Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA1 Download

104 replies to this topic
BenMillard
  • BenMillard

    aka Cerbera

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2002
  • None

#1

Posted 22 March 2003 - 05:41 PM Edited by Sektor, 21 July 2009 - 11:45 AM.

DOWNLOAD PROBLEMS:
The official site for downloading GTA1 is the Official R* Site. You have to fill out a form (only real info you need to put are age and email address). They will then email you the link to download it.

EXTRACTION PROBLEM:
If your PC seems to freeze when extracting or installing the zip, simply go make a drink, watch some TV and check back every few minutes. It's just a very, very long procedure to unzip 350MB!

NET GAME GOES TOTALLY DIFFERENT FOR EACH PLAYER:
This is a known problem when using different operating systems for multiplayer games. The symptoms are that you will see your opponent running around randomly, with no real aim at all. They will see you doing the same thing - this is due to a synchronization failure, where the players end up playing ghosts. The only way around it is to use the same version of Windows as your opponent.

CAN'T CONNECT TO IP FOR NET GAME:
GTA1 does not work from behind hardware firewalls, routers or some other types of LAN. You can try to bypass the router or hardware firewall and connect your PC directly or open ports on your router. If you really can be bothered, that is.

OPTIMISATIONS (GAME RUNS TOO SLOW)
Q: Is there anything I can do to speed up singleplayer in the Windows GTA1?
A: Click start button > run > dxdiag > sound > change sound acceleration to basic or none. Remember to change it back for other games. Push F8 to turn the frame rate limiter on or off. Push F11 to change resolution.

Feel free to post your own optimisations, any problems you are having and any solutions.

BenMillard
  • BenMillard

    aka Cerbera

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2002
  • None

#2

Posted 23 March 2003 - 12:48 PM

Playing the new version of GTA1 requires you to play against people with the same operating system as you!

You will need a pretty good connection as well, 56k tends to make for a game which runs like a slide show. Being only a short distance from the person you are playing helps A LOT as it lowers trip times, making the game update faster and therefore be smoother.

I have played Illspirit and Tank to test the game in Deathmatch and Cannonball Run (just as street race) versions:

Deathmatch with Illspirit:


Cannonball Run against Tank:



Post the results of your own games here. If you want to get in contact with other GTA1 players, then check the "CONTACT DETAILS" thread pinned along with this one. :)


Star Kai
  • Star Kai

    One Winged Angel

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 20 Mar 2003

#3

Posted 25 March 2003 - 05:09 AM

wow i never thought anyone else uses multi-player cool could i have a match with you becouse im desperate and when we are both on gta forums pm me or ill play with someone else who wants to challenge me? :D

star kai

edit:im going to look at contact details now :D


00-972-Nuclear
  • 00-972-Nuclear

    "I drink too much wine, therefore I have to piss"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 08 Sep 2002

#4

Posted 25 March 2003 - 06:05 PM

It seems that either many, many people want GTA1, or that Rockstar made a limit of one download at a time, because me and some other members tried to download it for a long time now, and it's always impossible because of the traffic limiter.

The point is, I'm sure that someone on these forums had download it, has no viruses, and willing to share. If a guy like these sees this post, PLEASE SHARE!!! :*(

BenMillard
  • BenMillard

    aka Cerbera

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2002
  • None

#5

Posted 25 March 2003 - 07:53 PM

I've updated the post with the alternative download site, although it IS covered in the other pinned topics. :/

Anyone found any more optimisations?  I've added that for net play to work you have to be connecting to the same operating system. :)

98766654321
  • 98766654321

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Oct 2002

#6

Posted 25 March 2003 - 08:07 PM

Quote (Cerbera @ Mar. 22 2003,10:41)
The download took my 128K broadband around 6 hours to get through.

you are kidding right?
it took me 7 and a half minutes to download from HERE!
using my cable internet.
but you have to register an account to downlod it.

Ice_cobra
  • Ice_cobra

    --.::-Subliminally-::. -- .::-Insane-::.

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2002

#7

Posted 27 March 2003 - 03:54 AM

Did you use a webcam or something to take those pics or is there an in game option that lets you take screenshots?

newrad
  • newrad

    |         V V WTF???

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Jun 2002

#8

Posted 27 March 2003 - 04:25 AM

Quote (Ice_cobra @ Mar. 26 2003,21:54)
Did you use a webcam or something to take those pics or is there an in game option that lets you take screenshots?

you can use use print screen then paste into image editing prgram, or use an image capture program

dizzy_gopher
  • dizzy_gopher

    GONE.

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 May 2002

#9

Posted 29 March 2003 - 06:13 AM

Yeah, I tried to play Dakin today, but .2 seconds after I got connected, my PC reset. Any suggestions?

:xmas:

BenMillard
  • BenMillard

    aka Cerbera

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2002
  • None

#10

Posted 30 March 2003 - 07:26 PM

My PC resets because of GTA1 sometimes.  I think it's a driver conflict, but I've got no idea what/how/where to use/find how to fix it.  :bored:

gta_king
  • gta_king

    JCM

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jun 2002

#11

Posted 30 March 2003 - 08:29 PM

Ok before i download this version on my poor 56K Modem i need to know a few things.

Can you Edit the Cars in this Version?
Can you Edit the Maps in this Version?

And if i want to play Online with anyone using this version can i use the original or do i HAVE to have this version?

BroDan
  • BroDan

    Jesus Saves!

