Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

How good was your PC back in 2005?

24 replies to this topic
Gunnalingus
  • Gunnalingus

    Playa

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2009
  • None

#1

Posted 29 April 2017 - 10:39 AM

My PC was real sh*t back then. It was below minimum requirements. It had 246 MB of RAM (just 10 MB short of 256 MB required.) I can't remember how much exactly video memory it had but it was an integrated Intel graphics. This piece of sh*t didn't even have a DVD ROM drive, it had CD Rom drive. But I wanted to play SA bad so I downloaded it.

 

It was real pain to play: it was near impossible to drive, character's lips were out of sync in cutscenes, issues with even the most trivial aspects of gameplay.

 

Game was somewhat playable when friend in school told me to set visual fx quality at low. Speaking of display settings - my graphics card didn't allow for any kind of anti aliasing or mip mapping - these options were grayed out in the menu.

 

(I had a flashback when attempting to run GTAV on my current system. Also a pain to play, but different  issues. My current system is also below minimum requirements of GTAV)

 

How good computer you had back in 2005?. 


ACM-Jan
  • ACM-Jan

    Usually helpful, BUT very defensive upon disrespect

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2014
  • Estonia

#2

Posted 29 April 2017 - 11:32 AM Edited by ACM-Jan, 29 April 2017 - 11:37 AM.

I had intel pentium 4, single core @2,8Ghz, 2 threads; windows xp 32-bit system of course; 2004 to 2005 beginning it had 512mb or ram, later it got 1 GB of extra ram; GPU was Geforce FX 5200 @ 200MHz GPU clock and 400MHz memory clock,128MB of Vram (half minimum); MS-6743 mobo; 80GB HDD.

But i had no idea gta series existed at that time, first i heard about it in late 2012 beginning of 2013, due to the seclusion of estonia from other world many didn't have or know about gta games, then in 2013 it started unravelling for me! by that time my first pc finally died (it stopped working in first days of 2012) and i got somewhat more capable notebook laptop, last year summer i got base pc which had integrated graphics to run hd era with lag and this year february i got my GPU to play gta 5.


HalfOfAKebab
  • HalfOfAKebab

    Help & Support

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Aug 2015
  • United-Kingdom
  • Helpfulness Award [GTAO]

#3

Posted 29 April 2017 - 05:36 PM

I didn't have one. I was a 7-year-old sitting playing on my PS2, though :p.

lil weasel
  • lil weasel

    Shoot Looters, Hang Pirates!

  • GTA Series Staff
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [San Andreas]

#4

Posted 29 April 2017 - 10:07 PM Edited by lil weasel, 30 April 2017 - 12:25 AM.

Sub par. I had to buy a new Laptop (2000$ then "Balance" brand) to get the specs needed to run the GTA San Andreas game "recommended". in 2006.


Nico
  • Nico

    Doctor doctor, what is wrong with me?

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 10 Feb 2010
  • None

#5

Posted 29 April 2017 - 10:22 PM

Shouldn't this be on the Tech section? I know SA is kinda related since it was released for PC in 2005, but still.

I've started playing PC games around 2003 or so, with titles like Midtown Madness 2 and The Sims, but they didn't run very well, though. I remember myself always readjusting the view distance in MM2 since it always resetted itself to the highest value my PC could handle properly (very low) so you can imagine that my PC wasn't precisely top notch technology back then. Later, I was gifted a copy of NFS Underground 2, and it just looked awful with the poorly integrated graphic acceleration. SA ran very well the first time I had it, though.

yojc
  • yojc

    2A03

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#6

Posted 30 April 2017 - 05:18 AM

Back in 2005 I had a PC with Pentium 4 (w/o HT) and legendary GF4 MX440...

Do I need to say more? :p

Noale
  • Noale

    I DID NOT HIT HER I DID NOT OH HI MARK

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2016
  • None

#7

Posted 30 April 2017 - 05:56 AM

I was using the same piece of junk Vaio desktop since the late 90s. I installed an AGP card to keep it going a bit longer. All I needed it to do was play Age Of Empires II, and thankfully it did.

 

Sometime later in 2005 I built an Athlon X2 dual core system with a 6600GT and 1GB of RAM, which is still working today. With a junker GTS250, it ran GTAV.  :lol:


Kiffster
  • Kiffster

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 27 Mar 2013
  • South-Africa

#8

Posted 30 April 2017 - 06:01 AM Edited by Kiffster, 30 April 2017 - 06:06 AM.

I guess pretty good. Can't remember all the specs. All I know is that I had a Pentium 4 with 512mb ram (I think) and could run most new games like GTA:SA, Splinter Cell Chaos Theory and KotOR II with most settings set to max with little to no issues. Going through the list of games released back then, I do remember I could only play NFS Most Wanted with low-medium settings though.
Can't remember what graphics card I had but I'm fairly sure it was one that supported hardware T and L which I got a year or two earlier specifically for No One Lives Forever 2 which couldn't run without it.

