Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Ingame WPL tool

IV WIP
39 replies to this topic
iriedreadlock23
  • iriedreadlock23

    Dr. Frankenstein

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jan 2009

#1

Posted 01 March 2016 - 03:30 PM Edited by iriedreadlock23, 26 March 2016 - 11:42 PM.

Did you ever want to be able to quickly add more detail to existing maps in GTA IV, but you don't have 3DS max and textual offline placement tools just weren't good enough for you? Ingame WPL tool (widget) will help you to place thousands of models from GTA IV library into game world, and quickly export all data to WPL binary file. Game will load objects automatically next time you play, even if you remove all script mods!

 

Download here (v 0.20)

(find older versions here as well)

http://wpleditor.weebly.com/

 

FEATURES:

 

- User friendly placement tool
- Easy to navigate through 3D world
- Place objects with mouse click
- Select, position, or remove
- Menu with thousands of models

- Edit anything you see in real-time

- Reads any WPL file
- Reads any IDE file
- Writes to any custom IPL/WPL file
- Optionally updates GTA.dat

 

 

 

All the editing is done in realtime, while you are in game, so it's easy to see how your placement of objects will look in game. Script doesn't require GIMS, Open IV or 3DS Max.

 

http://www.gtagarage...ow.php?id=27802

 

 

thumb_65954.jpgthumb_65951.jpg

thumb_65897.jpg

 

 

Required: Scripthook and ScripthookDotNet

 

Extract to game folder

 

UPDATE LOG:

 

version 0.20 - REL

  • Fixed minor bugs from earlier versions
  • Quickly remove objects loaded by game (and replace them)
  • Fixed game crash bug from v0.13 and 0.14
  • Autoextract all WPL files from IMG files (for quicker search)
  • Track file updates through BLOK section (edit/update placement by area)
  • Set signature and tasks for each involved modder
  • Edit any WPL file in game and any object you see
  • Mass convert IPL files from/to binary (Xbox, PS3, PC)

version 0.14 - REL

  • Mass place objects with any brush size
  • Randomize rotation of mass placed objects
  • Randomize rotation of selected objects
  • Place all selected objects to ground
  • Added autosave option
  • Pick objects in front of camera
  • Quickly swap placement of two objects
  • Added deselect all option
  • Push/Pull/Throw objects
  • Autodetect interior name
  • Autoupdate GTA.dat file
  • Export interior placement

version 0.13 - REL

  • Fixed mouse movement issues
  • Fixed player collision/movement bug from 0.12
  • Reduced model spawning time
  • Fixed rotation issues when loading saved objects
  • Fixed point to ground calculation (key R)
  • Added select/rotate/move multiple objects option (key Space)
  • Added freeze/unfreeze/dynamic for multiple objects
  • Added "filter" console command to search all models
  • Export both IPL and WPL

version 0.12 - REL

  • Added mass placement option
  • Added placement min distance settings
  • Fixed player freeze state when console is open
  • Fixed issue when exporting certain rotation values
  • Fixed several issues with root folder
  • Precise place to ground object rotation
  • Camera movement is available without creating objects
  • Added placement search option (search inside wpl files)
  • Added INI configuration

version 0.11 - REL

  • Selected object will be shown in color depending on its physics state
  • Fixed bug when importing models with PIVOT set to center
  • Fixed default collision state of created objects - default: STATIC
  • Fixed selection checkpoint size
  • Added root folder option    
  • Fixed bug when current model doesn't spawn after importng objects
  • Fixed issue with place to ground function

version 0.1 - REL

  • First public release

 

Coming soon:

  • Forced IPL/WPL objects load/unload in game
  • Convert WPL for PC, XBox, PS3....

 

You can contact me with any requests or suggestions.

 

Special thanks to: fastman92

 

Direct download link

  • jpm1, lpgunit, Blackbird88 and 6 others like this

Sweet Bellic
  • Sweet Bellic

    Soldier

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 Feb 2015
  • Finland

#2

Posted 01 March 2016 - 03:44 PM

Nice job :)


Falenone
  • Falenone

    Mapper

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jun 2008
  • Estonia

#3

Posted 01 March 2016 - 03:52 PM

Awesome! Any plans to make it more MTA Map Editor-like?


iriedreadlock23
  • iriedreadlock23

    Dr. Frankenstein

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jan 2009

#4

Posted 01 March 2016 - 04:12 PM

Awesome! Any plans to make it more MTA Map Editor-like?

Thank you. At the moment it's in early stage of development, so it has limited options when it comes to camera movement and user interface. Mod was inspired by GTA V race editor. MTA SA map editor seems to have plenty of great features, and i could certainly include some of those in this mod.

