Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

What are your PC Specs?, Are you planning to upgrade soon?

100 replies to this topic
III-Ari-III
  • III-Ari-III

    Corporate Warlord

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2016
  • Argentina

#1

Posted 11 July 2017 - 10:37 AM

Let's talk about PC hard in this CPU intensive game haha.

 

Only say these parts: CPU, GPU, RAM, and PSU.

 

Then say at which settings do you run the game.

 

The rest of components can be mentioned but are not required for the topic in question.

 

I'll start with mines:

 

Cpu: Intel i5 2500k @3.7 Ghz Quad Core.

Gpu: Amd Msi Radeon 470 4gb.

Ram: 2x8gb 1333 Mhz Kingston Fury.

Psu: Corsair 80 plus white 430w.

 

I would love to upgrade into ryzen 1700 or 1800 with 2x8gb ddr4 2400 Mhz ram + am4 socket mobo, but no available cash for now haha.

 

I play gta online at 1080p60fps high settings with occational drops into 40 fps or so in filled lobbies, pretty good experience so far.

 

Let's see yours!.

 

Also i'm a pc technician, so if you have any questions regarding your rig please ask away. : )


Sanches
  • Sanches

    Rider boi

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Feb 2017
  • None
  • Next DLC Thread Page 4000 Winner

#2

Posted 11 July 2017 - 10:57 AM

avD4Q7btU98.jpg

 

The only thing i'd upgrade is RAM. Also a keyboard. My keyboard is like 10 years old or something. I mean its working ok, but my roommate complains about it's noise. Uhhh, with keyboard comes mouse, i guess? It's been a year since my mouse wheel were broken and im too lazy to buy myself a new one.

  • hei3enberg likes this

Quinn_flower
  • Quinn_flower

    S.T.A.R.S Unit/The Dear R* Girl

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Mar 2014
  • Japan

#3

Posted 11 July 2017 - 11:00 AM Edited by Quinn_flower, 11 July 2017 - 11:00 AM.

Alienware r4 17 with 1070 and 120hz Gsync screen with i7 core skylake. 16 gigs of ram

hei3enberg
  • hei3enberg

    not really certain about some stuff

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2013
  • None

#4

Posted 11 July 2017 - 11:06 AM Edited by hei3enberg, 11 July 2017 - 11:10 AM.

My home rig is this:

Core i5 4690k @ 3.5 with Noctua NH U12s air cooling 

16GB Corsair Vengeance LP 

Samsung EVO 240 SSD

Asus Strix GTX 980 

 

I'm using Corsair K95 RGB KB with brown switches, Corsair Scimitar RGB pro mouse for gaming and Logitech MX Pro for general crap.

 

Not really going to upgrade anything right now, since the only way to upgrade is to go Skylake/ Kaby lake and it's a full new PC. I was thinking about getting GTX 1080, but skipped the idea since I'm playing full HD on a single display. Can't stomach multiple screens for gaming because it reminds me of my job.


~Tiger~
  • ~Tiger~

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jan 2014
  • None
  • Best Ledby 2015
    Best Ledby 2014
    Helpfulness Award [GTA V]
    Contribution Award [GTA V]
    Contribution Award [Snapmatic Competition]

#5

Posted 11 July 2017 - 11:26 AM

Let's talk about PC 

 

Moved to PC subforum  :^:

  • hei3enberg likes this

III-Ari-III
  • III-Ari-III

    Corporate Warlord

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2016
  • Argentina

#6

Posted 11 July 2017 - 11:59 AM

avD4Q7btU98.jpg

 

The only thing i'd upgrade is RAM. Also a keyboard. My keyboard is like 10 years old or something. I mean its working ok, but my roommate complains about it's noise. Uhhh, with keyboard comes mouse, i guess? It's been a year since my mouse wheel were broken and im too lazy to buy myself a new one.

 

Yeah 16 gigs would be nice, and a mechanical keyboard with cherry red switches rocks! although it will be expensive.. and i recommend the razer abyssus v2 for mouse ; P


Alienware r4 17 with 1070 and 120hz Gsync screen with i7 core skylake. 16 gigs of ram

 

That's op hahah.


