Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA Vice City won't start... Help, please

7 replies to this topic
ReDragon28
  • ReDragon28

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 3 weeks ago
  • United-Kingdom

#1

Posted 3 weeks ago

My Gta Vice city runs only when Im connected to the internet. Whenever I try to run Vice City on my laptop when Im disconnected from the internet - the game is present in task manager, but it does not run. But then if I connect my internet - it starts the MOMENT it connects... The only fix I can do is change compatibility to Win 98, but it has problems with audio and stuff... When the internet is on there are no problems and I dont need to do anything in compatibility.. Weird.. Any help? P.S. - this also happens with San Andreas and GTA III.

 


MrAlexVercetti
  • MrAlexVercetti

    Loyal VC Player

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Nov 2011

#2

Posted 3 weeks ago

its really weird, what is ur pc specs? maybe u downloaded vc mp?


ReDragon28
  • ReDragon28

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 3 weeks ago
  • United-Kingdom

#3

Posted 3 weeks ago

It's not my pc specs problem, cuz I can run all three games fine. And yeah, it's not multiplayer. Like, if I'm offline - I need to change compatibility to Win 98 (which causes problems in gameplay but at least runs) or win 2000 (which makes them run fine). So I changed it to all 3 to windows 2000 and they run online and offline. But I still don't get why I need to do this..

Evil-Empire
  • Evil-Empire

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2010
  • France

#4

Posted 3 weeks ago

I suppose you don't have a multicore optimizer.


ReDragon28
  • ReDragon28

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 3 weeks ago
  • United-Kingdom

#5

Posted 3 weeks ago

No. What is that?

Evil-Empire
  • Evil-Empire

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2010
  • France

#6

Posted 3 weeks ago

A tool to avoid having some games work too fast because of a multicore CPU.


ReDragon28
  • ReDragon28

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 3 weeks ago
  • United-Kingdom

#7

Posted 3 weeks ago

Oh.. No, I don't have that.


spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    Chocolate

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003
  • Hong-Kong
  • Major Contribution Award [Mods]
    Helpfulness Awards [Mods]

#8

Posted 3 weeks ago Edited by spaceeinstein, 3 weeks ago.

That sounds similar to the problem I was having a long time ago. Window's Games Explorer feature is trying to retrieve information about the games online. Without an Internet connection, it prevents the games from launching properly. The solution for me was here.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users