Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[REL | OPEN SOURCE] Red Dead Redemption Explorer

175 replies to this topic
Dageron RUS
  • Dageron RUS

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Apr 2009
  • Belarus

#61

Posted 14 November 2015 - 05:58 AM Edited by Dageron RUS, 4 weeks ago.

removed because of being useless

  • jedijosh920 and reditec like this

reditec
  • reditec

    DEV / SocialMediaManager / Translator / 18

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2013
  • Germany

#62

Posted 14 November 2015 - 11:06 AM

Couldn't you probably resize it and stuff? I mean, the folders I gave you use shapes instead of images, so that should be easy.


Nope.
Yeah, with the empty folder icons, maybe. But e.g. the full-folder icon won't look nice, as it comes with pictures of various charakters (i enhanced your icon a bit).
Even that is quite easy to manage, but I still need icons for various filetypes. I can't give you guys a list right now, but I'll do so for sure this afternoon. :)

reditec
  • reditec

    DEV / SocialMediaManager / Translator / 18

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2013
  • Germany

#63

Posted 14 November 2015 - 07:34 PM Edited by reditec, 14 November 2015 - 07:34 PM.

Awesome news :D

I actually managed to display the contents of the RPF files:

 

e2ff6a120d.gif

 

I know that most things don't look awesome yet, but I had to remove / edit and write some new code to extend OpenRDR / RPFtool / SparkIV.

It actually was kinda messed up, but now it seems to work using the WindowsForms lib.

I'll have to add some new code now and some basic features, but after that, I'll release the current source and binaries :)

Oh, there's also a new bug, that makes it impossible to open the same .rpf file two times in a row, so I'm working on fixing that one.

  • Tomasak, jedijosh920, Mr. Leisurewear and 2 others like this

_CP_
  • _CP_

    Boss

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2007
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Runner-up]
    Best Vehicle 2016 [IVPack]
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#64

Posted 14 November 2015 - 10:55 PM Edited by _CP_, 14 November 2015 - 10:56 PM.

Drawable models wasn't touched, am I right? And how textures are stored? In .xtd files or R* made another way to store?

  • Quant likes this

Mr. Leisurewear
  • Mr. Leisurewear

    F*ck off

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Jul 2013
  • Belgium

#65

Posted 14 November 2015 - 11:27 PM

Drawable models wasn't touched, am I right? And how textures are stored? In .xtd files or R* made another way to store?

 

We're researching the drawables now for this tool , xtd exists , but the rdr assets inside the two rpf's is a real mess so you sometimes have resources without extension but same container type.

  • Quant likes this

_CP_
  • _CP_

    Boss

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2007
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful Modding 2016 [Runner-up]
    Best Vehicle 2016 [IVPack]
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#66

Posted 14 November 2015 - 11:28 PM Edited by _CP_, 14 November 2015 - 11:29 PM.

IIRC, extension for models should be too in the first bytes of file, yep?

Mr. Leisurewear
  • Mr. Leisurewear

    F*ck off

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Jul 2013
  • Belgium

#67

Posted 14 November 2015 - 11:30 PM Edited by PrograMan, 14 November 2015 - 11:31 PM.

It's not the extension , we use is at extension in the tool but it's more like the RSC , resource container identifier

 

it's in the first 4 bytes as int32 and the second 4 bytes are always the container version

  • Quant likes this

Mr.Arrow
  • Mr.Arrow

    God Save the Penis

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2011
  • United-Kingdom

#68

Posted 15 November 2015 - 12:00 AM

I almost forgot that RDR is a 32 bit game....

Mr. Leisurewear
  • Mr. Leisurewear

    F*ck off

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Jul 2013
  • Belgium

#69

Posted 15 November 2015 - 12:07 AM

Since the memory is 512MB i doubt the game would run in 64bit mode as it is of no use and would hurt performance slightly , altough the xenon powerpc cpu is x86-x64, so yea 32-bits


reditec
  • reditec

    DEV / SocialMediaManager / Translator / 18

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2013
  • Germany

#70

Posted 15 November 2015 - 08:46 AM

Actually the game uses a mix of dds files and xtds.

