Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[WIP|V] MetaTool (ymt, ymap, ytyp)

284 replies to this topic
Unknown_Modder
  • Unknown_Modder

    Staff at GTA5-Mods.com

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 May 2015
  • Germany

#31

Posted 12 September 2016 - 08:46 PM

Are the collisions controlled in ymaps or will it require editing the actual collision model?
 
Planted some trees but they aren't solid.

Spoiler

Just change the flags value to this ⤵ :) Should work for all objects, btw
<flags value="1572865" />
BLZzDNf.jpg
  • Jestic, WildBrick142, The_GTA and 1 other like this

GTARandom
  • GTARandom

    Rockin' this place since 2009

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 15 Jun 2009
  • Croatia
  • Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]
    Best Map 2011 [IVSA]
    Modding Milestone [IVSA/Ped Paths]

#32

Posted 12 September 2016 - 08:48 PM

Gotta get the custom objects to work


BlackScout
  • BlackScout

    A Ninja

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Sep 2013
  • None

#33

Posted 12 September 2016 - 08:52 PM

Interesting, yesterday I tried adding a prop and nothing happened, no prop was added...

Maybe that's because Rockstar is a f*cking cock and keeps dozens of copies of the same file in many different patch folders.

ERWJMyq.png

Also, patchday3ng substitutions seem not to work, if anything is duplicate between patchday1,2,3, stick with 2 or replace everything.


_CP_
  • _CP_

    Boss

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2007
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Runner-up]
    Best Vehicle 2016 [IVPack]
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#34

Posted 12 September 2016 - 08:57 PM

Try to modify files in patchday2ng, these should be the newest and read by the game.

@GTARandom
Do you have any progress?
  • BlackScout likes this

BlackScout
  • BlackScout

    A Ninja

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Sep 2013
  • None

#35

Posted 12 September 2016 - 09:07 PM

@_CP_ Yeah, I realized that yesterday ^^.

Going to try the collision thing.


_CP_
  • _CP_

    Boss

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2007
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Runner-up]
    Best Vehicle 2016 [IVPack]
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#36

Posted 12 September 2016 - 09:35 PM Edited by _CP_, 12 September 2016 - 10:33 PM.

Confirmed, @Unknown_Modder flag is working.

Yeah...
YZSMBWAh.jpg

Palms collisions aren't so accurate, maybe that's why R* used a static ones (sounds idiotic but hey, it's R*).
W7Wrtbzh.jpg
  • BlackScout, The7thOne and Unknown_Modder like this

Mr.Arrow
  • Mr.Arrow

    God Save the Penis

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2011
  • United-Kingdom

#37

Posted 12 September 2016 - 10:57 PM Edited by Mr.Arrow, 12 September 2016 - 11:01 PM.

I figured out why.
 
The palms (among other props) are in fact placed in the YBN static collision files.
No idea why it has a collision inside the YDR, maybe a leftover.
 
EIBPxfa.png

Well sh*t

Does the static collision apply to palm trees only,or does it apply to all static props?Mapping is going to be a pain in the butt....

BlackScout
  • BlackScout

    A Ninja

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Sep 2013
  • None

#38

Posted 12 September 2016 - 11:10 PM Edited by BlackScout, 13 September 2016 - 12:28 AM.

This flag actually screwed all the lods... (Which are already not correct due to the model swap + I haven't thought of something that could fix it)

 

0GtVm7k.png

The lods are still the ones for prop_tree_birch_04... Even though I replaced all entries with prop_palm_sm_01f

  • The7thOne likes this

NTAuthority
  • NTAuthority

    hell, no, tunnel, no

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 09 Sep 2008
  • European-Union
  • Best Script or Plugin 2016 [SkyGfx] [Contribution]
    Best Conversion 2014 [ViIV for GTANY]
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Best Map 2013 [ViceCityStories PC Edition]
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#39

Posted 12 September 2016 - 11:46 PM Edited by NTAuthority, 13 September 2016 - 12:09 AM.

No idea why it has a collision inside the YDR, maybe a leftover.


... #dr having collisions? That might be your viewer misinterpreting a skeleton - only #ft contains both a drawable and a bound, or you're talking about #bd as usual?
Interesting how V actually added a bound to gtaDrawable, cute change.

If you guys manage to find out what fields are used to enable alpha testing for an object it'd be nice, in Cfx I had to patch out a check to get the alpha testing flag to work at all. :/

(also, LOD linking parent relationships in V are clearly more complex than 'all streamed placement entries parent to the non-streamed one', yes they're still 'line' indices relative to rage::fwEntityDef but they're more weird)

Does the static collision apply to palm trees only,or does it apply to all static props?Mapping is going to be a pain in the butt....

