Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

How to effectively BLOCK OpenIV from accessing the internet

5 replies to this topic
Ducky is King
  • Ducky is King

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • United-States

#1

Posted 18 June 2017 - 10:46 AM

Ok so I tried blocking the main exe in the app data folder under users,  to no effect.

 

Windows 7 sp1 x64.

 

My version of openiv does NOT have the 'please uninstall' pop up and I would like to keep it that way.


Cyron43
  • Cyron43

    "I'm so bad I kick my own ass!" (GTA IV quote)

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2013
  • Germany

#2

Posted 18 June 2017 - 10:58 AM

Your firewall should have created a rule for OpenIV. Just edit this rule to block. Idk which kind of firewall you use. I use Norton and it works.


Scriptkiddy1337
  • Scriptkiddy1337

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Jun 2017
  • Germany

#3

Posted 18 June 2017 - 08:48 PM

Copy OpenIV.exe to have a backup.
Open OpenIV.exe in any Hex Editor
search for 75 0c a1 20 e8 and change 75 (jnz) to eb (jmp) and the opcode 0c to 11
save the changes and Start it again.

It will only work with the latest build and prevent the Message + even if there will come an Update, it will not installed.

  • jedijosh920 likes this

LeeC2202
  • LeeC2202

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Oct 2015
  • United-Kingdom

#4

Posted 19 June 2017 - 12:21 PM

Ok so I tried blocking the main exe in the app data folder under users,  to no effect.

 

Windows 7 sp1 x64.

 

My version of openiv does NOT have the 'please uninstall' pop up and I would like to keep it that way.

Blocking the main exe works fine.

 

Did you block it for outbound connections? You have to block it from checking for updates, that's why you block outbound, not inbound connections. I have always had OpenIV set like this since it started doing auto-updates.

 

250mgd5.jpg


sachin_rocks22
  • sachin_rocks22

    you picked the wrong house fool

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 May 2017
  • India

#5

Posted 20 June 2017 - 12:16 PM

why would you want to block it in the first place ?


ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#6

Posted 20 June 2017 - 03:36 PM Edited by ACM-Jan, 20 June 2017 - 03:36 PM.

why would you want to block it in the first place ?

to avoid bricking update, it's matter of time when they send a update which makes sure you can't use it against their order!





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users