My system: 

Processor: Intel i7-6800k @ 3.4 ghz

Ram: 16 gb

Direct X version: 12

GPU(s): SLI Geforce GTX 1080's

Total vRAM: 16 gb

Display: 1920 x 1080 60 ghz refresh rate

Game type: Physical- 7 disk installation method

I am having an issue where GTA V is registering my sli gpu's, but it is NOT making any increase in the fps or the performance of the game. When I log in and go to the settings, It says I have 16 total gb of video ram, however, as I've stated, no increase in fps at all. Is there anything I can do to fix this problem?

HalfOfAKebab
  • HalfOfAKebab

Help & Support

• Members
  • United-Kingdom
  • Helpfulness Award [GTAO]

Posted A week ago

I'm not experienced with SLI, but I'll spitball a bit here.

Well, firstly, the game shouldn't be saying you have 16 GB of VRAM. SLI does not double the amount of VRAM you have, it stays the same. This is because the memory is mirrored between your cards, otherwise one card will have to spent a long time getting data from memory stored on the other card, which would result in performance loss. Mirroring VRAM between cards solves this problem. You still have 8 GB of VRAM.

Anyway, try deleting the following files:

"%USERPROFILE%\Documents\Rockstar Games\GTA V\settings.xml"
"%USERPROFILE%\Documents\Rockstar Games\GTA V\Profiles\????????\control\user.xml"
"%USERPROFILE%\Documents\Rockstar Games\GTA V\Profiles\????????\cfg.dat"

"%USERPROFILE%\Documents\Rockstar Games\GTA V\Profiles\????????\pc_settings.bin"

Make a backup of them before deleting them, just in case you do something wrong or it breaks something somehow.

Secondly, check the Nvidia control panel and make sure you're not using any weird settings that might cause issues with it. Also make sure SLI is actually enabled.

Does it work fine with other games?

xXRoseLinkXx
  • xXRoseLinkXx

Player Hater

• Members
  • United-States

Posted A week ago

I'm not experienced with SLI, but I'll spitball a bit here.