Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA III 3 on Windows 8.1

7 replies to this topic
rafaelalves
  • rafaelalves

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2016
  • Brazil

#1

Posted 25 December 2016 - 10:02 PM

I own a CD version of GTA III.

I use it to play on my windows XP and windows 10 machines.

But it won't start on my son's windows 8.1.

I have tried everything that the internet has to offer... nothing helps!

When I try to run it, nothing happens... I mean nothing!

It just acts as I if had not clicked anything.

I'm lost... Does anybody have any idea?

If at least I had an error message...

Thanks!


Silent
  • Silent

    Chief Vision™ Alterer

  • GTA Mods Staff
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2010
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful [Modding] 2016
    Contribution Award [Mods]
    Best Script/Plugin 2014 [SilentPatch]
    Most Respected 2014
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2014
    Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2013
    Most Talented [Modding] 2013
    Best Map 2013 [ViceCityStories PC Edition]
    Best Vehicle 2013 [III Aircraft]
    Most Helpful [Mods] 2012
    Modder of the Year 2012

#2

Posted 25 December 2016 - 10:55 PM

Tried THIS? Also make sure you are on up to date GPU drivers, especially if it's a newly assembled PC.

rafaelalves
  • rafaelalves

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2016
  • Brazil

#3

Posted 28 December 2016 - 04:47 AM

Hi, yes, I have tried SilentPatch.

Let me see if I understand how to "install" it...

I only need to copy the "asi" file to the same folder where gta3.exe is, which is c:\program files\rockstar games\gtaiii, isn't it?

Also the ddraw file and the particle.txd file.

It doesn't work :(

I have just noticed that my windows 10 computer is not running it anymore either! :/

Are these compatibility settings important even with the SilentPatch files copied to the folder?

Thanks!


stef_92
  • stef_92

    GTA3 Freak

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2007
  • Bulgaria

#4

Posted 28 December 2016 - 12:43 PM

If you are using SilentPatch don't use compatibility mode. Also if you have any anti-virus/firewall software running - try putting the gta3.exe in the exceptions and try again to see what happens.


rafaelalves
  • rafaelalves

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2016
  • Brazil

#5

Posted 29 December 2016 - 12:13 AM

Hi, I tried with no compatibility setting: didn't work.

I use Windows Defender.

Disabled it and nothing...


rafaelalves
  • rafaelalves

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2016
  • Brazil

#6

Posted 29 December 2016 - 03:50 AM Edited by rafaelalves, 29 December 2016 - 04:14 AM.

Out of my desperation, I installed this WinDbg (Windows Debug tool), which I have no idea about how to be used...

Testing with calc.exe, I open it, type command "g" and it opens, giving a few messages like below.

 

FEMPuFt.jpg

 

Then, when I do the same with gta3.exe, I get a few other messages.

 

J9d7uVc.jpg

 

Does it help?

 

It looks like it exits execution when it tries to load uxtheme.dll.


ThirteenAG
  • ThirteenAG

    Gangsta

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008
  • None
  • Contribution Award [Mods]

#7

Posted 01 January 2017 - 09:06 PM

Move your game from program files to somewhere else, like on another drive for instance.

Fabrix199
  • Fabrix199

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2017
  • Paraguay

#8

Posted 24 January 2017 - 04:42 PM

The system its blockin your gta3.exe , u should try this http://www.thewindow...-prevention-dep
;)




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users