Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Low CPU/GPU usage in GTA:SA

11 replies to this topic
TheKBZ78
  • TheKBZ78

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2017
  • France

#1

Posted 13 March 2017 - 09:34 PM

Hello everyone,

 

I've a big problem since I get my new PC. My usage of CPU/GPU in GTA:SA is very low, and I can't run some ENB Series with my high configuration.

 

I've compared the CPU/GPU usage between GTA:SA and Black Ops II (in ultra settings), and there's some big changes:DlRMUWk.png1489343417-sa-mp-002.png1489343977-screenshot-2.png

 

If somebody knows how to fix this, it'll be very useful to me

 

Thank you !


Richie Makyura
  • Richie Makyura

    I clawed my way out of Willamette

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2017
  • Mexico

#2

Posted 14 March 2017 - 02:45 PM Edited by Richie Makyura, 14 March 2017 - 04:17 PM.

I Dont see you problem on GTA SA Screen. I only see you have mods and the Cheat of all Vehicles turn Pink. Maybe try downloading from another site. :facedesk:

  • bugged likes this

TheKBZ78
  • TheKBZ78

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2017
  • France

#3

Posted 14 March 2017 - 07:52 PM

didnt have cheats and u r not answering my question


Kizoky
  • Kizoky

    Reality is illusion

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jul 2009
  • Hungary

#4

Posted 14 March 2017 - 08:05 PM

GTA SA is an old game.
The engine can't hold that many mods that pushes it's limits, yes, even with a High PC like you have there. (Also GTA SA's PC port is crappy.)

  • Richie Makyura likes this

Presidential
  • Presidential

    lol

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2015
  • United-States

#5

Posted 15 March 2017 - 10:08 AM

Looks like you're on SAMP to me which would tell me why your usage is what it's at. Sure, the game is old but modding can do it.


Natasha
  • Natasha

    Mack Pimp

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2017
  • United-Kingdom

#6

Posted 15 March 2017 - 10:15 AM

Yeah I've got a 980 and even it runs kinda hot during SA. I think as the years have gone on it's just less optimised than newer games in fairness.

TheKBZ78
  • TheKBZ78

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2017
  • France

#7

Posted 15 March 2017 - 07:33 PM

So what do i have to do ? buying a fan to cool down the gpu/cpu isn't a problem


Kizoky
  • Kizoky

    Reality is illusion

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jul 2009
  • Hungary

#8

Posted 15 March 2017 - 09:48 PM Edited by Kizoky, 15 March 2017 - 09:50 PM.

So what do i have to do ? buying a fan to cool down the gpu/cpu isn't a problem

It doesn't have anything to do with hot CPU/GPU, like I've said before
GTA SA is an old game. Newer games like GTA V has better optimization for high end PCs, the reason you get low CPU/GPU usage in the game is GTA SA is an old game, get over with it.


Presidential
  • Presidential

    lol

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2015
  • United-States

#9

Posted 16 March 2017 - 10:17 AM

Yeah I've got a 980 and even it runs kinda hot during SA. I think as the years have gone on it's just less optimised than newer games in fairness.

 

That's why I've always pieced my modded SA together. I've got friends who crash every other day after installing other people's mod packs. I remember my cousins having the same exact laptops and one mod folder worked on the one laptop but on the other would crash. SA is just a tricky game to get right.

  • Natasha likes this

LaDiDa
  • LaDiDa

    I'm only human

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2016
  • Netherlands

#10

Posted 17 March 2017 - 07:10 PM

SA uses single core rendering. 1 core to render it all!!! So having more cores gives no advantage over having a faster clockspeed. That said overclocking it all should provide a better performance (also enb is just a sh*tty resource hog, just telling ya up front). So low cpu/gpu usage is not anything you should worry about. High RAM usage however is when using mods to get better drawdistances etc. and can give issues so keep an eye on that while modding (and keep scripts to a minimum because it will introduce stutters with lots of scripts).
  • Natasha likes this

TheKBZ78
  • TheKBZ78

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2017
  • France

#11

Posted 19 March 2017 - 06:54 PM

ok thanks for all of your replies guys, i appreciate it


Silent
  • Silent

    Chief Vision™ Alterer

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2010
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful [Modding] 2016
    Contribution Award [Mods]
    Best Script/Plugin 2014 [SilentPatch]
    Most Respected 2014
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2014
    Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2013
    Most Talented [Modding] 2013
    Best Map 2013 [ViceCityStories PC Edition]
    Best Vehicle 2013 [III Aircraft]
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2012
    Modder of the Year 2012

#12

Posted 19 March 2017 - 10:58 PM

SA uses single core rendering. 1 core to render it all!!


Most games use a single core rendering since issuing draw commands from multiple threads at once basically turns your device into one giant critical section and impacts performance. I think Vulkan/d3d12 try to deal with that somehow though.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users