Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

DFF importer and exporter for 3ds max

136 replies to this topic
miclin
  • miclin

    old stager

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Mar 2009
  • Germany

#61

Posted 24 February 2016 - 10:27 AM Edited by miclin, 24 February 2016 - 10:27 AM.

Did you fix the strange "some Long texture names crash" Bug?


The Hero
  • The Hero

    Into TheGame!!!

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2005
  • Germany
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Honorable mention]
    Best Script or Plugin 2016 [SkyGfx]
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#62

Posted 24 February 2016 - 10:59 AM

Don't make me do all these boring things :(

Haven't fixed it yet but will do so for the next version.


Cherbet97
  • Cherbet97

    Badass nigga

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2013
  • Russia

#63

Posted 25 February 2016 - 11:19 AM

When will the new version?


cj2000
  • cj2000

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jun 2008
  • None
  • Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground]

#64

Posted 26 February 2016 - 11:40 AM

 

Look at rear window, this after import and export on 3ds max using your plugin, how to fix? And Kam's are exporting like that too.

Broken normals. You have to set smoothing groups to make it smooth, and the vertices have to be welded for that.
 

What do you mean by pointers? If I understood yo right, you mean fileoffsets that are using int32, but it´s really not a problem to cast in32 to int64.

Well, the files contain offsets that are 4 bytes in size. When you read the file into memory you use the relocation table to fix up these offsets from file-relative to pointers to absolute memory locations. This can only work however if the address of the file in memory fits into 4 bytes and hence it will never work with 64 bit pointers. Of course you can read the file the hard way on any system by reading everything manually and putting it into appropriate structs or by copying the atomic/clump/texDict (*ahem*...i mean element/elementGroup/texList of course :D) and handling pointer references in a special way. But both these ways are pretty cumbersome and I won't implement anything like that.

 

OK, now I see this will be a useles job, as mobile dff format seems to be easier. Will you include suport for mobile dff?


Tomasak
  • Tomasak

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2009
  • None
  • Spam Commando 2017
    Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]

#65

Posted 28 March 2016 - 06:58 PM

I have some problem with importing VC PS2 dff and then exporting it to VC android DFF
(note: i flipped manually faces but nothing changes without flipping them)
nFfiQaz.png
  • dkluin and Sweet Bellic like this

Flame
  • Flame

    Homeboy

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2011
  • Unknown
  • Best Texture Mod 2016 [HRT 1.4]
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#66

Posted 31 March 2016 - 12:23 AM Edited by Flame, 31 March 2016 - 12:31 AM.

The Hero, thanks for your work! I have a question.

Sorry if I misunderstood, but why plugin is search only for textures in TGA, and does not see textures in PNG, BMP and other formats?

Textures on my model were displayed only after copying of GTA_Material from other plugin, but after export, the model is white (like without textures), I think this is connected with listed above.

The Hero
  • The Hero

    Into TheGame!!!

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2005
  • Germany
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Honorable mention]
    Best Script or Plugin 2016 [SkyGfx]
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#67

Posted 31 March 2016 - 07:05 AM Edited by The Hero, 31 March 2016 - 07:06 AM.

My exporter does not support Kam's materials. I wanted to release an updated version some time ago (the current version has lots of problems, like only using tga files) but the stupid f*cking max sdk piece of sh*t made me lose all motivation for a while...and then i decided i need to stop working on gta for a while as it had taken up too much (read: all) of my time.

  • lpgunit and Flame like this

Inadequate
  • Inadequate

    Midnight Emulator

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2012
  • None

#68

Posted 31 March 2016 - 07:19 AM

That's sad news but take your time buddy. We'll miss you.  :^:

 

#F*ck Autodesk

#F*ck 3DS Max

 

You bastards, killed The_Hero!!!

 

:p


Flame
  • Flame

    Homeboy

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2011
  • Unknown
  • Best Texture Mod 2016 [HRT 1.4]
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#69

Posted 31 March 2016 - 01:06 PM Edited by Flame, 31 March 2016 - 02:20 PM.

My exporter does not support Kam's materials. I wanted to release an updated version some time ago (the current version has lots of problems, like only using tga files) but the stupid f*cking max sdk piece of sh*t made me lose all motivation for a while...and then i decided i need to stop working on gta for a while as it had taken up too much (read: all) of my time.

 

Take your time, but we will be glad to see new version. :)


dkluin
  • dkluin

    GTA:Underground Developer

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jun 2013
  • Netherlands
  • Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground]

#70

Posted 01 April 2016 - 09:41 AM

aap, how's the Bully PS2 support?


The Hero
  • The Hero

    Into TheGame!!!

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2005
  • Germany
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Honorable mention]
    Best Script or Plugin 2016 [SkyGfx]
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#71

Posted 01 April 2016 - 09:50 AM

I wanted to release a new release and had started implementing bully support but got a lot of crashes (also with GTA dffs) because i had fixed a thing in the importer that caused other stuff to crash (f*ck your SDK, Autodesk). That's why I lost motivation...gta modding is still a mess.

dkluin
  • dkluin

    GTA:Underground Developer

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jun 2013
  • Netherlands
  • Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground]

#72

Posted 01 April 2016 - 09:53 AM

I'm waiting on you....

 

I really hope that you can sort it out soon. I will certainly use the DFF io if it has Bully support.

  • Frank.s and Sweet Bellic like this

Kamijou
  • Kamijou

    Waterboy

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2016
  • Philippines

#73

Posted 20 May 2016 - 04:24 AM

does this plugin works only on x64 OS?