My home rig is this:

Core i5 4690k @ 3.5 with Noctua NH U12s air cooling 

16GB Corsair Vengeance LP 

Samsung EVO 240 SSD

Asus Strix GTX 980 

 

I'm using Corsair K95 RGB KB with brown switches, Corsair Scimitar RGB pro mouse for gaming and Logitech MX Pro for general crap.

 

Not really going to upgrade anything right now, since the only way to upgrade is to go Skylake/ Kaby lake and it's a full new PC. I was thinking about getting GTX 1080, but skipped the idea since I'm playing full HD on a single display. Can't stomach multiple screens for gaming because it reminds me of my job.

 

You are fine as you are haha.

  • hei3enberg likes this

tiimep
  • tiimep

    Brothers In Exile MC National Vice President.

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Oct 2013
  • Netherlands

#7

Posted 11 July 2017 - 12:03 PM

Specs.png

 

Yes, I'm thinking about getting rid of half my ram.

I need a new SSD tho, aswell as maybe going SLI.

  • hei3enberg likes this

Lucius M. Galloway
  • Lucius M. Galloway

    Blood God

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2017
  • United-States

#8

Posted 11 July 2017 - 09:18 PM

Ugh, more geeks

III-Ari-III
  • III-Ari-III

    Corporate Warlord

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2016
  • Argentina

#9

Posted 12 July 2017 - 05:01 AM

Specs.png

 

Yes, I'm thinking about getting rid of half my ram.

I need a new SSD tho, aswell as maybe going SLI.

 

Well selling the extra ram to get an ssd sounds nice, no need for sli though haha.


Ugh, more geeks

 

Keep moving then.


HaRdSTyLe_83
  • HaRdSTyLe_83

    ☆★RIP Open IV★☆

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Mar 2014
  • None

#10

Posted 12 July 2017 - 01:12 PM

pentium G3258

Gtx 970

8Gb ram ddr3

 

I5-6600k

Gtx 1080

16Gb ram ddr4


Xer0_
  • Xer0_

    Hands off the merchandise!

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2016
  • Australia

#11

Posted 12 July 2017 - 03:26 PM

i5 6500

 

GTX 1070 G1 Gaming

 

16 GB RAM 2400 Mhz

 

2 TB HDD


III-Ari-III
  • III-Ari-III

    Corporate Warlord

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2016
  • Argentina

#12

Posted 12 July 2017 - 08:16 PM

wow so many ppl with 1070s or higher..


John Angelo
  • John Angelo

    "You f*ck up once, you lose two teeth."

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jun 2011

#13

Posted 12 July 2017 - 10:32 PM

CPU: Intel Core [email protected] GHz

GPU: MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X 8GB

RAM: 16GB

 

FPS: Over 60 most of the time. Some grassy places in the map make it drop a little bit.

 

My settings: 

GTA_V_-_New_Settings.png


LevelDockSix
  • LevelDockSix

    Sure Shot

  • Paleto Bay Mayor's Office
  • Joined: 21 Jan 2012
  • India

#14

Posted 13 July 2017 - 10:16 AM

I recently upgraded to an i7 7700K and a 1080 Ti :) I play at 3440x1440 and I've definitely got a lot of stuff to say about how this game has performed over the years on my various systems.

I think we can all agree there is some level of a memory leak present, most users with 8GB of RAM always seem to complain about stuttering eventually, I've had it happen to me too. My 16 gig laptop and 32GB rig doesn't have this issue, but that's not to say this is a consistent issue that affects "low" RAM system, but it's something that happens to a lot of players.

Performance wise I've personally seen the northern part of the map hit hardest with the vegetation it renders, I've seen my current rig drops to the low 40s at times in Sandy Shores with everything maxed out (grass at Very High, no MSAA), Some changes to the Advancer Graphics parameters and it's riding fine at 50-60 in the region and mostly hits 80-100 elsewhere.

I will say this, the game can run on a multitude of configurations, weak/outdated ones included. While it may not necessarily run well, it is playable to whatever degree the user considers it to be for them. For example, I've successfully hit 50-60 on an Intel HD 5500 with a multitude of settings.xml and texture tweaks, but the game does look pretty bad. Again, this is helpful for anyone desperate enough to want to play V but isn't in a position to get a proper system, so perhaps kudos to R* for that?

