Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA SA savegame error

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked

Best Answer Kunal96, 17 August 2017 - 09:26 AM

I FIGURED IT OUT :)))). It turns out my antivirus (Bitdefender 2018) was blocking gta_sa.exe from modifying files in my documents. A quick permission change in Bitdefender fixed the problem. Appreciate your help OrionSR.

Go to the full post


5 replies to this topic
Kunal96
  • Kunal96

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Aug 2017
  • None

#1

Posted 16 August 2017 - 10:28 PM

Hi,
So i installed gta san andreas on my windows 10 pc i done the first mission. When i walked into the disk in cj's house and try to save it comes up with an error saying save game failed. I have checked user files in my documents and there are no files in there other than user tracks and gallery. I believe there should be a file in there called gta_sa.set but thats not there.

I researched online about where else i can find this file on my pc, some said do a search for it from start menu, i tried that and no luck, i spent about 20 mins looking for this 1 file and re installed the game about 10 times in total and yet still no luck

I have 3 drives in my computer (2 ssds and 1 hdd) each time i reinstalled the game i installed it on different drives to see if that would work but it didnt.

Could someone pls help me out

Useful notes:
-My pc runs windows 10
-The install is from the cd, not steam
-I tried compatability settings for gta_sa.exe ( no luck)

THANKS!!

OrionSR
  • OrionSR

    Chain Game Development Team

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 23 May 2007
  • None
  • Helpfulness Award [GTA & Modding]

#2

Posted 17 August 2017 - 12:27 AM

This sounds like a permissions error rather than the usual issue where SA loses track of it's user folder. Have you tried running SA in Admin mode? Or, installing using Admin mode, maybe? Or tweaking the permissions of SA's user files folder?


Kunal96
  • Kunal96

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Aug 2017
  • None

#3

Posted 17 August 2017 - 07:35 AM

I have ran it in admin mode multiple times and also installed in admin mode, however i have not tweaked permissions, how would i do that?

OrionSR
  • OrionSR

    Chain Game Development Team

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 23 May 2007
  • None
  • Helpfulness Award [GTA & Modding]

#4

Posted 17 August 2017 - 07:59 AM Edited by OrionSR, 17 August 2017 - 08:00 AM.

I'm not exactly sure if this will work, and there are security risks I'm not prepared to evaluate. I'm also not as familiar with Window's permissions as I like to be, but maybe something like...

 

Right click on the folder and select Properties, Security, Edit, Add, Advanced, Find Now, Everyone... OK, and I'm not really sure because my files work fine and I don't want to mess it up. I have three Groups/User Names on my list. SYSTEM, (my username), and Administrators.


Kunal96
  • Kunal96

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Aug 2017
  • None

#5

Posted 17 August 2017 - 08:52 AM Edited by Kunal96, 17 August 2017 - 08:55 AM.

Tried that, but still no luck, so i will be removing "everyone" for security reasons, thanks though. Are you on windows 10, if so could you please tell me your setup (as in permissions, where you have installed your game. i.e which drive and also where your gta SA user files are.

 

Thanks 


Kunal96
  • Kunal96

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Aug 2017
  • None

#6

Posted 17 August 2017 - 09:26 AM   Best Answer

I FIGURED IT OUT :)))). It turns out my antivirus (Bitdefender 2018) was blocking gta_sa.exe from modifying files in my documents. A quick permission change in Bitdefender fixed the problem. Appreciate your help OrionSR.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users