Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Better Skybox

SA WIP
77 replies to this topic
guru_guru
  • guru_guru

    pajaro culiao

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2017
  • Chile

#31

Posted 07 September 2017 - 05:08 AM Edited by guru_guru, 07 September 2017 - 07:13 AM.

I've fixed!

 

Bug fix and improvement: I've added the skies models without replacing and then was fixed this ped issue. I can't explain how........

Download bellow also includes fixed .txd files (DXT5):

 

https://drive.google...V9EZl83VWc/view

 

Check now the mod files, I've added some explanations and it's recommended to use Open Limit Adjuster (or configure fastman92 limit adjuster to add new col files); Updated post on MixMods.

 

Now the mod is almost perfect :)

Lol thanks senpai :lol: ,you should have asked for source code anyways (it's a mess,but at least its better than edit a low-level code).

 

I added the remaining skies and source code so may want to edit your post on MixMods

 

It would be perfect to exploit this to avoid stuff like this

 

 

IMO, you should lower the number of stars in city area, it looks weird that ls has Soo much stars at night because the city has so much lights, therefore so much stars doesn't look real... Areas having no light such as country side with stars at night is ok...

Can you add rainbow in SA???
The default one is sh*t, hope you will remade it..

Only suggestion!

 

Yeah,I was thinking the same thing about the stars too ,but I'm to lazy to edit the textures by hand,I only removed the bloomy effect of the stars on cities.

Anyways,feel free to edit them by yourself and if you do,post them here ;)

 

 

About the rainbows ,no cuz they gay, yeah that sounds cool,I may add it if I had a texture for it...

  • kkjj likes this

kkjj
  • kkjj

    The ORIGINAL GTA SAN ANDREAS PLAYER..

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jul 2016
  • None

#32

Posted 07 September 2017 - 08:05 AM

I will do..

Gramps
  • Gramps

    ★★★★★

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 23 May 2008
  • New-Zealand
  • Helpfulness Award
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#33

Posted 09 September 2017 - 07:10 AM Edited by Gramps, 09 September 2017 - 07:34 AM.

So if its not dependent on P2DFX anymore, what controls the distance?
I managed to get a quick test in, and noticed clouds/stars appearing in front of buildings
Also, are the default SA clouds still rendered?
 
e392e5594932223.jpg 5bdf7f594932383.jpg c6ba0e594932543.jpg

On the third screenshot you can see the two stars that are going through the tower in the background.
Ignore the corona going through CJ, I think thats a bug from a different mod.
  • guru_guru and Delatom like this

guru_guru
  • guru_guru

    pajaro culiao

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2017
  • Chile

#34

Posted 09 September 2017 - 05:57 PM

I found some addresses that stores current draw distance,so it's controlled by the game, a mix between current timecyc Farclp and player z position.

About the clouds going through the buildings,I am almost sure that can be fixed tweaking the ide flags. I'll look into it today.

I haven't touch default clouds.
  • Gramps likes this

XaosOfficial
  • XaosOfficial

    V.I.P

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Apr 2017
  • Poland

#35

Posted 10 September 2017 - 03:24 PM Edited by XaosOfficial, 10 September 2017 - 03:52 PM.

Beautiful modification!  :lol:

  • guru_guru likes this

Gramps
  • Gramps

    ★★★★★

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 23 May 2008
  • New-Zealand
  • Helpfulness Award
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#36

Posted 10 September 2017 - 10:45 PM

About the clouds going through the buildings,I am almost sure that can be fixed tweaking the ide flags. I'll look into it today.

Unsure if this would work. I think they're already set to 9999.
  • guru_guru likes this

guru_guru
  • guru_guru

    pajaro culiao

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2017
  • Chile

#37

Posted 11 September 2017 - 03:59 AM

About the clouds going through the buildings,I am almost sure that can be fixed tweaking the ide flags. I'll look into it today.