Shadows are still an odd issue at times, appears jagged and such on vehicles for example.
  • hei3enberg likes this

III-Ari-III
  • III-Ari-III

    Corporate Warlord

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2016
  • Argentina

#15

Posted 13 July 2017 - 10:53 AM

I recently upgraded to an i7 7700K and a 1080 Ti :) I play at 3440x1440 and I've definitely got a lot of stuff to say about how this game has performed over the years on my various systems.

I think we can all agree there is some level of a memory leak present, most users with 8GB of RAM always seem to complain about stuttering eventually, I've had it happen to me too. My 16 gig laptop and 32GB rig doesn't have this issue, but that's not to say this is a consistent issue that affects "low" RAM system, but it's something that happens to a lot of players.

Performance wise I've personally seen the northern part of the map hit hardest with the vegetation it renders, I've seen my current rig drops to the low 40s at times in Sandy Shores with everything maxed out (grass at Very High, no MSAA), Some changes to the Advancer Graphics parameters and it's riding fine at 50-60 in the region and mostly hits 80-100 elsewhere.

I will say this, the game can run on a multitude of configurations, weak/outdated ones included. While it may not necessarily run well, it is playable to whatever degree the user considers it to be for them. For example, I've successfully hit 50-60 on an Intel HD 5500 with a multitude of settings.xml and texture tweaks, but the game does look pretty bad. Again, this is helpful for anyone desperate enough to want to play V but isn't in a position to get a proper system, so perhaps kudos to R* for that?

Shadows are still an odd issue at times, appears jagged and such on vehicles for example.

 

Well this game is a port after all.. and on top of that, a cpu heavy sandbox.. so there is that.. on the other hand i found out that high settings with only textures in very high, and everything on advanced graphics disabled, plus render distance in normal graphics all to minimum gives the best overall performance.. solid 1080p60 with occational 40 fps drops in populated lobbies.

 

And i'm using a radeon 470 4gigs, my friend using a gtx 760 has the same config and performance, and my other friend with a radeon 460 2gb same too but playing at 720p and textures on normal due to vram.


Yinepi
  • Yinepi

    Wepwawet Wannabe

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2016
  • Egypt

#16

Posted 14 July 2017 - 09:06 PM Edited by Yinepi, 14 July 2017 - 09:20 PM.

I'm a cheapskate:

 

GIGABYTE GA-78LMT-USB3 rev. 6.0
AMD FX-6300 @ 3.5Ghz
nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti 4GB
Kingston HyperX FURY DDR3 1600Mhz 3x8GB

Western Digital HDD 1TB @ 7200RPM

Toshiba HDD 2TB @ 7200RPM

 

I need to upgrade my CPU to an FX-8370 @ 4.1GHZ as that chip supports the same socket and consumes roughly the same wattage, thus I would need no MB upgrade and PSU upgrade. I don't even know what my PSU is, I only know it's 500 watts. I also need to improve the CPU cooling in this as I believe it's using the stock FX-6300 fan, and also do something to reduce the sound. It screams like a banshee.


III-Ari-III
  • III-Ari-III

    Corporate Warlord

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2016
  • Argentina

#17

Posted 14 July 2017 - 10:55 PM

 

I'm a cheapskate:

 

GIGABYTE GA-78LMT-USB3 rev. 6.0
AMD FX-6300 @ 3.5Ghz
nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti 4GB
Kingston HyperX FURY DDR3 1600Mhz 3x8GB

Western Digital HDD 1TB @ 7200RPM

Toshiba HDD 2TB @ 7200RPM

 

I need to upgrade my CPU to an FX-8370 @ 4.1GHZ as that chip supports the same socket and consumes roughly the same wattage, thus I would need no MB upgrade and PSU upgrade. I don't even know what my PSU is, I only know it's 500 watts. I also need to improve the CPU cooling in this as I believe it's using the stock FX-6300 fan, and also do something to reduce the sound. It screams like a banshee.

