» «
Photo

[Help Needed] Mapping and 3D Modelling (3ds Max, Tutorials, Informatio

No replies to this topic
GR33N
  • GR33N

Skin Maker

• Members

Posted 2 weeks ago Edited by GR33N, 2 weeks ago.

Hello guys!

My name is GR33N. I am a 3D/2D designer and recently I've been dying for a chance to recreate Vice City's map (buildings, foliage, roads, ect.), but in glamorous high-poly, detailed goodness.
And here's where to problems start to arise.

I've worked with 3DS Max 2012 for a while now, so I can say that I'm capable enough to be able to create and update models. So I decided to give it a shot!

But the problems just kept piling up + I couldn't find any decent guides on mapping or 3D modelling and using Kam's Scripts anywhere!
Some of the problems:

1) I don't know how to properly import GTA's building textures (since its a multi-texture) + nobody explains it anywhere (or I'm stupid and can't find it!)

2) Exporting them is a whole other issue mainly because buildings are getting misplaced with the wrong size + they have no textures and also have wrong collisions after replacing the .dff file in gta3.img

3) When I try to create LOD files, they simply don't disappear when you get close to them which of course makes the game laggy and introduces flickering at long distances

(I know this problem comes from the naming of the model or something along those lines, or at least that's what I read somewhere)

4) I have no idea how Collision Editor 2 works and would like to create some models with interiors and I have no idea how..

(not interiors that are placed in the "interior world" where you have to teleport to them, but interiors that are created in the outside world model itself!) [I hope experienced modders get what I mean!]

~ I saw it in Vice Cry and i thought it was cool, so I want to give it a try!

5) I have no idea what most of Kam's Scripts tool does, and I would like to learn to work with it as much as possible