  • Blackbird88 and Sweet Bellic like this

Falenone
  • Falenone

    Mapper

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jun 2008
  • Estonia

#5

Posted 01 March 2016 - 06:35 PM Edited by Falenone, 01 March 2016 - 06:36 PM.

 

Awesome! Any plans to make it more MTA Map Editor-like?

Thank you. At the moment it's in early stage of development, so it has limited options when it comes to camera movement and user interface. Mod was inspired by GTA V race editor. MTA SA map editor seems to have plenty of great features, and i could certainly include some of those in this mod.

 

 

Great! Also when you plan to make your way there. I remember MTA had some script add-on for map editor that made it possible to select multiple objects where you add kind of selection box and everything inside the box could be moved at once. It was clunky and slow to select, copy or move stuff like that but a good tool. Maybe something to think about in the future.

Oh I wish someone ported MTA over to IV/V and included the texture index thing used in SAMP. Would be awesome


dkluin
  • dkluin

    GTA:Underground Developer

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jun 2013
  • Netherlands
  • Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground]

#6

Posted 01 March 2016 - 07:40 PM

Now that's neat.

  • Sweet Bellic likes this

fastman92
  • fastman92

    фастман92 | ف

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Jul 2009
  • Poland
  • Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#7

Posted 01 March 2016 - 10:31 PM Edited by fastman92, 01 March 2016 - 10:39 PM.

It would be even better if objects could be plaved with accordance to gravity force.

I'm working on text IPL and binary WPL files for GTA IV and other games, so you might want to contact me.

Your code would only have to r
handle text IPL files and the hard task of WPL importing/exporting would be done by my tool.

My code supports not only supports little-endian, but also big-endian GTA IV binary placements files.
Big-endian is used on PS3 and Xbox360
  • iriedreadlock23 likes this

iriedreadlock23
  • iriedreadlock23

    Dr. Frankenstein

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jan 2009

#8

Posted 02 March 2016 - 12:24 AM Edited by iriedreadlock23, 05 March 2016 - 04:23 PM.

At the moment MOD already has code for loading/saving WPL files, but only inst section. If you have knowledge about other sections, especially vehicle spawning, feel free to share.

Regarding gravity, at the moment editor enables you to place object on certain position, and activate physics so it can fall into desired position. Editor will export it's current position to WPL.

I also want to calculate placement based on terrain angle, so object gets automatically grounded and rotated depending on the slope. Maybe someone can help with this calculation.
 


DamnedDev
  • DamnedDev

    Gaming That Damned

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Oct 2015
  • United-States

#9

Posted 02 March 2016 - 11:37 AM

Holy Sh*t man this is awesome.

  • fastman92 likes this

iriedreadlock23
  • iriedreadlock23

    Dr. Frankenstein

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jan 2009

#10

Posted 05 March 2016 - 11:42 PM

New version 0.12 is released. There are lots of improvements and new features like higher precision object placement, mass placement tool, quick align to ground tool, 3 axis object rotation, camera movement that can be tweaked, teleport, mass wpl search, and seamless editing/testing...

 

Download 0.12 here

  • Blackbird88 likes this

iriedreadlock23
  • iriedreadlock23

    Dr. Frankenstein

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jan 2009

#11

Posted 12 March 2016 - 06:22 PM Edited by iriedreadlock23, 20 March 2016 - 07:23 PM.

Update 0.13 is coming in few hours. Keep an eye on the thread. One of news is that now we export placement data to text IPL, instead of binary WPL files only. So you will be able to edit placement files outside of game, without binary editor, and game will load these files without any issue. Update is still compatible with previous versions, and it still has binary WPL export, but this may be deprecated in next update.

 

 

version 0.13 - WIP

  • Fixed mouse movement issues
  • Fixed player collision/movement bug from 0.12
  • Reduced model spawning time
  • Fixed rotation issues when loading saved objects
  • Fixed point to ground calculation (key R)
  • Added select/rotate/move multiple objects option (key Space)
  • Added freeze/unfreeze/dynamic for multiple objects
  • Added "filter" console command to search for specific models
  • Export both IPL and WPL
  • Blackbird88 likes this

fastman92
  • fastman92

    фастман92 | ف

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Jul 2009
  • Poland
  • Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#12

Posted 12 March 2016 - 09:07 PM Edited by fastman92, 12 March 2016 - 09:24 PM.

Future versions will use an EXE that allows to manage text/binary IPL files.

