Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Suttering only on GTA IV

Best Answer MrEWhite, 4 weeks ago

Seemed to fix itself after a Windows update.

Fun times.

Go to the full post


9 replies to this topic
MrEWhite
  • MrEWhite

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Feb 2014
  • United-States

#1

Posted 04 September 2017 - 08:43 PM Edited by MrEWhite, 04 September 2017 - 08:54 PM.

I'm having an issue with GTA IV. Basically, the game stutters like hell with the mouse cursor skipping, and this occurs only if I don't turn the Steam FPS counter on, but if I have it on it works fine. The issue still persists if I disabled the Steam overlay.

 

Also, this problem doesn't occur EFLC, which runs perfectly at max settings 60 FPS.

 

Here is an example of the issue. As you see, when I get a message on Steam or anything involving the Steam overlay occurs, the stuttering stops.

 

Here are my specs:

 
GPU: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 Hybrid
 
CPU: i7 7700k @ 4.8 GHz
 
CPU Cooling: EVGA CLC 280
 
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 3TB 7200RPM <--- Installed on this
 
SSD: Samsung 960 EVO 512GB NVMe M.2 
 
MB: Asus Maximus VI Code
 
RAM: 16GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 16GB @ 3600 MHz
 
PSU: EVGA Supernova 1000 P2

ViceBoy69
  • ViceBoy69

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2014
  • United-Kingdom

#2

Posted 05 September 2017 - 10:59 AM

sound like a steam issue, gta4 does have glitching and slow down issues but what you describe sounds like steam rather than gta4


MrEWhite
  • MrEWhite

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Feb 2014
  • United-States

#3

Posted 05 September 2017 - 08:49 PM

sound like a steam issue, gta4 does have glitching and slow down issues but what you describe sounds like steam rather than gta4

If it was a Steam issue, I'm pretty sure disabling the Steam overlay would fix it.


MrEWhite
  • MrEWhite

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Feb 2014
  • United-States

#4

Posted 06 September 2017 - 07:20 PM Edited by MrEWhite, 06 September 2017 - 07:38 PM.

 

sound like a steam issue, gta4 does have glitching and slow down issues but what you describe sounds like steam rather than gta4

If it was a Steam issue, I'm pretty sure disabling the Steam overlay would fix it.

 

In addition to this, completely closing Steam and launching GTA IV still has the issue.

 

This also does not occur on version 1.0.7.0.


Gunnalingus
  • Gunnalingus

    Playa

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2009
  • None

#5

Posted 06 September 2017 - 10:25 PM

Boo f*cking hoo! With a setup like this - why should I even feel sorry for you?! 16gb OF ram - c'mon man! I imagine 20fps to you is a catastrophe while most of us are happy with 15 fps.


MrEWhite
  • MrEWhite

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Feb 2014
  • United-States

#6

Posted 06 September 2017 - 10:37 PM

Boo f*cking hoo! With a setup like this - why should I even feel sorry for you?! 16gb OF ram - c'mon man! I imagine 20fps to you is a catastrophe while most of us are happy with 15 fps.


This makes it impossible to aim but okay.

HigorSM
  • HigorSM

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Oct 2016
  • Brazil

#7

Posted 06 September 2017 - 11:07 PM Edited by HigorSm, 06 September 2017 - 11:12 PM.

The problem still happens with v-sync on/off? the game has some problems with FPS, maybe this is one of these problems.


MrEWhite
  • MrEWhite

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Feb 2014
  • United-States

#8

Posted 06 September 2017 - 11:59 PM

The problem still happens with v-sync on/off? the game has some problems with FPS, maybe this is one of these problems.

It does in fact occur after doing this, even in the menu. But as mentioned, strangely not EFLC.

ViceBoy69
  • ViceBoy69

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2014
  • United-Kingdom

#9

Posted 12 September 2017 - 09:19 AM

It could actually be your setup thats overkill for the game, your computers trying to run the game better than was intended

  • StormBreaker likes this

MrEWhite
  • MrEWhite

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Feb 2014
  • United-States

#10

Posted 4 weeks ago   Best Answer

Seemed to fix itself after a Windows update.

Fun times.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users