Cyberpunk

• The Connection
  • None
  • Best Poster [Music] 2016
    Best Poster [Music] 2015
    Best Poster [Music] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Music] 2013
    Best Contributor [Music] 2012

Posted 14 July 2017 - 11:46 AM Edited by Mister Pink, 14 July 2017 - 11:56 AM.

I saw this video below posted in Stop Working For Free ground on Facebook. I thought I would open up some dialogue here and see what you people think. 

Being a photographer I've done plenty of working for free (which I regret). Worst thing is that if you do one job for free that person expects you to be like that in future. Word also travels. Say for example, another potential client asks for a recommendation to the client I did free work for, but there's little-to-no pay and but great exposure, my name will be passed on. You don't want that. You don't want to be associated as a cheap, work for free type. 

Charge even if it's a token price. Even just so some cash exchanged hands. You'll free better for it and the client will to. But it also sends a message about how you value your work, not only for you but for you colleagues in your profession be it graphic design or photography or filmmaking. 

It's bad practice. It cheapens the market. Imagine asking builders to build an extension on your house. "Would be great exposure." If people don't set aside a budget to pay the graphic designer or the photographer, then that's their fault. They set aside budget for everything else. These professions should be covered too. We need to set an example that if you want us, you'll have to pay.