Unsure if this would work. I think they're already set to 9999.
nope, that's object draw distance. Flags are represented with the last value.
Some objects on SA gets rendered like this (http://i.imgur.com/oUdnv2o.png) and I'm almost sure that happens because wrong flags are set

Junior_Djjr
  • Junior_Djjr

    Modding Lover

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Dec 2011
  • Brazil
  • Best Map 2016 [San Andreas INSANITY] [Contribution]

#38

Posted 11 September 2017 - 08:29 AM Edited by Junior_Djjr, 11 September 2017 - 08:53 AM.

It's viable to disable SA default clouds?
It didn't bother me much, but I think it would be good. As so SA default clouds drops FPS and are ugly.
 
From Mix Sets:
 
// Disable low clouds
0A8C: write_memory 0x53E121 size 5 value 0x90 vp 1
 
// Disable volumetric clouds (high clouds when you're flying)
0A8C: write_memory 0x53E1B4 size 5 value 0x90 vp 1
And to disable stars (AND MOON, I'm lazy to disable just stars and not moon. Re-put moon manually by corona is easy btw, but not too recommended)
// Disable sky stuff
0A8C: write_memory 0x53DCA2 size 5 value 0x90 vp 1 
0A8C: write_memory 0x53DFA0 size 5 value 0x90 vp 1
0A8C: write_memory 0x53E121 size 5 value 0x90 vp 1
 
If there was any way for a object to always be drawn after all objects (ignoring who is in front), your problem will be totally solved.
  • Gramps and guru_guru like this

guru_guru
  • guru_guru

    pajaro culiao

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2017
  • Chile

#39

Posted 11 September 2017 - 10:38 AM

It's viable to disable SA default clouds?
It didn't bother me much, but I think it would be good. As so SA default clouds drops FPS and are ugly.
 
From Mix Sets:
 

// Disable low clouds
0A8C: write_memory 0x53E121 size 5 value 0x90 vp 1
 
// Disable volumetric clouds (high clouds when you're flying)
0A8C: write_memory 0x53E1B4 size 5 value 0x90 vp 1
And to disable stars (AND MOON, I'm lazy to disable just stars and not moon. Re-put moon manually by corona is easy btw, but not too recommended)
// Disable sky stuff
0A8C: write_memory 0x53DCA2 size 5 value 0x90 vp 1 
0A8C: write_memory 0x53DFA0 size 5 value 0x90 vp 1
0A8C: write_memory 0x53E121 size 5 value 0x90 vp 1
 
If there was any way for a object to always be drawn after all objects (ignoring who is in front), your problem will be totally solved.

Thanks, I was about to add these functions too but the after decompiling Mix Sets it gave me some weirds values at those addresses (8 bytes values if I recall...) .Also ,5 bytes? I thought you could write 1,2 or 4 bytes.
  • Gramps likes this

Crspy
  • Crspy

    Kick

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 May 2015
  • None

#40

Posted 11 September 2017 - 02:11 PM Edited by Crspy, 11 September 2017 - 02:14 PM.

 

Thanks, I was about to add these functions too but the after decompiling Mix Sets it gave me some weirds values at those addresses (8 bytes values if I recall...) .Also ,5 bytes? I thought you could write 1,2 or 4 bytes.

 

 

Actually it acts like a memory filling function when you pass 1 Byte ( like 0x90 )  and the size is something higher than Dword , as you can see in the Default Case.  so if you did something like that >  0A8C: write_memory 0x53E121 size 8 value 0x90 vp 1

it will fill the memory with 0x9090909090909090
OpcodeResult __stdcall opcode_0A8C(CRunningScript *thread)
{
	GetScriptParams(thread, 4);	
	void *Address	= opcodeParams[0].pParam;
	DWORD size		= opcodeParams[1].dwParam;
	DWORD value		= opcodeParams[2].dwParam;
	bool vp			= opcodeParams[3].bParam;
	switch (size)
	{
	default:
		GetInstance().CodeInjector.MemoryWrite<BYTE>(Address, value, vp, size);
		break;
	case 2:
		GetInstance().CodeInjector.MemoryWrite<WORD>(Address, value, vp);
		break;
	case 4:
		GetInstance().CodeInjector.MemoryWrite<DWORD>(Address, value, vp);
		break;
	}
	return OR_CONTINUE;
}
  • guru_guru likes this

guru_guru
  • guru_guru

    pajaro culiao

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2017
  • Chile

#41

Posted 11 September 2017 - 03:22 PM

^^^
Oh cool, that may come in handy later

mione
  • mione

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 May 2015
  • Belgium

#42

Posted 14 September 2017 - 05:57 AM

Any reason why this doesn't work for me? I dragged everything in the modloader folder, modloader logs show that everything is being imported/injected but I still have vanilla clouds.