In IV pretty much everything was static world-space collision already, not much changed here except the _manifest-based 'high-quality' collisions.
  • Jestic, _CP_ and Mr.Arrow like this

BlackScout
  • BlackScout

    A Ninja

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Sep 2013
  • None

#40

Posted 12 September 2016 - 11:48 PM Edited by BlackScout, 12 September 2016 - 11:58 PM.

@NTA

hy1dmXO.png

Apologies for the meme.


lunchxbles
  • lunchxbles

    Vice City in V

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2014
  • United-States
  • Best Character 2016 [Niko Bellic Ped] [Contribution]

#41

Posted 13 September 2016 - 12:37 AM Edited by lunchxbles, 13 September 2016 - 12:39 AM.

Adding Custom Models is currently possible, pretty sure manifest.ymf is just for ytyp and ymaps.

Heres how I was able to put a custom model in the game without replacing anything:

1. I started by adding my model vicecity_palm.ydr and the texture vicecity_palm_1.ytd to v_palm.rpf.

2. I modified the v_palm.ytyp and copied one palm tree entry and changed the name and texture dictionary (hash_75D215A1 is the texture slot):

Spoiler

3. I ported the ytyp back into v_palm.

4. I used bh1_04_critical_0.ymap as my ymap file. I copied the entry for one tree and renamed it to match my model like with the ytyp:

Spoiler

5. I put the file back into the folder where I found it and loaded up the game, and this was the result, I replaced no entries in either the ymap or ytyp, all new entries.

KT0vjYn.jpg

  • _CP_, WildBrick142, BlackScout and 3 others like this

GTARandom
  • GTARandom

    Rockin' this place since 2009

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 15 Jun 2009
  • Croatia
  • Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]
    Best Map 2011 [IVSA]
    Modding Milestone [IVSA/Ped Paths]

#42

Posted 13 September 2016 - 12:45 AM

Someone should write a OPL and IDE to ymap/ytyp(xml)

  • MrGTAmodsgerman and BlackScout like this

lunchxbles
  • lunchxbles

    Vice City in V

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2014
  • United-States
  • Best Character 2016 [Niko Bellic Ped] [Contribution]

#43

Posted 13 September 2016 - 12:47 AM

Someone should write a OPL and IDE to ymap/ytyp(xml)

or better for you and me, json to ymap/ytyp

  • GTARandom and MrGTAmodsgerman like this

_CP_
  • _CP_

    Boss

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2007
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Runner-up]
    Best Vehicle 2016 [IVPack]
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#44

Posted 13 September 2016 - 01:13 AM

Why JSON if doing an straight convert will be much better?
  • MrGTAmodsgerman likes this

lunchxbles
  • lunchxbles

    Vice City in V

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2014
  • United-States
  • Best Character 2016 [Niko Bellic Ped] [Contribution]

#45

Posted 13 September 2016 - 01:17 AM

Why JSON if doing an straight convert will be much better?

I guess you're right. Testing some things with this, may try porting san fierro in 16 parts, we'll see how big of a mess this is.

  • The7thOne likes this

_CP_
  • _CP_

    Boss

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2007
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Runner-up]
    Best Vehicle 2016 [IVPack]
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#46

Posted 13 September 2016 - 01:28 AM

I'm so excited to see any progress, don't dissapoint me fellas.
  • BlackScout and The7thOne like this

Mr.Arrow
  • Mr.Arrow

    God Save the Penis

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2011
  • United-Kingdom

#47

Posted 13 September 2016 - 02:56 AM Edited by Mr.Arrow, 13 September 2016 - 06:25 AM.

I wonder if it's possible to delete the game map,using this tool without crashing the game....

Kaai210
  • Kaai210

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2014
  • United-States

#48

Posted 13 September 2016 - 04:33 AM

Seems to crash on me when dropping combattasks.ymt onto the .exe am I missing something? 


nkjellman
  • nkjellman

    OG

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2008
  • United-States

#49

Posted 13 September 2016 - 06:09 AM

This looks fantastic. Does this mean that we can throw away the map editor and convert the maps to .ymap? I would love to convert ProjectWood to a ymap.


_MK_
  • _MK_

    JRod

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2014
  • None
  • Best Vehicle [Snap] 2016
    Best Scenery [Snap] 2015
    Best Filtered [Snap] 2015

#50

Posted 13 September 2016 - 07:28 AM Edited by _MK_, 13 September 2016 - 07:36 AM.

Is anyone having issues with trees not loading unless the player gets close to them ? I'm having this with no matter what tree when replacing prop_tree_pine_02 and prop_tree_cedar_03,increased LOD distance didn't do a thing,any ideas ?