 

 

Finally someone with a down to earth pc.. i'm literally scared of all the 1070s and 1080s.. looks like everyone here has a lot of money to spare.. hahaha

 

And yeah that upgrade path will do you good.. also check the fx 8000 something that comes with wraith cooler, so you get 2 targets with 1 shot haha.


K9DAVE65
  • K9DAVE65

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Sep 2013

#18

Posted 15 July 2017 - 01:05 PM

My PC Specs:

 

I7-7700K 

ASUS TURBO 1070

32G RAM

800 PSU


Marius.Petran
  • Marius.Petran

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Apr 2015
  • Romania

#19

Posted 15 July 2017 - 09:50 PM

i3 3220,H61M-DS2,GTX 960 4gb,1.5 Tb,8 GB RAM DDR3 1333 Mhz and an LG 23' 1080p @ 60 fps,no reason to upgrade in next years,i'm happy with this setup,its from early 2013 :),also i run gta v good enough,very high settings,with 40-50 fps,and some 35 when the lobby is full.


III-Ari-III
  • III-Ari-III

    Corporate Warlord

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2016
  • Argentina

#20

Posted 15 July 2017 - 10:55 PM

i3 3220,H61M-DS2,GTX 960 4gb,1.5 Tb,8 GB RAM DDR3 1333 Mhz and an LG 23' 1080p @ 60 fps,no reason to upgrade in next years,i'm happy with this setup,its from early 2013 :),also i run gta v good enough,very high settings,with 40-50 fps,and some 35 when the lobby is full.

 

You would notice great improovements going to an i7, specially in a cpu intensive game like gta, when you have the money, do it.


stretchx9
  • stretchx9

    Breaking All The Stupid Rules

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Apr 2015
  • United-States

#21

Posted 16 July 2017 - 02:32 AM Edited by stretchx9, 16 July 2017 - 02:41 AM.

A 2015 AMD build.

FX8350 liquid cooled and stock clocked.

750 watt power supply.

16 gig ddr3.

2 MSI GTX970's in sli (yeah, 2 much overkill).

24" 144 hz monitor.

I can play V @ 96-128  fps @ 1440p with some display settings reduced on account of the 970's 3.5 gig vram.

Sure wish I had bought a single 980 back then instead of two 970's. Got no intention to upgrade anything. Usually run only one 970 anyway for 68-76 fps @ 1080p.


III-Ari-III
  • III-Ari-III

    Corporate Warlord

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2016
  • Argentina

#22

Posted 16 July 2017 - 11:20 AM

A 2015 AMD build.

FX8350 liquid cooled and stock clocked.

750 watt power supply.

16 gig ddr3.

2 MSI GTX970's in sli (yeah, 2 much overkill).

24" 144 hz monitor.

I can play V @ 96-128  fps @ 1440p with some display settings reduced on account of the 970's 3.5 gig vram.

Sure wish I had bought a single 980 back then instead of two 970's. Got no intention to upgrade anything. Usually run only one 970 anyway for 68-76 fps @ 1080p.

 

Good pc overall.. but you are on liquid cooling and you didn't oc'd your fx?, you are missing performance man.


stretchx9
  • stretchx9

    Breaking All The Stupid Rules

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Apr 2015
  • United-States

#23

Posted 17 July 2017 - 04:42 PM

 

A 2015 AMD build.

FX8350 liquid cooled and stock clocked.

750 watt power supply.

16 gig ddr3.

2 MSI GTX970's in sli (yeah, 2 much overkill).

24" 144 hz monitor.

I can play V @ 96-128  fps @ 1440p with some display settings reduced on account of the 970's 3.5 gig vram.

Sure wish I had bought a single 980 back then instead of two 970's. Got no intention to upgrade anything. Usually run only one 970 anyway for 68-76 fps @ 1080p.

 

Good pc overall.. but you are on liquid cooling and you didn't oc'd your fx?, you are missing performance man.

 

I'm not missing anything, I got exactly what I wanted,

I wanted an entirely stable and nearly silent gaming pc.


III-Ari-III
  • III-Ari-III

    Corporate Warlord

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2016
  • Argentina

#24

Posted 18 July 2017 - 12:49 AM

 

 

A 2015 AMD build.

FX8350 liquid cooled and stock clocked.

750 watt power supply.

16 gig ddr3.