NTAuthority
  • NTAuthority

    hell, no, tunnel, no

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 09 Sep 2008
  • European-Union
  • Best Script or Plugin 2016 [SkyGfx] [Contribution]
    Best Conversion 2014 [ViIV for GTANY]
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Best Map 2013 [ViceCityStories PC Edition]
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#71

Posted 15 November 2015 - 03:28 PM

Model-related things are stored in #vd (xvd, cvd), #ft (xft, cft), and other resources...
From the beginning it is better to start from #vd because this is the most understandable format.

I am not experienced a lot in 3d model research, so glad to see that someone is interested in the RDR file formats.

Like with MCLA mcCitySector files, I'd assume there's at least some standard rmcDrawable/grmModel data in places...

reditec
  • reditec

    DEV / SocialMediaManager / Translator / 18

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2013
  • Germany

#72

Posted 15 November 2015 - 08:39 PM Edited by reditec, 15 November 2015 - 10:47 PM.

e75a76d0cc.png

 

I know you guys have been waiting a couple of days for this.

We are glad to announce version 1.00 of Red Dead Rdemption Explorer.

Features and credits can be found below.

Check out our website:

http://reditec.github.io/

 

New:

 
 

Fixes:

 

- TONS of crash fixes

- TONS of RPF bug fixes

- Requires admin privileges now

- Get the source feature works now

 

Features:

 

- Supports now:

Red Dead Redemption 1-Disk: Retail version

 

- RPF reading support

- RPF extracting support

- new icons

- About window

 

Removed:

 

- Updater [not working with GitHub / not really important yet]

 

 

Credits:

 

Reditec / Felix Bartling

Lead Developer & Project Management

 

PrograMan / Kilian Van den Eynde

Lead Developer & Reverse Engineering

 

Dageron RUS

Reverse Engineering

 

DamnedDev / Jonathan

Additional research

 

iKlikla / Andreas Heimann

Logo, Website, Icon creation

 

NotGigo

Icon creation

 

Vadim M

Icon creation

 

 

Special thanks to:

 

Chipsman

Explainations about RPF files and RAGE

 

Alexander Blade

Explainations about RPF files and RAGE

 

DageronRUS

For creating OpenRDR and letting us use the source

 

Twisted

For creating RPFtool and publishing the source

 

Koolk

For creating libertyV and publishing the source

 

Aru

For creating SparkIV and publishing the source

 

OpenIV team

For creating OpenIV with Xbox 360 support

 

 

 

 

 

Source available at GitHub

Binaries available at GitHub

Have a nice day!

 

Please report all bugs you encounter to this topic

  • Tomasak, DamnedDev and Quant like this

Blackbird88
  • Blackbird88

    DualShock 3 Buttons EVERYWHERE

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2008
  • Czech-Republic

#73

Posted 15 November 2015 - 08:58 PM Edited by Blackbird88, 15 November 2015 - 08:58 PM.

What do you need admin privileges for? Are you trying to write to System32 or what?

  • reditec likes this

reditec
  • reditec

    DEV / SocialMediaManager / Translator / 18

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2013
  • Germany

#74

Posted 15 November 2015 - 09:01 PM Edited by reditec, 15 November 2015 - 09:02 PM.

What do you need admin privileges for? Are you trying to write to System32 or what?

It's open source - just look it up yourself xD

 

But seriously, it's installed to Program Files (x86) folder. All programs placed there need admin privs to acess files at some locations. (E.G. I can't access my own RDR folder which is on Desktop without admin privs from Program Files x86 folder)

 

If you don't trust me just remove the line that requires it to run as admin and it won't work. (from x86 folder)


DamnedDev
  • DamnedDev

    Gaming That Damned

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Oct 2015
  • United-States

#75

Posted 15 November 2015 - 09:52 PM Edited by DamnedDev, 15 November 2015 - 09:59 PM.

For those who wondering about model support and anything else. I'm working on testing methods and seeing if we can write a export to extract models in a format to import into 3DS Max with existing tools. And will use IV shaders to make it easier. Models that use 6 textures and more for blending will be broken. There is a manual way of fixing without writing new shaders for the name to make new shader to allow more than 4 blends in IV. It will be like NTA's tool it will change the shaders inside model to something similiar to IV shaders. You have to use vertex blending on the aditional channels for blending. There is no clue when and how long til i can show the process. We relying on few members who are working on tool with reditec. I will port section of map showing with and without the fixes. We need to reverse engineer the placements for models into a format into IV so we have IDE and WPL. 