 

I'm using it on SA-MP, by the way.

  • guru_guru likes this

Gramps
  • Gramps

    ★★★★★

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 23 May 2008
  • New-Zealand
  • Helpfulness Award
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#43

Posted 14 September 2017 - 07:11 AM

Newopcodes?

mione
  • mione

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 May 2015
  • Belgium

#44

Posted 14 September 2017 - 07:15 AM Edited by mione, 14 September 2017 - 07:15 AM.

Using the one Junior_Djjr linked in his fix/update of this mod: https://drive.google...VZ4NjZJa1U/view

 

So that's not causing it.


guru_guru
  • guru_guru

    pajaro culiao

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2017
  • Chile

#45

Posted 14 September 2017 - 11:31 AM

Any reason why this doesn't work for me? I dragged everything in the modloader folder, modloader logs show that everything is being imported/injected but I still have vanilla clouds.
 
I'm using it on SA-MP, by the way.


I mostly did this for SP so idk.

Use ScrLog, search thread 'nube' and post its log here (inside a spoiler please)

But,AFAIK, previous versions worked fine with samp and that could be because I was using SA models instead of added models.You could try changing the IDs in the .ini (and ofcourse,change the filename of the skies accordingly)

MatthewFarrell
  • MatthewFarrell

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jul 2015
  • Russia

#46

Posted 14 September 2017 - 12:38 PM

Clouds in mirrors lel

7941ea32cc8f.png

  • Rachel Amber, guru_guru and Delatom like this

Gramps
  • Gramps

    ★★★★★

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 23 May 2008
  • New-Zealand
  • Helpfulness Award
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#47

Posted 14 September 2017 - 11:07 PM

If there was any way for a object to always be drawn after all objects (ignoring who is in front), your problem will be totally solved.

Onyx uses a skybox for his V2SAxIV2SA. Doesn't appear to have this bug? Maybe could ask him how he did it..

Junior_Djjr
  • Junior_Djjr

    Modding Lover

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Dec 2011
  • Brazil
  • Best Map 2016 [San Andreas INSANITY] [Contribution]

#48

Posted 15 September 2017 - 06:19 AM Edited by Junior_Djjr, 15 September 2017 - 06:22 AM.

↑ this can be "fixed" increasing draw distance (mainly fog distance). It isn't a real fix btw.
Maybe some more experienced guy can have a solution as I said above, apparently it is easily possible, but I don't know how.


@MatthewFarrell Damn, SkyBox need to be disabled at interiors :p
  • guru_guru likes this

guru_guru
  • guru_guru

    pajaro culiao

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2017
  • Chile

#49

Posted 15 September 2017 - 07:25 AM Edited by guru_guru, 15 September 2017 - 08:19 AM.

@MatthewFarrell

Ooops,the skyboxes weren't deleted inside interiors (so if you saved inside,I may have f*cked up your save,sorry for that)

Anyways,I fixed this with the new version.

 

 

On other news,maybe I should start using actual skyboxes (and probably change the name of this mod to Better Skydome too)  because from what I've seen, SA renders everything in a cube.

This could fix (or at least make it less noticeable) the clouds and stars going through buildings...

  • Rachel Amber and LaDiDa like this

Gramps
  • Gramps

    ★★★★★

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 23 May 2008
  • New-Zealand
  • Helpfulness Award
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#50

Posted 15 September 2017 - 08:10 AM Edited by Gramps, 15 September 2017 - 08:11 AM.

@Junior

Does MixMods also remove the same clouds as SkyGFX?

