» «
Photo

Between Life and Death

2 replies to this topic
Vercetti21
  • Vercetti21

V21

• Andolini Mafia Family

Posted 30 July 2017 - 02:14 AM Edited by Vercetti21, 30 July 2017 - 02:42 AM.

They tried to kill me, but I didn't die.

I woke up in a dark and drizzling alleyway. A street gutter loudly gulped down the puddles of blood and water around my body. I could feel the stab wounds in my back, and my head still rang from the impact of a crowbar.

I used to kill people for a living, so believe me when I say this was a sh*t job. But I gave up that life. I tried to walk away. Even moved to another city and changed my name. But somehow, they still found me. They wouldn't let me live, and they failed to let me die. They stabbed me in the back, but they should have made sure I was dead.

I won't be turning the other cheek this time. There will be a reckoning.

I winced in pain as I turned on my side and waited for an ambulance. There was a deep, righteous anger flowing through me, keeping me alive. I stared into the abyss of the long dark night, and waited.

Mokrie Dela
  • Mokrie Dela

Killed by drones.

• Zaibatsu
  • None
  • Most Creative [Writing] 2016
    Most Talented Writer 2015
    Most Talented Writer 2014
    Most Talented Writer 2013
    Best Story/Poem 2013 "The Storm"
    Story/Poem of the Year 2011 "Justice in Flames"
    Story/Poem of the Year 2010 "City of Lies"

Posted 30 July 2017 - 11:48 AM

I liked the opening line, and there's a few nice sentences throughout this, but aside from a bit of shiny, I found this lacking. There's a story behind this, and I wanted to see at least a little. Instead this feels more like a synopsis

As an opening I liked it but without what comes next or even before, it just feels unfinished.

PicardsBong
  • PicardsBong

Lazy Astronaut

• Members
  • United-States

Posted 03 August 2017 - 02:14 PM

Glad to see another writer playing with short pieces! Keep it up!