Big-endian binary placement files will be supported.
  • Sweet Bellic likes this

iriedreadlock23
  • iriedreadlock23

    Dr. Frankenstein

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jan 2009

#13

Posted 17 March 2016 - 07:29 PM Edited by iriedreadlock23, 20 March 2016 - 07:22 PM.

New Beta v0.14 will be available in couple of hours.

 

thumb_65975.jpg

 

Implemented features:

 

 

version 0.14 - WIP

  • Mass place objects with any brush size
  • Randomize rotation of mass placed objects
  • Randomize rotation of selected objects
  • Place to ground all selected objects
  • Pick closest object to camera
  • Quickly swap placement of two objects
  • Added deselect all option
  • Push/Pull/Throw objects
  • Autodetect interior name
  • Export interior placement
  • Added autoupdate gta.dat option
  • Added autosave option
  • Jestic, AVARITIA and DamnedDev like this

iriedreadlock23
  • iriedreadlock23

    Dr. Frankenstein

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jan 2009

#14

Posted 21 March 2016 - 05:07 PM Edited by iriedreadlock23, 23 March 2016 - 01:46 PM.

Following nine seconds long video is just a glimpse of what you'll be able to do with new In-game WPL editor v0.20. So, you didn't like those buildings and you'd like to see them gone! No problem, you can now replace roads, pavements, props, anything and anywhere!

 

  • Sweet Bellic and AVARITIA like this

jpm1
  • jpm1

    Vice city citizen

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2005
  • European-Union

#15

Posted 23 July 2016 - 05:52 PM Edited by jpm1, 23 July 2016 - 07:14 PM.

that tool is awesome but i have 2 questions. 1st what is console key, i forgot. and 2nd i placed less than 50 trees so far, and it says you have reached maximum number of objects??

 

 

edit: i found. console is in fact scripthook console. and for objects limit reached i found a tip. i created a myfile_strbig0.wpl that i put directly in the img file. and each time i have new stuff, i add it. no need to update the gta.dat. the music is cool, useful not to fall asleep after hours of modding. i still need to know how to pick up objects directly from the world. if i'm not wrong the script can do that. that's an amazing tool! :)


jpm1
  • jpm1

    Vice city citizen

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2005
  • European-Union

#16

Posted 24 July 2016 - 08:09 PM Edited by jpm1, 24 July 2016 - 10:16 PM.

i canno't explore other folders than props. whatever the value i put inside the ini. it shows me the props. i play TBoGT. also objects have no lods. it's ok for small objects, but it's clearly becoming a problem for above the size of a barge objects. please fix it, and also provide a better tut for how setting folders and how to use the pick a world object function, because that tool is awesome


iriedreadlock23
  • iriedreadlock23

    Dr. Frankenstein

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jan 2009

#17

Posted 25 July 2016 - 12:00 AM

You can set maximum number of objects in wpledit.ini.

MAX_OBJECTS=250

Lods are actually separate models, and i didn't write automatic LOD loading for models. You need to figure out LOD name, and then spawn this model at exact coordinates of your regular model. File manager i wrote is indeed buggy, and will have to be rewritten. You can press Backspace while you are in menu, to access default root folder. In case it still doesn't work, try editing line in wpledit.ini. Instead of folder name, just put . (dot). It's a small hack that should work.

ROOT_FOLDER=.
  • jpm1 likes this

iriedreadlock23
  • iriedreadlock23

    Dr. Frankenstein

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jan 2009

#18

Posted 25 July 2016 - 12:09 AM

To pick objects directly from the world, you need to press F11 and choose PICK POSITION AND MODEL or PICK MODELS ONLY. Then hold R (cursor should appear) and W (brush tool). Point to an object, and finally press F12. You should be able to pick almost any object/model from game world. You can change its position, rotation or even remove it. It's also possible to pick multiple objects. Just hold R+W+Left Control, and use your Mouse wheel to make brush space larger or smaller.

  • jpm1 likes this

iriedreadlock23
  • iriedreadlock23

    Dr. Frankenstein

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jan 2009

#19

Posted 25 July 2016 - 12:47 AM Edited by iriedreadlock23, 25 July 2016 - 12:47 AM.

You can also create custom lists with any models you like. For example, just create a folder titled custom in pc/data/maps/props/ folder. Inside your new folder, create few IDE files(for example: mychairs.ide, mybuildings.ide, mylods.ide). Each IDE file should only contain model names inside OBJS tag. This way, you can have favorite models grouped as you like. Custom IDE files will not mess up with game, as WPL editor uses them only for obtaining model names.