 

 

 

disableClouds=1         ; Disable the far clouds on the horizon. They're bugged on the PS2. (cannot be toggled at runtime)
Spoiler

Junior_Djjr
  • Junior_Djjr

    Modding Lover

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Dec 2011
  • Brazil
  • Best Map 2016 [San Andreas INSANITY] [Contribution]

#51

Posted 16 September 2017 - 02:57 PM Edited by Junior_Djjr, 16 September 2017 - 03:02 PM.

On other news,maybe I should start using actual skyboxes (and probably change the name of this mod to Better Skydome too)  because from what I've seen, SA renders everything in a cube.
This could fix (or at least make it less noticeable) the clouds and stars going through buildings...

But is not the object rotating for the rotating clouds?
1.png
And even profissional game developers call this "skybox" even if isn't a box. It's very common. As so generally isn't a dome but a sphere, and we never read people saying "skysphere".
 

@Junior
Does MixMods also remove the same clouds as SkyGFX?
 
 
 

disableClouds=1         ; Disable the far clouds on the horizon. They're bugged on the PS2. (cannot be toggled at runtime)

Spoiler

No, I didn't remember that either.
MixMods, ha.

jrnaufal2
  • jrnaufal2

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 May 2017
  • Indonesia

#52

Posted 02 October 2017 - 10:57 PM

Support imvehft 2.1.1?

Finn The Human
  • Finn The Human

    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Oct 2014
  • Hong-Kong

#53

Posted 03 October 2017 - 08:21 AM

Support imvehft 2.1.1?

It will crash the game in the evening

  • guru_guru and Delatom like this

natanplayer
  • natanplayer

    Hater

  • New Members
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2017
  • Brazil

#54

Posted 27 October 2017 - 12:47 AM

how to fix it? 

 

gOk80Qx.png


LaDiDa
  • LaDiDa

    I'm only human

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2016
  • Netherlands

#55

Posted 27 October 2017 - 10:18 PM

Not (yet). It's being looked into by the author though.

guru_guru
  • guru_guru

    pajaro culiao

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2017
  • Chile

#56

Posted 29 October 2017 - 03:40 AM

how to fix it? 
 
gOk80Qx.png


As LaDiDa said,no fix for that yet.But increasing draw distance helps.
  • Rachel Amber likes this

guru_guru
  • guru_guru

    pajaro culiao

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2017
  • Chile

#57

Posted 4 weeks ago

updoot

 

-rewritten from the scratch to Lua so you'll need MoonLoader And MoonAditions.Added a few improvements too so the script should be faster than before.

-skies gets deleted when you are about to save your game,so now it's compatible with "auto-save" mods

 

I'll change the OP later.

 

Also , SA-MP version. (not tested)

  • DK22Pac, Jinx., SolidFrost and 1 other like this

DK22Pac
  • DK22Pac

    𝘉eчнo 𝘔oлoдoй...

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2009
  • Ukraine
  • Best WIP Mod 2014 [Grand Theft Auto 3D Contribution]
    Contribution Award [Mods]
    Helpfulness Award [Mods]

#58

Posted 4 weeks ago

Good, finally people understand that SCM is an outdated technology for creating complex mods.
Note/Next step: learn programming and shaders and create even better skybox.
  • Apu889, guru_guru and Delatom like this

guru_guru
  • guru_guru

    pajaro culiao

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2017
  • Chile

#59

Posted 4 weeks ago

Lol,I'm pretty sure I don't represent the people who make scripts mods.But I think that only a few will start to use more updated tools to create these.

I've seen a lot of people starting to code with SCM while a better alternative to this is GTA3script.

 

Anyways,I problably won't start soon but I would love some directions on the Next step.

 

Spoiler
  • LaDiDa likes this

LaDiDa
  • LaDiDa

    I'm only human

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2016
  • Netherlands

#60

Posted 4 weeks ago

Seperate skies per weather type as defined in timecyc.dat (sunny, extra sunny, cloudy, rainy). Maybe some textures that don't show jpeg artifacts on darker colors.
  • SolidFrost likes this




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users