_Moe
  • _Moe

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2017
  • None

#9

Posted 30 April 2017 - 07:08 AM

I had no PC in 2005, I bought my only proper/perfect pc in 2017 during Xmas.


Queen Elizabeth II
  • Queen Elizabeth II

    ______________________

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2014
  • Poland

#10

Posted 30 April 2017 - 08:51 PM

You don't want to know.

 

Windows ME.


sivispacem
  • sivispacem

    Jo Näkyvi Pohjan Portit

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2011
  • European-Union
  • Contribution Award [D&D, General Chat]
    Most Knowledgeable [Vehicles] 2013
    Best Debater 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011

#11

Posted 30 April 2017 - 08:53 PM

The maths on 246mb RAM really doesn't make sense.

Straypuft
  • Straypuft

    Pilot For Hire

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2008
  • Japan

#12

Posted 01 May 2017 - 02:42 AM

All I had was a laptop back then, 2005 would have made that laptop 2 years old, it wasnt much, just a Pentium 4 2.2 ghz cpu with 32mb of Intel graphics

 

The most demanding game I played on it was Battlefield Vietnam, which at the time of release required 64mb gpu, But I didnt think much of it at the time I bought it, Just assumed it should play fine, It did play fine and I even had an advantage to being able to see enemy outlines through fog of war since it didnt display properly.


Kingbing
  • Kingbing

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2015
  • United-States

#13

Posted 02 May 2017 - 01:31 AM

We had this old desktop that had windows 2000 on it.  I used to play star wars x wing vs tie fighter, and tony hawk's pro skater 2 on it.


Arrow
  • Arrow

  • Facade
  • Joined: 26 Oct 2016
  • India
  • Contribution Award [GTAF Weekly]
    Helpfulness Award [WD&P Mega Topic]

#14

Posted 02 May 2017 - 07:30 AM

I had a Pentium 4 Laptop with 512MB of RAM and 80GB of HDD Space. It was an IBM Laptop I believe. It ran a modified custom themed version of Windows XP and had basic integrated Intel Graphics. All these specs were just sufficient to play San Andreas.

Spider-Vice
  • Spider-Vice

    Do androids dream of electric sheep?

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 09 Oct 2006
  • Portugal
  • Contribution Award [GTAF Weekly]
    Best Poster [Rockstar Games] 2016
    Contribution Award [GTA V]

#15

Posted 02 May 2017 - 11:35 PM

Back in 2005 I had a PC with Pentium 4 (w/o HT) and legendary GF4 MX440...

Do I need to say more? :p

Coincidentally exactly this! Except my P4 had hyperthreading. I also had a measly 512 MB of RAM.


yojc
  • yojc

    2A03

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#16

Posted 03 May 2017 - 06:53 AM

Well, I had 256MB at start, but it was immediately expanded to 768MB (the PC was bought in 2003 I believe, so this amount of RAM was a bit ridiculous). I remember that Windows 98 spazzed out because it couldn't handle so much RAM (512MB was the limit as it turned out) :p

Piperka
  • Piperka

    Big Homie

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2009
  • Australia

#17

Posted 03 May 2017 - 08:29 AM

I had some HP

 

3.2Ghz processor (pretty sure was either single or dual core)

 

512MB RAM

 

256MB graphics card

 

160GB HDD


sivispacem
  • sivispacem

    Jo Näkyvi Pohjan Portit

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2011
  • European-Union
  • Contribution Award [D&D, General Chat]
    Most Knowledgeable [Vehicles] 2013
    Best Debater 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011

#18

Posted 03 May 2017 - 09:34 AM

Think it would have been my first SLI setup.

Athlon 64 FX-53 2400MHz
Socket 939 motherboard
2x512MB DDR2 RAM
A pair of GeForce 6600GTs in SLI
A pair of 74GB WD Raptor EL74 10krpm hard drives.
An unbranded 700w PSU (!)

Shortly after upgraded with an Athlon X2 64 and two 6800GTS'. Would have started on 32-bit XP Pro before transitioning to 64-bit XP Pro shortly after release in April.

Nelly2K
  • Nelly2K

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2017
  • European-Union

#19

Posted 04 May 2017 - 01:47 PM

I was 3 so I never owned a computer lol.  I think my dad had some Acer laptop though but obviously I don't remember, just from what he's told to me.


The Godfather312
  • The Godfather312

    Player Hater

  • New Members
  • Joined: 01 Jun 2017
  • Romania

#20

Posted 01 June 2017 - 05:50 PM Edited by The Godfather312, 01 June 2017 - 06:21 PM.