 

EDIT:Can someone please test it?

x64o.rpf\levels\gta5\_hills\cityhills_02\cityhills_02_metadata.rpf\ch2_02_critical_4.ymap

https://www.mediafir...8471o3dl9r657h6

The trees should show at this location:

uJ88d0e.jpg


_CP_
  • _CP_

    Boss

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2007
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Runner-up]
    Best Vehicle 2016 [IVPack]
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#51

Posted 13 September 2016 - 07:43 AM Edited by _CP_, 13 September 2016 - 08:11 AM.

@Mr.Arrow

stripped images.meta works, map is fully unloaded


@Kaai210
Not all .ymt files are openable.

Could you take a look at this? Is this OK to load in the game?
http://pastebin.com/n0rqZ9CZ
  • Mr.Arrow likes this

Mr.Arrow
  • Mr.Arrow

    God Save the Penis

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2011
  • United-Kingdom

#52

Posted 13 September 2016 - 11:18 AM Edited by Mr.Arrow, 13 September 2016 - 11:28 AM.

Clearly I must be doing wrong things;the map still exist.

Its located in common.rpf>levels>stripped am I right?

_CP_
  • _CP_

    Boss

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2007
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Runner-up]
    Best Vehicle 2016 [IVPack]
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#53

Posted 13 September 2016 - 11:28 AM

Nope, update.rpf/common/data/levels/gta5.
  • BlackScout likes this

BlackScout
  • BlackScout

    A Ninja

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Sep 2013
  • None

#54

Posted 13 September 2016 - 12:12 PM Edited by BlackScout, 13 September 2016 - 12:35 PM.

Common.rpf is mostly unused

I'm willing to try some sh*t later, as soon as I get available...

Mr.Arrow
  • Mr.Arrow

    God Save the Penis

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2011
  • United-Kingdom

#55

Posted 13 September 2016 - 12:32 PM Edited by Mr.Arrow, 13 September 2016 - 05:23 PM.

The game crashed.Oh well, I will try tomorrow.
@_CP_
Nevermind, it works! I manage to delete the game map,but it looks like the lods from the map still exist? Is there a way to remove it?
 
5zoXk8C.jpg
 
O41mJQZ.jpg

_MK_
  • _MK_

    JRod

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2014
  • None
  • Best Vehicle [Snap] 2016
    Best Scenery [Snap] 2015
    Best Filtered [Snap] 2015

#56

Posted 13 September 2016 - 02:53 PM

So with this progress will it be possible to have a in-game tool to remove and replace any prop like the Map Editor but with the ability to directly save to the game's files  ? (In the Map Editor you can put the pointer on any of the the props and copy/remove/move that prop and save,but that only works for the props spawned via Map Editor,so a tool exactly like that but does the saving directly to the game).


_CP_
  • _CP_

    Boss

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2007
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Runner-up]
    Best Vehicle 2016 [IVPack]
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#57

Posted 13 September 2016 - 03:03 PM

Everything is done manually at this moment, which is a bit troublesome. Now my main goal is to get to work at least few custom models.
  • BlackScout likes this

BlackScout
  • BlackScout

    A Ninja

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Sep 2013
  • None

#58

Posted 13 September 2016 - 03:54 PM Edited by BlackScout, 13 September 2016 - 05:37 PM.

Yesterday I tried adding an entry in Stream YTYPs so I could use a LC converted model...

However, when I tried to reconvert the xml into ytyp (strm_metadata) the MetaTool crashed.
I don't know if it was my fault or not.

I'm pretty sure these are compared to San Andreas IDE's, so we need model references in them first before adding it in ymap with coords.

_CP_
  • _CP_

    Boss

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2007
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Runner-up]
    Best Vehicle 2016 [IVPack]
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#59

Posted 13 September 2016 - 04:50 PM

What coulf be wrong? Maybe try to cleanup one .ytyp without any model entries.

BlackScout
  • BlackScout

    A Ninja

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Sep 2013
  • None

#60

Posted 13 September 2016 - 05:34 PM Edited by BlackScout, 13 September 2016 - 05:37 PM.

I think I have some ideas on how to erase lods.
They are always managed in for example
 
Venice Beach (area name in game files as always original names)
 
vb_01.ymap
 
The start of the file says
<CMapData>
  <name>vb_01</name>
  <parent>vb_lod</parent>
There are some references
<lodDist value="500.0" />
<hash_CA974BCD value="250.0" />
<hash_6C8F1715>LODTYPES_DEPTH_SLOD1</hash_6C8F1715>
<lodDist value="8000.0" />
<hash_CA974BCD value="250.0" />
<hash_6C8F1715>LODTYPES_DEPTH_SLOD1</hash_6C8F1715>
So, perhaps, erasing entries on it will kill the lods...

@_CP_

Yeah, it's complicated when everything is hashed and I don't know what I can remove and/or keep...




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users