folders. Thanks.

ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#16

Posted 13 September 2017 - 12:41 PM Edited by ACM-Jan, 13 September 2017 - 12:48 PM.

 *facepalm*

#1 reinstall the game and add all asi files prompted by Open IV while in edit mode

#2 using the open IV right click and press "copy to mods folder" on unmodded files in list where you plan installing mods

#3 in the "mods" folder you start adding the mods into files

#4 In the "mods" folder you use "defragment" function and press edit mode upper right once more and close open IV.

That should make everything ok.


sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2017
  • United-States

#17

Posted 13 September 2017 - 12:50 PM

 *facepalm*
#1 reinstall the game and add all asi files prompted by Open IV while in edit mode
#2 using the open IV right click and press "copy to mods folder" on unmodded files in list where you plan installing mods
#3 in the "mods" folder you start adding the mods into files
#4 In the "mods" folder you use "defragment" function and press edit mode upper right once more and close open IV.
That should make everything ok.


There's no way to fix this without re downloading everything?

ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#18

Posted 13 September 2017 - 12:53 PM Edited by ACM-Jan, 13 September 2017 - 12:57 PM.

Don't you back up the game files?

BTW using mods folder for all files replacing mods will avoid all the trouble of back up as well.

OpenIV.asi is the thing that loads in the mods from mods folder and that contains the copied game files with mods inserted (OpenIV.asi comes in if you go to edit mode and accept to install prompted asi files shown on blue bar)

After having openIV.asi and mods folder you can simply move them into differently named folder to deactivate mods.


sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2017
  • United-States

#19

Posted 13 September 2017 - 12:57 PM

Don't you back up the game files?
BTW using mods folder for all files replacing mods will avoid all the trouble of back up as well.
OpenIV.asi is the thing that loads in the mods from mods folder and that contains the copied game files with mods inserted (OpenIV.asi comes in if you go to edit mode and accept to install prompted asi files shown on blue bar)


I don't have a back up, only back ups I have are my modded games

ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#20

Posted 13 September 2017 - 12:59 PM Edited by ACM-Jan, 13 September 2017 - 12:59 PM.

if your modded game back up works use that but it's safer to reinstall and back up the clean game or use only the mods folder solution provided by openIV


sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2017
  • United-States

#21

Posted 13 September 2017 - 01:01 PM

if your modded game back up works use that but it's safer to reinstall and back up the clean game or use only the mods folder solution provided by openIV


What "only mods folder solution provided by openIV"?

ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#22

Posted 13 September 2017 - 01:05 PM

didnt you pay attention at all what i wrote in previous posts?

in the OpenIV you go to edit mode and if you right click on files that contain game data you can see "copy to mods folder" option and at the same time edit mode also displays blue bar on upper side which lets you install required ASI mods with one click


sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2017
  • United-States

#23

Posted 13 September 2017 - 01:08 PM

if your modded game back up works use that but it's safer to reinstall and back up the clean game or use only the mods folder solution provided by openIV


I don't think I could do a clean install because some script mods I have won't let me delete them because a while back my friend helped me install all this this over teamviewer and a couple scripts like traffic policer I can't delete it says that I need an admin or something like that to delete it. I'm an admin on my computer but it won't let me delete it.

didnt you pay attention at all what i wrote in previous posts?
in the OpenIV you go to edit mode and if you right click on files that contain game data you can see "copy to mods folder" option and at the same time edit mode also displays blue bar on upper side which lets you install required ASI mods with one click


Yes I have I just have no clue what your talking about because when I go to open iv and right click on any folder nothing comes up with "copy to mods folder"

ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#24

Posted 13 September 2017 - 01:09 PM

sounds like pc is having the typical "permissions" issue, refer to this guide


sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2017
  • United-States

#25

Posted 13 September 2017 - 01:10 PM

sounds like pc is having the typical "permissions" issue, refer to this guide


I'll take care of that if I need to delete all of it, but as per this "copy to mods folder" what files am I right clicking on? Because I don't see any folder that prompts me to do that when I right click it

ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#26

Posted 13 September 2017 - 01:12 PM Edited by ACM-Jan, 13 September 2017 - 01:12 PM.

this copy to mods folder option is inside the OpenIV editor mode view you also may need to install required asi files by clicking blue bar in the top


sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2017
  • United-States

#27

Posted 13 September 2017 - 01:14 PM

this copy to mods folder option is inside the OpenIV editor mode view you also may need to install required asi files by clicking blue bar in the top


All 3 asi files are downloaded, nothing under the "view" tab says copy to mods folder.

ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#28

Posted 13 September 2017 - 01:30 PM Edited by ACM-Jan, 13 September 2017 - 01:30 PM.

3 simple images showing what to do after you got your clean game running and open IV pointed to it:

QAhZYO8.jpg

BEKEkRr.jpg

x8ipHhh.jpg


sheepdog6024
  • sheepdog6024

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2017
  • United-States

#29

Posted 13 September 2017 - 01:31 PM Edited by sheepdog6024, 13 September 2017 - 01:34 PM.

3 simple images showing what to do after you got your clean game running and open IV pointed to it:
QAhZYO8.jpg
BEKEkRr.jpg
x8ipHhh.jpg

Ok I see it now for the files under Rage package file
Now do I copy all of those "x64.rpf files to mods folder?

ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#30

Posted 13 September 2017 - 01:35 PM

and use that always for mods that need to replace something in package file then no game file gets ruined by modding and all the backups are in main game directory.

But first you have to delete the previous stuff and redownload the game.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users