Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Game constantly crashing [PC]

Best Answer DieselFuelOnly, 21 January 2017 - 03:41 AM

You could run GTA with the verify command, which will check your game for missing/corrupt files and re-acquire them. This is usually a little less of a headache than a full blown reinstall.

I typed up a guide on how to do this in an older thread found here:
http://gtaforums.com...-ingame-freeze/

 

 

A buddy of mine was having a very similar issue in one of the earlier missions. It turned out to be corrupted game files. This may or may not work for you, but this is how I got his copy up and running:

Navigate to the game's root folder
For Steam copy: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Grand Theft Auto V

For retail/box copy: C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\Grand Theft Auto V    OR    C:\Program Files (x86)\Rockstar Games\Grand Theft Auto V

 

Once you've located the directory, create a new text document in the root folder (where the main executable / .exe is located) and call it commandline.txt

Open commandline.txt with notepad and add the following exactly as shown:
-verify

 

Save the changes via File>Save or Ctrl+S and then close the document.

 

Now when you run the game you should get a window that looks like this:

Untitled.png

 

Allow the process to check your game and download any needed files.

Once finished, delete commandline.txt from the game directory and run the game as normal.

Again, this may or may not work for you but it solved a week-long headache for my friend.

 
Go to the full post


10 replies to this topic
iamcornholio
  • iamcornholio

    Bounty Hunter

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2014
  • None

#1

Posted 19 January 2017 - 12:51 AM Edited by iamcornholio, 19 January 2017 - 01:22 AM.

I used to be able to run GTA V with no issues, but now I only get about 10 minutes of playtime before the game crashes and I see this:

 

Spoiler

 

My specs are:

 

CPU: Intel Core i5-6500 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-B150M-DS3H Micro ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
Memory: GeIL EVO POTENZA 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2133 Memory
Video Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 SC GAMING, ACX 2.0 (Single Fan), 6GB GDDR5
Power Supply: Corsair Builder 500W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply


iamcornholio
  • iamcornholio

    Bounty Hunter

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2014
  • None

#2

Posted 21 January 2017 - 02:25 AM

Am I f*cked? lol


DieselFuelOnly
  • DieselFuelOnly

    "What impertinence! I shall purge you at once!"

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2016
  • United-States

#3

Posted 21 January 2017 - 02:55 AM Edited by DieselFuelOnly, 21 January 2017 - 02:58 AM.

Have you installed any mods, edited any files, changed your hardware configuration, etc since the last time it ran without any issues?


iamcornholio
  • iamcornholio

    Bounty Hunter

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2014
  • None

#4

Posted 21 January 2017 - 03:29 AM

If memory serves me correct, last mod I installed before I started seeing issues was this:

 

https://www.gta5-mod...icles/hummer-h1

 

Although I don't recall the game crashing the day that I installed this mod. Is there any way to get back the original patriot .yft and .ytd files?


DieselFuelOnly
  • DieselFuelOnly

    "What impertinence! I shall purge you at once!"

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2016
  • United-States

#5

Posted 21 January 2017 - 03:41 AM   Best Answer Edited by DieselFuelOnly, 21 January 2017 - 03:42 AM.

You could run GTA with the verify command, which will check your game for missing/corrupt files and re-acquire them. This is usually a little less of a headache than a full blown reinstall.

I typed up a guide on how to do this in an older thread found here:
http://gtaforums.com...-ingame-freeze/

 

 

A buddy of mine was having a very similar issue in one of the earlier missions. It turned out to be corrupted game files. This may or may not work for you, but this is how I got his copy up and running:

Navigate to the game's root folder
For Steam copy: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Grand Theft Auto V

For retail/box copy: C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\Grand Theft Auto V    OR    C:\Program Files (x86)\Rockstar Games\Grand Theft Auto V

 

Once you've located the directory, create a new text document in the root folder (where the main executable / .exe is located) and call it commandline.txt

Open commandline.txt with notepad and add the following exactly as shown:
-verify

 

Save the changes via File>Save or Ctrl+S and then close the document.

 

Now when you run the game you should get a window that looks like this:

Untitled.png

 

Allow the process to check your game and download any needed files.

Once finished, delete commandline.txt from the game directory and run the game as normal.

Again, this may or may not work for you but it solved a week-long headache for my friend.

 
  • iamcornholio likes this

iamcornholio
  • iamcornholio

    Bounty Hunter

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2014
  • None

#6

Posted 21 January 2017 - 03:54 AM

So as I was creating the text file, I noticed I already had a "commandline.txt" file in my root folder. I deleted it and I'm launching the game now to see if it will run now that the file is deleted. If it crashes again, I will try your method. Thanks for the help so far!

  • DieselFuelOnly likes this

DieselFuelOnly
  • DieselFuelOnly

    "What impertinence! I shall purge you at once!"

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2016
  • United-States

#7

Posted 21 January 2017 - 03:59 AM

Sounds good, lemme know how it goes  :beerhat:


iamcornholio
  • iamcornholio

    Bounty Hunter

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2014
  • None

#8

Posted 21 January 2017 - 04:38 AM

Just played about 40 minutes non-stop with no issues, whereas before I couldn't go more than 5-10 without the game crashing. So I guess that must have fixed it. It's also running as smooth as it used to.

 

Do you think I should run the commandline.txt to make sure everything is alright, or am I good to go?

  • DieselFuelOnly likes this

DieselFuelOnly
  • DieselFuelOnly

    "What impertinence! I shall purge you at once!"

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2016
  • United-States

#9

Posted 21 January 2017 - 05:06 AM

If you run the commandline.txt it'll revert your Hummer H1 mod, so I wouldn't run it unless the crashes pop up again. It sounds like you're good to go at this point. Glad you got it figured out :)

  • iamcornholio likes this

iamcornholio
  • iamcornholio

    Bounty Hunter

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2014
  • None

#10

Posted 21 January 2017 - 02:08 PM

I couldnt have done it without your help Lol

Thanks a lot
  • DieselFuelOnly likes this

iamcornholio
  • iamcornholio

    Bounty Hunter

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2014
  • None

#11

Posted 18 March 2017 - 02:59 AM Edited by iamcornholio, 18 March 2017 - 10:06 PM.

Nvm this. Got it sorted out.

  • DieselFuelOnly likes this




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users