2 MSI GTX970's in sli (yeah, 2 much overkill).

24" 144 hz monitor.

I can play V @ 96-128  fps @ 1440p with some display settings reduced on account of the 970's 3.5 gig vram.

Sure wish I had bought a single 980 back then instead of two 970's. Got no intention to upgrade anything. Usually run only one 970 anyway for 68-76 fps @ 1080p.

 

Good pc overall.. but you are on liquid cooling and you didn't oc'd your fx?, you are missing performance man.

 

I'm not missing anything, I got exactly what I wanted,

I wanted an entirely stable and nearly silent gaming pc.

 

 

You can have that and still have oc, when you oc rightly you don't have unstability and with that cooler you will still have a silent pc.. but suit yourself.


Gettin up
  • Gettin up

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2011
  • Finland

#25

Posted 18 July 2017 - 01:33 AM

i5 2500K
GTX 960 MSI Gaming 4GB
8GB RAM DDR3-1600
Asrock Z68 Pro3
250GB SSD Samsung 840 Pro
1TB HDD Samsung Spinpoint F3
Super Flower Golden Green Modular 80+ Gold, 700W
Fractal Design Define R3
Asus Xonar DG 5.1

Not planning to upgrade anytime soon. Maybe when the next GTA game comes out if needed.
 


III-Ari-III
  • III-Ari-III

    Corporate Warlord

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2016
  • Argentina

#26

Posted 18 July 2017 - 03:51 AM

i5 2500K
GTX 960 MSI Gaming 4GB
8GB RAM DDR3-1600
Asrock Z68 Pro3
250GB SSD Samsung 840 Pro
1TB HDD Samsung Spinpoint F3
Super Flower Golden Green Modular 80+ Gold, 700W
Fractal Design Define R3
Asus Xonar DG 5.1

Not planning to upgrade anytime soon. Maybe when the next GTA game comes out if needed.
 

 

It's a decent pc, most you can do there is go for a gtx 1070 if you have money to spare, otherwise it's ok.


HaRdSTyLe_83
  • HaRdSTyLe_83

    ☆★RIP Open IV★☆

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Mar 2014
  • None

#27

Posted 18 July 2017 - 10:12 AM

You can have that and still have oc, when you oc rightly you don't have unstability and with that cooler you will still have a silent pc.. but suit yourself.

 

at 1440p i doubt he would see any improvement from overclocking at all, the "bottleneck"  are the 3.5GB VRAM, if you call it that


III-Ari-III
  • III-Ari-III

    Corporate Warlord

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2016
  • Argentina

#28

Posted 18 July 2017 - 10:58 AM

 

You can have that and still have oc, when you oc rightly you don't have unstability and with that cooler you will still have a silent pc.. but suit yourself.

 

at 1440p i doubt he would see any improvement from overclocking at all, the "bottleneck"  are the 3.5GB VRAM, if you call it that

 

 

In an fx cpu there is always room for improovement with oc.. still he decided to not do it.. so lets leave it at that.


HaRdSTyLe_83
  • HaRdSTyLe_83

    ☆★RIP Open IV★☆

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Mar 2014
  • None

#29

Posted 18 July 2017 - 02:34 PM

you can leave it where you want it, but try getting some info next time


aDigitalPhantom
  • aDigitalPhantom

    4E69636F6C65

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Apr 2015
  • United-States

#30

Posted 18 July 2017 - 03:41 PM Edited by aDigitalPhantom, 18 July 2017 - 07:50 PM.

CPU: Intel i7-4930k (6 core @ 3.4 GHz)
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 SC GAMING ACX 3.0
RAM: 8x8GB DDR3 1333MHz 9-9-9-24
PSU: ThermalTake 1KW SP-1000M

Currently I'm playing in [email protected] with V-Sync on half, grass on normal (IMO this setting doesn't add anything useful, and just wastes FPS), FXAA, and frame scaling on 2/1. The rest is at max. So far it only drops when flying probably because I have GTA installed on a Raid Array, and not a SSD. Other then that it's constant at 60-63fps. Then again GFE isn't the best to monitor framerates over time.

It would be nice to upgrade to the x299 platform, but I don't need to yet.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users