  • Tomasak, jedijosh920, reditec and 1 other like this

Blackbird88
  • Blackbird88

    DualShock 3 Buttons EVERYWHERE

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2008
  • Czech-Republic

#76

Posted 15 November 2015 - 11:01 PM

 

What do you need admin privileges for? Are you trying to write to System32 or what?

It's open source - just look it up yourself xD

 

But seriously, it's installed to Program Files (x86) folder. All programs placed there need admin privs to acess files at some locations. (E.G. I can't access my own RDR folder which is on Desktop without admin privs from Program Files x86 folder)

 

If you don't trust me just remove the line that requires it to run as admin and it won't work. (from x86 folder)

 

That's what VirtualStore is for. Also there is a reason OpenIV doesn't install itself to PF you know.


DamnedDev
  • DamnedDev

    Gaming That Damned

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Oct 2015
  • United-States

#77

Posted 15 November 2015 - 11:06 PM

 

 

What do you need admin privileges for? Are you trying to write to System32 or what?

It's open source - just look it up yourself xD

 

But seriously, it's installed to Program Files (x86) folder. All programs placed there need admin privs to acess files at some locations. (E.G. I can't access my own RDR folder which is on Desktop without admin privs from Program Files x86 folder)

 

If you don't trust me just remove the line that requires it to run as admin and it won't work. (from x86 folder)

 

That's what VirtualStore is for. Also there is a reason OpenIV doesn't install itself to PF you know.

 

Trust me i saw when i was in skype group chat when he is writing it there it had a issue. Maybe the run admin thing will be fixed. It's very buggy state if you don't do it. Also remember he has to rewrite lots of the code which isn't easy to do. 

  • jedijosh920 likes this

NTAuthority
  • NTAuthority

    hell, no, tunnel, no

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 09 Sep 2008
  • European-Union
  • Best Script or Plugin 2016 [SkyGfx] [Contribution]
    Best Conversion 2014 [ViIV for GTANY]
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Best Map 2013 [ViceCityStories PC Edition]
    Contribution Award [Mods]

#78

Posted 15 November 2015 - 11:27 PM Edited by NTAuthority, 15 November 2015 - 11:28 PM.

But seriously, it's installed to Program Files (x86) folder. All programs placed there need admin privs to acess files at some locations. (E.G. I can't access my own RDR folder which is on Desktop without admin privs from Program Files x86 folder)
 
If you don't trust me just remove the line that requires it to run as admin and it won't work. (from x86 folder)

... you're probably trying to write data to Program Files itself, as if 'accessing files at some locations' would require elevation you'd need to run pretty much every application as administrator (be honest - do you need to run Word as administrator?).

Again, data you write shouldn't be written to the application directory if the latter is in Program Files, but to the usual AppData folder or similar.

reditec
  • reditec

    DEV / SocialMediaManager / Translator / 18

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2013
  • Germany

#79

Posted 16 November 2015 - 10:38 AM

Running it as admin is a Workaround, actually.

I'll try to fix it, but it might be very hard and take some time.

(depends on my IniReader class)

  • Blackbird88 likes this

reditec
  • reditec

    DEV / SocialMediaManager / Translator / 18

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2013
  • Germany

#80

Posted 16 November 2015 - 05:01 PM Edited by reditec, 16 November 2015 - 05:04 PM.

Okay, looks like I fixed the admin thing. Program doesn't require admin rights anymore. Couriously I am still able to write to my Program Files (x86) folder :O

Whatever, now it stores all files inside the AppData folder and the binary.bin (or whatever the name was) gets copied to local appdata\temp

KnownFilenames.txt will have to be moved to AppData. Also I'll have to add some code, so the app checks if one of the files was removed.

 

There are still a couple of bugs, I'm fixing right now and after that I'll start working on editing features for RPFs.