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2001

#12

Posted 05 April 2003 - 09:09 AM

Same OS sucks, im running win2000 pro, anyone out there running it lol, otherwise no play for me  :(

LAPD_Snake
  • LAPD_Snake

    Former LFM Member

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2002

#13

Posted 05 April 2003 - 01:00 PM

Yeah, I use Windows ME and it doesn't seem that too many other people use it. Honestly, I can see why, since it flatout sucks.

scowy
  • scowy

    Bolton, UK

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2003

#14

Posted 06 April 2003 - 06:42 PM

i dont think it has to be EXACTLY the same OS
i.e. winXP and win2000 users will be able to play together, im sure
and win98 and ME users will be able to play together

Sutto
  • Sutto

    Mack Pimp

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Apr 2003

#15

Posted 26 April 2003 - 03:32 PM

Any one with 98SE wanna vs. me?
Email me at [email protected]

Sutto
  • Sutto

    Mack Pimp

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Apr 2003

#16

Posted 26 April 2003 - 03:52 PM

Whats the differnce with the new version?

BenMillard
  • BenMillard

    aka Cerbera

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2002
  • None

#17

Posted 18 May 2003 - 04:38 PM

I tested my "Cerbera2" city in the new version of GTA1 and it ran totally fine. :)
The net games will probably only run new-new or old-old, can't link between different versions.  I think. :dozing:

mansellkarl
  • mansellkarl

    << MLL >>

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Mar 2003

#18

Posted 30 October 2003 - 02:51 PM

Any xp users wanna game, ill play

[email protected]

Sillyhed2000
  • Sillyhed2000

    Every time you try to small-talk me on MSN I will kill a puppy.

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2003

#19

Posted 24 December 2003 - 10:29 AM

The pic of the bar I'm meant to slide down to fix the low frame rate is not working. Could someone tell me or show a working pic?

Demarest
  • Demarest

    what could be

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2003

#20

Posted 24 December 2003 - 05:18 PM

On the sound tab was the only slider bar I found. Turning it down to where Cerbera said worked great. Weird...

Sillyhed2000
  • Sillyhed2000

    Every time you try to small-talk me on MSN I will kill a puppy.

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2003

#21

Posted 25 December 2003 - 10:29 PM

Nice! It worked... but I never would've thought it was the sound that was messing things up confused.gif

Sillyhed2000
  • Sillyhed2000

    Every time you try to small-talk me on MSN I will kill a puppy.

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2003

#22

Posted 30 December 2003 - 07:08 AM

I know this is old, but it's pinned so what the hell.

Just wanna say that today I played three 1vs1 multiplayer games with my friend... and they were so damn fun. Really, I expected it to be a fun distraction for ten minutes, but nothing more... we were playing for like 45 minutes straight!

Anyone who hasn't played multiplayer... do so now!

Skyline787
  • Skyline787

    $(Y1|\|& 787

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jan 2004

#23

Posted 18 January 2004 - 02:23 AM

I just downloaded this and tryed to run GTA Settings, and it came up with :

A required .DLL file, DINPUT8.DLL, WAS NOT FOUND


Pls Help ASAP!

Sillyhed2000
  • Sillyhed2000

    Every time you try to small-talk me on MSN I will kill a puppy.

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2003

#24

Posted 18 January 2004 - 08:07 AM

If a program is missing a DLL file, just google for the DLL file. There's a million .DLL downloading sites out there. Me, being the kind caring person that I am, got a link for you.

http://www.useyourbr...les/dinput8.zip

Although that's strange, as I have no dll file of that name in my GTA folder nor any of its subfolders... and it works perfectly.

Except for the radio stations, which the game plays about two seconds off and then blasts my ears off with 'fuzz' noises if you know what I mean. Anyone who has a solution is welcome to tell wink.gif

BenMillard
  • BenMillard

    aka Cerbera

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2002
  • None

#25

Posted 19 January 2004 - 10:45 AM

QUOTE (Sillyhed2000 @ Jan 18 2004, 08:07)
If a program is missing a DLL file, just google for the DLL file. There's a million .DLL downloading sites out there. Me, being the kind caring person that I am, got a link for you.

http://www.useyourbr...les/dinput8.zip

Although that's strange, as I have no dll file of that name in my GTA folder nor any of its subfolders... and it works perfectly.

Except for the radio stations, which the game plays about two seconds off and then blasts my ears off with 'fuzz' noises if you know what I mean. Anyone who has a solution is welcome to tell wink.gif

I know what you mean by the "fuzz" noise. It's either caused by GTA not being able to detect the settings of your sound card correctly or, if you have the original CD version, a problem with the disk normally because of scratches or dirt. smile.gif

Sillyhed2000
  • Sillyhed2000

    Every time you try to small-talk me on MSN I will kill a puppy.

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2003

#26

Posted 20 January 2004 - 06:14 AM

I've got the free version; how can I fix it not being able to detect the soundcard settings? There's no audio options in the settings exe...

crazybee
  • crazybee

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jan 2004

#27

Posted 20 January 2004 - 09:26 PM

Heh... I run Windows Server 2003 Enterprise ...
It's NT5.2 and since WinXP and Win2k is 5.1 and 5.0 i should at least be able to play with WinXP users i think ..

But i dont got my GTA1 disc home at the moment..
Too bad .. wanted to play smile.gif

Skyline787
  • Skyline787

    $(Y1|\|& 787

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jan 2004

#28

Posted 20 January 2004 - 10:44 PM

That DINPUT8. DLL file was in the GTA settings, i need help w/ that. I tried reinstalling it 3 times already

Sillyhed2000
  • Sillyhed2000

    Every time you try to small-talk me on MSN I will kill a puppy.

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2003

#29

Posted 21 January 2004 - 02:07 AM

Skyline, could you give a bit more info? Such as where you stuck the dll file etc? And what error message it gives you?

Skyline787
  • Skyline787

    $(Y1|\|& 787

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jan 2004

#30

Posted 21 January 2004 - 02:29 AM

Im not a computer person, so how do I put it in the gta settings?


! A required .DLL file, DINPUT8, was not found







1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users