I know you'll laugh but in 2005 i had a 1GHz Pentium 3, 256 MB SDRAM and a GeForce 2 MX 400, this PC could run GTA 3 with no problem, Midtown Madness 2, Re-Volt, NFS Hot Pursuit 1 and 2. In 2006 i bought a new PC with some decent specs for that time, AMD Sempron 2400+, 512 MB DDR 400 ram and the GeForce FX 5500 256MB VRAM edition, i bought this PC just to play GTA San Andreas, NFS Underground 1 and Underground 2, NFS Most Wanted, the Tony Hawk's games and some new games from 2004-2006


Qaziush
  • Qaziush

    Sticks & Stones break bones but the gat kill ya quicker.

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jul 2016
  • Serbia

#21

Posted 02 June 2017 - 12:49 PM Edited by Qaziush, 02 June 2017 - 12:50 PM.

i got my first pc back in 2007 and i remember all my friends was coming to my house to play high end games at the time like crysis etc.Can't remember specs though i know that i was Pentium 4 i gave that pc to a brother from aunt  back in 2014 when i bought this one this one isn't that good but it does the job for now , i5 4690k cpu,r9 270 dual x gpu,GA z97m DS3H mobo (guys from store screw me over for it i wanted another one but they said "we don't have that one but this one is better and bit cheaper"),8 gb ddr3 hyperx,hdd 500 gb seagate sata,raidmax  cobra RX 700 AC psu.


Blaze
  • Blaze

    ***SUICIDE ALPS FOREVER***

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 04 Feb 2010
  • Unknown
  • Super Special Gold Star 2006
    Draw Contest Booby Prize 2016
    Campaign Poster Booby Prize 2016
    Doggo-Chop Winner 2016
    14K Doggo/Catto-Chop Winner 2017

#22

Posted 02 June 2017 - 11:50 PM

06 would have been an AMD Athlon 64 3200+ on an MSI K8N Sli Platinum (oddly a somewhat high end board considering the rest was sh*te) along with 512MB of RAM, a BFG 7600GT, sh*te IDE hard drives, an incredibly loud fan/heatsink by Taisol all inside a generic red Perspex case. I'm presuming this was all my uncles scrap parts from around that time.

Gunnalingus
  • Gunnalingus

    Playa

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2009
  • None

#23

Posted 17 June 2017 - 02:56 PM

I had intel pentium 4, single core @2,8Ghz, 2 threads; windows xp 32-bit system of course; 2004 to 2005 beginning it had 512mb or ram, later it got 1 GB of extra ram; GPU was Geforce FX 5200 @ 200MHz GPU clock and 400MHz memory clock,128MB of Vram (half minimum); MS-6743 mobo; 80GB HDD.

But i had no idea gta series existed at that time, first i heard about it in late 2012 beginning of 2013, due to the seclusion of estonia from other world many didn't have or know about gta games, then in 2013 it started unravelling for me! by that time my first pc finally died (it stopped working in first days of 2012) and i got somewhat more capable notebook laptop, last year summer i got base pc which had integrated graphics to run hd era with lag and this year february i got my GPU to play gta 5.

 

Bullsh*t! Kõik mängud mis Põhja Ameerikas ja Euroopas välja anti olid ka Eesti poodides vabalt saadaval. Sealhulgas GTA mängud, Need For Speed, Counter Strike, Quake jpm. Mina hakkasin mängima GTA-d alates siis kui GTA3 välja tuli, see oli millalgi 2000-2001. Sõbra juures sai ka GTA2 mängitud. aga top-down vaade mulle ei läinud korda seega tõsiselt hakkasin GTA-d mängima peale GTA3-e.
Eesti ei olnud midagi muust maailmast ära lõigatud.

 

 

Aga elustandardid on võrreldes muu maailmaga alati teistsugused olnud. Kui näiteks keskmise Soomlase jaoks pole mingi probleem osta korralik mänguarvuti ja iga kuu uus mäng, siis keskmise Eestlase jaoks on see probleem. Kui ma õieti mäletan siis San Andreas maksis omal ajal peaaegu 500 krooni ja siis kui GTAIV välja tuli, maksis see 700 krooni.


Pavle
  • Pavle

    The Prodigal Son

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 23 Oct 2013
  • Serbia
  • Best Crew 2016 [The Daily Globe]
    Shania Twain Superfan
    Biggest Profile Stalker 2014
    April Fools Winner 2015
    Best General Topic 2015 [GTAForums Newbie Guide 2.0]
    Best Serb 2015
    Doggo-Chop Winner 2016
    14K Doggo/Catto-Chop Winner 2017

#24

Posted 17 June 2017 - 03:08 PM

All I remember is that it was a sh*tbox even for 2005 standards. It was a PC my dad had, and all I remember was Windows 2000, Pentium 2 processor, and a big old white RGB monitor. Got a decent PC for myself a few years later, along with actual connection to the internet.


Unity_One
  • Unity_One

    Player Hater

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2017
  • None

#25

Posted 19 June 2017 - 03:13 AM

I do not have a good PC back there since i played games lot on console.  I think it used Intel Pentium 4 with onboard GPU. It is only able to play some mini games.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users