It gave me an error that its not valid 32bit dli plugin in 3DSmax 2010?

00488c484686574.jpg 

  • cj2000 likes this

The Hero
  • The Hero

    Into TheGame!!!

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2005
  • Germany
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Honorable mention]
    Best Script or Plugin 2016 [SkyGfx]
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#74

Posted 20 May 2016 - 02:07 PM

That's certainly strange. I don't know what this error message even means these days...What OS and 3ds max are you using?

lpgunit
  • lpgunit

    It's L, as in Lpgunit, not I.

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 24 May 2008
  • Philippines

#75

Posted 21 May 2016 - 04:29 AM

Blender having an unwieldy UI is one thing, but writing plugins for Max is, well, insanity. :/

Kamijou
  • Kamijou

    Waterboy

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2016
  • Philippines

#76

Posted 22 May 2016 - 02:11 AM

That's certainly strange. I don't know what this error message even means these days...What OS and 3ds max are you using?

I'm using Win7 32bit and 3DSMax 2010 32bit


The Hero
  • The Hero

    Into TheGame!!!

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2005
  • Germany
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Honorable mention]
    Best Script or Plugin 2016 [SkyGfx]
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#77

Posted 22 May 2016 - 07:39 AM

Oh sorry, I misread your earlier post. I thought you meant "doesn't work on 64 bit". Well, yes. It only works with 64 bit 3ds max (and hence 64 bit windows).
  • Sweet Bellic likes this

flyTicket
  • flyTicket

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Jan 2017
  • Netherlands

#78

Posted 15 January 2017 - 01:44 PM

Any chances it will be available for 3ds Max 2017 too?


The Hero
  • The Hero

    Into TheGame!!!

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2005
  • Germany
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Honorable mention]
    Best Script or Plugin 2016 [SkyGfx]
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#79

Posted 15 January 2017 - 03:00 PM

If I ever get to compile a new version, yes :( It sucks ass having to have all those different SDKs installed. Maybe someone would be willing to do all the compiling for me?

ermaccer
  • ermaccer

    I can mod everything.

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Jun 2015
  • Poland

#80

Posted 15 January 2017 - 10:14 PM

If somebody will, 32 bit support would be nice.

Landrei
  • Landrei

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Jan 2017
  • Romania

#81

Posted 25 January 2017 - 04:25 AM

I installed it but nothing happens in 3ds max


Cylano
  • Cylano

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2011

#82

Posted 31 January 2017 - 04:13 AM

No idea if I'm being stupid here or not, but I really can't work out where I've gone wrong. I've installed the plugin, but nothing shows up in 3dsmax? I'm using 2011.


MaxxLight
  • MaxxLight

    Player Hater

  • New Members
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2017
  • Ukraine

#83

Posted 31 January 2017 - 07:54 PM Edited by MaxxLight, 31 January 2017 - 08:04 PM.

Hi ! I know this topic about GTA modding, but... Sonic Heroes use the same file format .DFF and your importer/exporter working on it too. But have some problems with skinning... The original .DFF of Sonic Heroes has a Skin PLG inside, but after your exporter it says that it UNKNOWN file format, and model looks like a mess... Oh, and the .DFF version in this game is 3.5 ... The Hero, can you help me???

8RrFX_EqWWo.jpgcLo4EEB3ggk.jpghJl5Zws0ifw.jpg

GoldRupert
  • GoldRupert

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 May 2016
  • Ukraine

#84

Posted 31 January 2017 - 08:15 PM

Yep,Hero,I need help with Sonic Heroes too, .DFF from "Sonic Heroes"  have almost same format like GTA


ermaccer
  • ermaccer

    I can mod everything.

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Jun 2015
  • Poland

#85

Posted 31 January 2017 - 08:17 PM

Can't you just copy the values from original .DFF file to your new .DFF?

Use import-export. It should help, if not rip.


GoldRupert
  • GoldRupert

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 May 2016
  • Ukraine

#86

Posted 31 January 2017 - 08:19 PM

Can't you just copy the values from original .DFF file to your new .DFF?

Use import-export. It should help, if not rip.

You talking about hex values?


ermaccer
  • ermaccer

    I can mod everything.

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Jun 2015
  • Poland

#87

Posted 31 January 2017 - 08:37 PM

here.png


GoldRupert
  • GoldRupert

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 May 2016
  • Ukraine

#88

Posted 31 January 2017 - 08:57 PM

here.png

Hmmm...I don't have UNKNOWN in this places but model still mess in the game,what kind of data i need to replace for this part?


fataldeath
  • fataldeath

    Player Hater

  • New Members
  • Joined: 01 Apr 2017
  • Brazil

#89

Posted 01 April 2017 - 10:58 AM Edited by fataldeath, 01 April 2017 - 11:02 AM.

Oh sorry, I misread your earlier post. I thought you meant "doesn't work on 64 bit". Well, yes. It only works with 64 bit 3ds max (and hence 64 bit windows).

 

My OS are 64 bit version and my 3ds Max is also the same version and gives the same error of Kamijou.

 

errr.JPG


DK22Pac
  • DK22Pac

    𝘉eчнo 𝘔oлoдoй...

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2009
  • Ukraine
  • Best WIP Mod 2014 [Grand Theft Auto 3D Contribution]
    Contribution Award [Mods]
    Helpfulness Award [Mods]

#90

Posted 15 April 2017 - 10:20 AM

Is this still WIP?
What about uploading it to github?




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users