#
#base
objs
cj_bench,
pizzabuilding,
end
  • jpm1 likes this

jpm1
  • jpm1

    Vice city citizen

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2005
  • European-Union

#20

Posted 25 July 2016 - 03:12 AM Edited by jpm1, 25 July 2016 - 03:12 AM.

irie, thanks for the quick reply. i figured how to solve almost all my probs. yeah, it took me 48h to discover the backspace thing. for some reason, i was several light years from that. there's still a small prob though. lods are installed by the script with the correct distance appearing, but not the disappearing. you see them correctly in the distance, but as you close up they don't disappear. apart from that you tool is awesome, did i already mentioned it :lol: . what an incredible save of time smiley_roule2.gif


jpm1
  • jpm1

    Vice city citizen

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2005
  • European-Union

#21

Posted 26 July 2016 - 03:46 AM

we badly need an undo key, and also we should have the possibility to choose between replacing and updating file during wpl export. for large maps we have to make several _streamX files, and we often switch between them


lpgunit
  • lpgunit

    It's L, as in Lpgunit, not I.

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 24 May 2008
  • Philippines

#22

Posted 26 July 2016 - 05:24 AM

So, assuming you already have a bunch of custom building blocks and props to lay out on a blank map, would it be possible to visually construct a new map ingame?
  • iriedreadlock23 and Saunders420 like this

jpm1
  • jpm1

    Vice city citizen

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2005
  • European-Union

#23

Posted 26 July 2016 - 05:37 AM

not sure i understand correctly. but that tool allows objects placement only. it doesn't create terrain nor collision. but for object placement it's very handy. if you want to use custom buildings just create a folder in maps folder with your stuff in it


jpm1
  • jpm1

    Vice city citizen

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2005
  • European-Union

#24

Posted 29 July 2016 - 03:26 AM

I4M NOT SURE BUT MAYBE THE LODS PROBLEM COMES from the fact that the lod line has to be set up inside map main/root wpl, and not into stream wpl. cause i installed a lod wpl line with exact flags as in default game in a stream wpl, and it doesn't work. the problem is that it seems that main wpl can't be edited, even on custom maps. i hope there's another way than GIMS to set up lods. eventually i'll try increasing lod0 distance drawing, let's hope fps won't be hurt too much. sry for caps, lazy..


jpm1
  • jpm1

    Vice city citizen

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2005
  • European-Union

#25

Posted 29 July 2016 - 11:31 PM

that tool makes me think of Cities: skylines, but in 3rd person view :lol:


jpm1
  • jpm1

    Vice city citizen

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2005
  • European-Union

#26

Posted 29 August 2016 - 12:09 AM

friend, we need an undo feature. with at least last action. cause i'm going mad soon :colgate:

  • Sweet Bellic likes this

jpm1
  • jpm1

    Vice city citizen

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2005
  • European-Union

#27

Posted 31 August 2016 - 11:35 AM Edited by jpm1, 31 August 2016 - 07:36 PM.

i may have found a bug. as you know i don't use the gta.dat, i directly import the wpl to my img file. which i find more comfortable. but i just discovered that the horizontal angle doesn't work. for example, when i try to stick a grass path onto the terrain i use "T". in the wpl editor it works, the grass patch will take the terrain angle. but if i import the wpl, all the objects are perpendicular to the terrain. is it me that is doing something wrong. i set up the objects limit to 1000, because i need this for a large map vegetation, would it be that that causes the problem. i don't understand cause the values in the wpl, ipl, and placement folder file are the same

 

edit: the issue is present whatever i import the wpl, or i update the gta.dat. it seems it worked fine until recently


jpm1
  • jpm1

    Vice city citizen

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2005
  • European-Union

#28

Posted 01 October 2016 - 02:46 AM

what is auto save, seconds, minutes .?


iriedreadlock23
  • iriedreadlock23

    Dr. Frankenstein

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jan 2009

#29

Posted 08 October 2016 - 01:55 PM

Autosave is in minutes. In case someone else has encountered issues with vegetation rotation export/import, have in mind that this is not yet solved. Code that translates ingame object quaternion rotation to wpl, is not correct at the moment for trees. Rotation export/import works well for all other objects. So, if anyone knows more about quaternion rotation in gta, feel free to share your thoughts.


jpm1
  • jpm1

    Vice city citizen

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2005
  • European-Union

#30

Posted 08 October 2016 - 02:25 PM

trees are not a big deal IMO. you shouldn't focus too much on this if you want my 2c :) . how's the paths editor going. i've almost finished my map, now i only need to set up cars and peds paths





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users