Don't expect PS3 support soon, we'll pobably focus on Xbox version first.


reditec
  • reditec

    DEV / SocialMediaManager / Translator / 18

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2013
  • Germany

#81

Posted 16 November 2015 - 07:19 PM Edited by reditec, 16 November 2015 - 07:32 PM.

e75a76d0cc.png

 

I just finished my work on Build 2 of RDR Explorer.

Actually it's very similar to Build 1, but comes with some bugfixes and doesn't require admin privileges anymore.

It's probably like one of Ubisofts Day 1 patches :D

 

 

Download at:

http://reditec.github.io/

 

New:

 

Fixes:

 

- A couple of crash fixes

- Now checks whether important files exist or not

- No admin privileges required

 

 

Have a nice day and keep contributing :)

 

 

Source available at GitHub

Binaries available at GitHub

Have a nice day!

 

Please report all bugs you encounter to this topic

  • jedijosh920 and Quant like this

jedijosh920
  • jedijosh920

    ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Mar 2012
  • United-States

#82

Posted 16 November 2015 - 10:28 PM

I found in rdr2_layer1.rpf that in the textures folder if you add .dds to the extracted file, you can actually view them.

 

ed206c80883697abfef2a09beb93ae86.png

 

0d738dcd8e3bdaab263cd467dca57a88.png

 

0f79f3e3634693169978cecf1005a833.png


Mr. Leisurewear
  • Mr. Leisurewear

    F*ck off

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Jul 2013
  • Belgium

#83

Posted 16 November 2015 - 11:02 PM

That's because they are in that format but name is just unkown for now

  • jedijosh920 and reditec like this

DamnedDev
  • DamnedDev

    Gaming That Damned

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Oct 2015
  • United-States

#84

Posted 16 November 2015 - 11:14 PM

We will dump more names alot of files have them. It tells the name how to decrypt them from their originial hex name. That's why 0x21fe7e.dds doesn't have the acual name. If some people want to chip in and get more names so we can get them decrypted it will be helpful.

  • jedijosh920 likes this

jedijosh920
  • jedijosh920

    ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Mar 2012
  • United-States

#85

Posted 17 November 2015 - 01:00 AM

XFT files are pedestrian models and XEDT are their textures?


reditec
  • reditec

    DEV / SocialMediaManager / Translator / 18

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2013
  • Germany

#86

Posted 17 November 2015 - 06:11 AM

Just check all the text files. I know that they contain a lot of references to filenames.


Mr. Leisurewear
  • Mr. Leisurewear

    F*ck off

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Jul 2013
  • Belgium

#87

Posted 17 November 2015 - 02:09 PM

XFT files are  rage fragment files , they're not only used for peds but also for cars etc... like in gta.

They can contain skeleton data and weighted bones (rigging) , lampposts in gta are also fragments

 

xedt is unknown to me , xtd probably , texture dictionary...

 

You can write a small script to check each text files and get all the strings out of them and process them into the jenkins "dehasher" to get hash code.

  • jedijosh920 likes this

reditec
  • reditec

    DEV / SocialMediaManager / Translator / 18

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2013
  • Germany

#88

Posted 17 November 2015 - 03:04 PM

You can write a small script to check each text files and get all the strings out of them

I don't really see similarities in those text files. How to detect them?


reditec
  • reditec

    DEV / SocialMediaManager / Translator / 18

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2013
  • Germany

#89

Posted 19 November 2015 - 05:41 AM

Our team really needs a Delphi developer to explain us some simple code for our tool (shouldn't take longer than 30 minutes).
Delphi skills and maybe C++ skills required.
 
Please help us.
 
Skype: spielereditec

reditec
  • reditec

    DEV / SocialMediaManager / Translator / 18

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2013
  • Germany

#90

Posted 22 November 2015 - 05:10 PM Edited by reditec, 27 November 2015 - 04:13 PM.

By the way, the Delphi stuff is already done. Fastman92 and PrograMan are a great help :)
I'm trying to figure out the subtitle format for cutscenes right now.
It will take like 2-3 weeks probably until we'll share some new features with you guys.

- Added multiple files export feature

Our skype group: https://join.skype.com/gyxfrQl1VuxN

  • Quant likes this




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users